We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near restaurants but still quiet”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this place due to the many great reviews of this hotel and it didn't disappoint.
Good size room for a family of 4 (super deluxe), clean and great view plus a fridge in the room so you always had your own stack of cold drinks. Free water refill. Umbrellas available to use, which can be really needed.
Good little pool, not huge but big enough for the kids to enjoy themselves.
A good little outdoor gym with weights.
Free shuttle to and from the center of Ubud if needed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
There are newer reviews for Tegal Sari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 2 other places during our 8 day stay in Ubud and this was by far the best. We had our own private porch overlooking the rice fields. The rooms were very clean with nice showers. The location is perfect and we could walk to everything. The restaurant next door is fantastic as well and we also did a cooking class there. Definitely coming back here!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Waichi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

From thermite we were picked up from the airport by Raster were were looked after perfectly. The rooms were clean and had everything we could possibly need. They were cleaned daily. The whole hotel was spotless.
Breakfast was tasty and good value. We only ate lunch here once and it was okay for the
Money.
The pool was an ideal spot after hot days in the town. The complimentary drives into town were always on hand and we were dropped off by our friendly drivers whee ever we wanted.
I would stay here time and time again as it was a perfect holiday spot, thank you to all of the lovely staff.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Edfl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to explore Ubud. Excellent location - very near Ubud Palace, Ubud market, Monkey Forest Sanctuary and the restaurants. Very near Ketut Liyer too (for those who wants to visit the famed man from Eat, Pray & Love). Service by the staff was good -all request attended immediately. Clean rooms - and I must stay I am in love with their wooden room where we stayed the 2nd night! Gorgeous view of the ricefields in the morning! Foods were great! Balinese massage is the best at a reasonable price! 24 hours shuttle service - just ask the restaurant wherever you are to call Tegal Sari and they will pick you up in no time :) Wifi in the room can i think connect only 1 phone at a time so you have to take turns :) Definitely recommending when you visit Ubud! Love it! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katniss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

finally got to stay here as i had booked it 4 months in advance!...stayed in the super deluxe wooden room...room is big with a nice terrace overlooking the rice fields...location is close to monkey forest and ARMA...the hotel provides shuttle service within ubud which is very convenient..would not call this a luxury property but at around usd 70 per night i cant think of a better value...

Room Tip: go for the super deluxe wooden room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MusafirMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Tegal Sari is a popular destination and I had actually wanted o stay longer but they only had 1 day available for us, probably this being the peak season in Bali.

The room is nothing like a modern hotel but everything that you might need is all available. The gardens and fields bordering the property were very nice and green and we would not hesitate to stay there again in Ubud.

The only inconvenience I guess was waiting for the hotel to confirm the booking and also for a second floor room, the stairs to go up can be a bit steep and not friendly for people with more luggage.

One of the better stays we had on this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_matador77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Sarang Bambu Villa and our stay was amazing. The villa was almost brand new, had more space than we needed and a gorgeous private pool. The grounds were amazingly well kept and the staff was one of the best I've ever experienced. There was plenty of tranquility and privacy. We had our meals delivered to the villa (the coffee they served with breakfast was the best all around Bali).
They also offer an on-demand complimentary shuttle to the city and you can pre-arrange the return pickup or just call and they'll pick you up in 5 minutes!
We also took a tour with them which was not up to par with the hotel, I would suggest using one of the local agencies instead.

Overall, the experience was amazing an we will definitely return to Tegal Sari!

Room Tip: Get the private villa, it's well worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ales F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#56 of 199 in Ubud
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#24 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing