We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every second of it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved every second of it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

This was our first trip to Bali and we were quite nervous as Ubud is not very popular among my friends. We wanted to stay here purely to have a change of scenary - nature reserve was always a nice change.

Upon arriving at Bali, our driver was there on time. He made an effort to introduce us to Bali, their culture, food, attraction sites, etc..

We stayed at the Villa Serang Bambu. It was amazing! Would highly recommend that villa to any honeymooner. For USD$150/night, its definitely well worth the value. I've shopped around and the average price is about USD$250/night and for a much smaller and lower quality standard.

Hotel staffs are of 5 stars standard. There is absolutely no criticism or room for improvement in this hotel. It has definitely exceed both mine and my husband's expectation for a nice cheap accommodation in Ubud.

Would highly recommend the hotels 'Own driver' for only 60K rupiah/hour. Even though you may get a cheaper rate outside, you just dont know what the quality of the vehicle is like.

If you've never being to Ubud, come stay here.

Negative: Only reason why I gave a 3 star for Location is purely because its too far from Kuta, Jimbaran beach, Semanyak and Legian. Other than that, its a good distance from the Ubud market (walkable distance).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellerAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    296
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
344
624
163
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

This was our 1st stay in Ubud, 5th trip to Bali. Tegal Sari is in a great location, the rooms and view are lovely (what value for money!) and the staff were exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelScott76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

This hotel has lived up to all expectations.
We stayed there for 5 nights and will be going back next year.
Before going we said we should have breakfast in the restaurant but the view from our room was too good to leave. We ended up eating at our room and loving every moment of it. And yes the Tegal Sari Banana pancakes are to die for.
We are attemtping to copy them now we are at home.
The staff were exceptional, friendly and extremely helpful.
We cannot wait to go back.
Quick Note : Pundi Pundi (restaurant ) is 100m away and a worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoupleDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

I was there on my honeymoon at villa Sesapi (one of the 2 villas in Tegal Sari) and boy, was i blown away by it! Everything is almost new and ....well....frankly they have done a fantastic job!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank supersoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

I have nothing much to say except for these words..superb service, first class service, value for money, nice view, clean rooms and toilets..everything is excellent at tegal sari..Highly recommended to stay there if you are in ubud. A thumbs up for TEGAL SARI and the staff..I will definitely come again and stay longer at Tegal Sari this time..

If the hotel is fully booked, dont worry, keep calling the reception counter everyday.. I managed to get the rooms at the last minute. Maybe it was just my luck, keep trying.

To tegalsari- keep up the excellent service, i will always recommend to my friends and relative to stay at your hotel should they plan to go to ubud.

Thanks for the great service!-roziana

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Venomlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

After many trips to Bali, we decided to stay at Tegal Sari Ubud, with out three young children (3, 9 and 11) and my wife's parents. We are so glad we did. We had been warned that a week would be too long, but it wasn't we loved it. The staff are extremely friendly, the rooms very clean and the location convenient to central Ubud. We stayed in the super deluxe rooms, they are new and towards the rear of the property. We stayed on the ground floor in two rooms side by side. On the upper floor, is their super deluxe wood rooms. All rooms are private, large terraces, internal sitting area and nice bathroom with spa bath. All overlooking the rice fields. The pool is small, but adequate. The restaurant is small, but had suprisingly great food. Would recommend a meal here. We would also recommend the Tegal Sari morning journey, where you go for a morning trek through a village and rice paddies. It is quite lengthy with a few steep bits, but worth doing. It ends with lunch in the small restaurant back at Tegal Sari. This place was highly recommended and we endorse everything that people are saying. Definitely we will return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candkMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

I stayed here at the Tegal in an upstairs deluxe room and had no complaints at all. The room was roomy and bright, the bathroom had good modern plumbing and was clean, there was mini-fridge, telephone, very comfortable bed!, CHEAP laundry service delivered to your room and a nice private balcony.

This place is a little out of the way if you want to be more central Ubud. But this guy nearby on Monkey Forest Rd, right next to Venezia Spa (excellent spa, by the way), named Love Rentals or something can hook you up with a good price on scooter rentals and then you can park your scooter at the Tegal Sari in their lot.

I can't say anything new about the way all the staff go above and beyond the call of duty. They are always friendly, open and available and will answer any questions you have. They really do go out of the way to make your stay perfect.

One hint though: forget a taxi if you have to go back to airport or want to go to Sanur or Kuta or Lovina, et al. There is the Perama shuttle bus about 100 meters from Tegal Sari. Much cheaper than paying nearly 200,000 Rp for a taxi to airport. Perama price is only 60,000 if I remember. But it ain't a real comfortable ride. Hot and bumpy. But you're in Bali so who cares!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forzuto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing