We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with great service, value and ambience”
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Ranked #28 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Checked in for our honeymoon for Deluxe room for 3 nites. Very cozy place overlooking the beautiful paddy fields. The staffs there are very courteous and friendly. Breakfast was good too. Don't miss out the Tegal Sari Banana Pancake!

A truly great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank resirnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

This is the second time that I've stayed at Tegal Sari, last time was 4 years ago when I stayed in a Deluxe room, this time we got a Super Deluxe and just loved it. The staff are extrememly friendly, helpful and genuine, the rooms was beautiful and spotlessly clean, the setting was perfect, in the rice paddies and the cost of the room, food, room service and transport were all very, very reasonable.
The only negative about the stay was some of the other guests. All I can say is, do not bring your children here. I'm not against families or children in anyway, but in such a peaceful setting, the constant yelling of the kids downstairs (sometimes from the pool to the room, 150m away!) just spoilt the stay a bit.
Restaurant food (including room service and breakfast) was simple, but good quality and tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weisken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Sunset over the rice paddies. Delicious pumpkin soup and a cold beer. Night-time neck and shoulder massage out on the balcony while the frogs sing. Hot shower and gliding over the gorgeous wooden floors to a 4 poster dream bed. Need I say more? This is the upstairs wooden deluxe room (I think it was number 21). Go for the upstairs rooms with balconies, rather than being downstairs, although both views are great.

I am an extremely picky person (hard-core traveler) and this was my first time to listen to the trip advisor reviews and they were absolutely spot on. Don't miss this place, especially if you are craving the ultimate bali rice paddy views and experience. This is a very rare value for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaEcogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We have just returned from 10 days at Tegal Sari & can not speak highly enough of the staff & their level of service; the amazing value of the accommodation, restaurant, bar fridge prices, laundry prices, drivers & cars for day tours, spa & additional extras such as free transport to & from the centre of Ubud; the very pleasant & clean onsite pool. The fact that you are out of the hustle & bustle of town & amongst the rice paddies & the sound of farm ducks snuffling around for snails makes Tegal Sari a wonderful oasis to return after a days sightseeing. We will certainly be back but must remember to book early as the secret is well & truly out!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mumfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stayed for 6 nights, 4 in a twin superior and 2 in a super deluxe. The superior was great, v clean and cozy. We managed to get one of the new super deluxe rooms and the views at sun set were spectacular. Very fond memories, I was sad to leave. Staff are excellent, restaurant is good and low cost and the bar fridge is also low cost. No complaints! Ubud is the best place in Bali that I have visited, lovely restaurants and good shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PerthGibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

My friend and I traveled around bali for about a month. Most of our hotels we found when we got there. Tegal sari we booked ahead of time, and we are glad we did. We were able to extned our stay there for 3 more night. We were extatic.
The staff is realy what makes this hotel so magical. everyone from the groundskeepers to managment was wonderful. Smiles and good days all around. The hotel offers rides anywhere within Ubud. The prices are great, the food was good and cheep, although we did find some restaurants in the area that were great for dinner.
The spa that is affiliated with the hotel was beautiful, i would have never found it if it wasnt affiliate with the hotel. The staff will make an appointment for you and pick you up and drop you off.
the rooms themselves were immaculate, the sheets sparkling white and soft. showers worked perfectly. When the pool was undergoing maintenence the staff allowed us to use the pool in one of their villas. Very accomidating.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kpaniczko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

About 20min walking distance to Ubud centre, but hotel offers pick up and drop off service to and fro the city centre - not a problem in getting around.

because of its limited rooms, you need to book way in advance to ensure that you get the room category of your preference. We were eyeing on the Wooden Room category (the staff showed us the room and it looks really nice) but unfortunately unavailable - we settled for the superior room.

The room is clean, just that it's frequent by insects because of its strategic location next to the rice paddy field - insect repellent is a MUST.

For travelers who love being close to nature - this is a must-try. It is right next to the paddy fields (with farming ducks) - fantastic relaxation place. We were a little saddened because there was no TV, but figured out that a relaxing cultural stay means that everyone turns in early. Well well, we played poker instead.

Breakfast is served right to your balcony - which was not something we expected, but certainly a plus plus experience.

Staff were very friendly and responsive. Our lights went out for a few mins, and they got someone to work on it the moment we called - fantastic customer service.

Tegalsari is definitely not a plush and classy hotel, but it's a hotel that we will return to again, for its location, staff and has a nature touch to it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cryst_clear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#60 of 199 in Ubud
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#58 of 199 in Ubud
926 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#43 of 199 in Ubud
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing