We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best villa in Bali”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #29 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2009

During a 10-day trip bicycling around Bali, we booked one night at the Tegal Sari. We were unable to book a "regular" room, so we agreed to take the Villa Bambu -- a little more expensive than average for our trip, but we wanted to stay at the hotel. Once we found the hotel (the sign is a bit small!), we weren't sure what we had gotten into by the small, understated reception area. But as we walked through the property, saw the rice paddy views, and approached the front of the Villa Bambu, we knew we had lucked out. It's a freestanding villa set among a walled garden with private pool, deck, outdoor mini-kitchen, enclosed bedroom (3 walls of glass with wood floors), huge stone outdoor bathroom, satellite TV, and internet. (Actually, we had some trouble with the wireless connection and the staff devoted themselves to making it work for us.) It was heavenly -- gorgeous decor, total privacy, a real experience that was worth every penny. Especially the next morning when we had breakfast delivered to our outoor eating area (you have to pay for the breakfast but it's only $5!). We should have stayed another night, but that gives us something to look forward to next time. We did not see the interior of any regular rooms, but they looked nice from the outside and the second floor rooms would have fantastic rice paddy views. The regular pool seemed a bit small, but I think visitors probably spend time in Ubud for the crafts and save the serious pool time for the resorts near the coasts.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
There are newer reviews for Tegal Sari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2009

I recently stayed at Tegal Sari for 8 nights and absolutely LOVED it!! The place is tranquil while being close to all the action and the view over the rice paddies is phenomenal. I was very impressed with the staff who couldn't do enough for us and went above and beyond our expectations. The only fault that I can make is that now they have set the benchmark so high, we fear we will only ever be disappointed by other hotels and their inferior service. I would recommend Tegal Sari to everyone who stays in Ubud (even those who can afford grander establishments) and I would not stay anywhere else in Ubud. Thanks for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank SydneyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed at the Tegal Sari for 4 nights in the garden view rooms. The rooms were clean and in good condition, and the view from our porch was amazing. The staff were effecient and friendly. Definitely fabulous value for money, and a good a break from the hustle of Ubud.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank asia_travel_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

As I was worked for hotels in overseas many years my expections might be higher than others I guess however Tegal sari did not let me down~ One of the staff told us that it started as a really small hotel then it becam bigger and bigger and owned by local Indonesians. and also They do not have any manager within the team which amazed me.

Our family had stayed at Tegal Sari from 30thDec to 2nd Jan at both villas due to the occupancy. The first villa was Sarang Bamboo which is a little smaller than the other but still spacious and so beautiful. It has got a small paddy view from the pool through glass. The little kitchen is near the pool as open plan design and also the huge bathroom. the villa itself is open plan and mixed design as traditional Korean or Japnese and comtemporary. the second day we moved to the Sespti villa on ground floor. It was much bigger without a view(it didn't bother us at all though). It was half open planned and has got huge dining and kitchen area.

We had stayed three different hotels during our stay however the Tegal sari private villa was the best of the best in terms of the value for money, service, location, etc.. and also recommand the Tegal sari Spa esp. Baliness massage! Very Good!

We will definately recommand to others as well~

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

If there is a way for a hotel to be both simple and luxurious, then Tegal Sari has perfected it. The hotel is a collection of small villas, and each villa has two different rooms, one upstairs and one down. I stayed in two different rooms, and I'd recommend a second floor room, just because the view is even nicer than the ground level rooms.

Tegal Sari is simple in that there's no "fru-fru" - no fussy furniture, no tv or radio. Even the linens are a crisp, clean white. Other things are quite luxurious - the bathrooms are four-star quality, the views are stuning, and the pool (though small) is perfect. The staff also gives 4-star service, and they go out of their way to make sure that you ave everything you could possibly want.

Don't expect to get any "work" done here; there is one Internet computer available for a (nominal fee), and no wireless. But if you're looking for the perfect place to unplug, then this is it. It would also be a wonderful place for a honeymoon - each villa is positioned for maximum privacy, but you're just a short walk (or free ride) from all of the entertainment and dining options that Ubud has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hbyerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Absolutely top notch! Unfortunately they could only fit us in for four nights; we kept going back to see if they had any cancellations!
We stayed in the super deluxe which was a good size for our family with two kids. The bathroom was great and we loved the large tub.
Views from the porch onto the rice padi and Ubud sunsets were beautiful. Pool is very good, although it has an underwater ledge that can be somewhat dangerous if you are not paying attention.
They have a small library and a small "workout" area with some free weights. Service and staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Will we definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KevinDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We and our friends each took a super-delux room for 8 nights and were very happy with the generous size room, with a sitting area and spacious balcony. Staff were also great and always helpful, with Bali smiles all round.

The restaurant on-site was good and reasonably priced and there are also some (not all) good restaurants only a short walk away if you want extra variety.

Location is the big issue with Tegal Sari. We hadn't done much research so didn't realise quite how large Bali was! Ubud is central-ish and it's at least a 1 hour drive to any beach. Many travellers, though, would find Ubud a very pleasant change from the touristy beaches of the south - you could be anywhere in the world sitting in Sanur- , but you should be prepared for this. Ubud can be a busy town, so you don't feel remote as such. In our view Ubud offered a much better view of Bali life - we were lucky we aren't that fussed about sitting on beaches. [a tour of the island staying at 3-4 different parts of the island would be my choice next time.]

Bali is a large island and the road system is quite basic, so it can sometimes takes ages to get anywhere. Instead of using shuttles and taxis, we used the hotel's car + driver service (3 times) and would thoroughly recommend it, as it works out a much more comfortable option than using a taxi, plus you get a fairly useful guide and a less life-threatening ride than mbike rental! For 2 or more people it is more economical than taking one-way shuttles and it's miles more flexible of course.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fandango'ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#59 of 199 in Ubud
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing