We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but elegant”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
doha
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simple but elegant”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Tegal Sari was our first hotel in Bali during our holiday. We stayed in Ubud Tegal Sari for 4 days. I found it from this site. It was a risk as this was our first visit to Bali. In my opinion, Tegal Sari is a very simple, clean and adequate for a family stay in Ubud. Of course it depends. Some may find it very very natural. Near the rice fields, sound of the frogs whole night, lizards everywhere. But be sure inside the room is incredibly clean and bugsfree. We didnt come across even one bug inside. That was what I expected from our stay in Ubud. I wanted to feel the nature but in a clean environment. This is not a hotel for people looking for 5 star luxirious hotels. This is a small but adequate hotel.
We stayed in 3 kinds of rooms as it was really difficult to find space in the same room though I made the reservation even 1 month earlier. We stayed in superior deluxe ground floor, then wooden room and last in a superior deluxe upper floor.
All were very clean an good condition. But I prefer the superior deluxe upper floor. View was wonderful. The pool was to be honest not for swimming, may be just to complete the design of the hotel. But you wont need the pool as Ubud is really a very nice place to wander around.
We had the breakfasts in our hotel everyday, but try the small bakery that is very near the hotel across the street. They have delicious products.
And they have a spa called Pertenin. We tried their spa and enjoyed it very much.
I really appreciate the owner of this hotel as he made a really good job.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gulluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    308
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
353
642
168
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Yes. This is a nice small hotel in the middle of beautiful rice paddies. Staffs were very nice and tried to accomodate guests' need.
But remember, this is not a five star hotel, meaning sometimes service can be lousy. On arrival, the pick up car from the hotel had a flat tire. My family had to wait outside in the dark for 30 minutes. The car for a daytrip had no airconditioning and had to came back to hotel in the middle of it. The staff did not tell us not to put our shoes outside but some wild animal came and took my baby shoe. Some new rooms are nice but some old rooms are so so. You'd better bring your own personal ameneties such as shampoo, soap, indoor sleepers, etc. This little hotel seemed overcrowded while I'm staying. I hope their hospitality would not fade out with the fame, as I personally think that this hotel's best part is its staff.

Overall the hotel is good value, but again Ubud is not an expensive place. This is a good place if you do not expect too much and if you do not want to spend too much on the hotel.

They provide free ride to Ubud center, but if you want to go a little farther, they charge. Day trips they provide is very good. You should try if you're there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSCHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Checked in for our honeymoon for Deluxe room for 3 nites. Very cozy place overlooking the beautiful paddy fields. The staffs there are very courteous and friendly. Breakfast was good too. Don't miss out the Tegal Sari Banana Pancake!

A truly great experience!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resirnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

This is the second time that I've stayed at Tegal Sari, last time was 4 years ago when I stayed in a Deluxe room, this time we got a Super Deluxe and just loved it. The staff are extrememly friendly, helpful and genuine, the rooms was beautiful and spotlessly clean, the setting was perfect, in the rice paddies and the cost of the room, food, room service and transport were all very, very reasonable.
The only negative about the stay was some of the other guests. All I can say is, do not bring your children here. I'm not against families or children in anyway, but in such a peaceful setting, the constant yelling of the kids downstairs (sometimes from the pool to the room, 150m away!) just spoilt the stay a bit.
Restaurant food (including room service and breakfast) was simple, but good quality and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weisken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Sunset over the rice paddies. Delicious pumpkin soup and a cold beer. Night-time neck and shoulder massage out on the balcony while the frogs sing. Hot shower and gliding over the gorgeous wooden floors to a 4 poster dream bed. Need I say more? This is the upstairs wooden deluxe room (I think it was number 21). Go for the upstairs rooms with balconies, rather than being downstairs, although both views are great.

I am an extremely picky person (hard-core traveler) and this was my first time to listen to the trip advisor reviews and they were absolutely spot on. Don't miss this place, especially if you are craving the ultimate bali rice paddy views and experience. This is a very rare value for the price!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaEcogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast Qld
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We have just returned from 10 days at Tegal Sari & can not speak highly enough of the staff & their level of service; the amazing value of the accommodation, restaurant, bar fridge prices, laundry prices, drivers & cars for day tours, spa & additional extras such as free transport to & from the centre of Ubud; the very pleasant & clean onsite pool. The fact that you are out of the hustle & bustle of town & amongst the rice paddies & the sound of farm ducks snuffling around for snails makes Tegal Sari a wonderful oasis to return after a days sightseeing. We will certainly be back but must remember to book early as the secret is well & truly out!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mumfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stayed for 6 nights, 4 in a twin superior and 2 in a super deluxe. The superior was great, v clean and cozy. We managed to get one of the new super deluxe rooms and the views at sun set were spectacular. Very fond memories, I was sad to leave. Staff are excellent, restaurant is good and low cost and the bar fridge is also low cost. No complaints! Ubud is the best place in Bali that I have visited, lovely restaurants and good shopping.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PerthGibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
599 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 196 in Ubud
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing