We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest boutique hotel with the best service I have come across in SE Asia.”
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Ranked #26 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The Tegal Sari is surely a slice of heaven. We drove up from Legian as a family of 4 with teen age twin daughters. Along with us were our best friends from the SF Bay area who met us in Bali. The minute we walked in we were offered cool drinks as we took care of registration formalities. We had room 23 a superior deluxe, while our friends got room 18 the wooden room. Between our rooms was the lovely stone swimming pool.

We were escorted to our room by a senior member of staff who explained all the amenities in the room. The safe, the huge bathtub, and the rain shower shower. They are very ecologically inclined and you had the option of not changing the sheets daily as it was up to you. There are also fresh water dispensers all over the property where you can fill up water bottles with hot, cold, or regular water.

We soon realized we needed one more bed and it was installed within minutes of our request. The first time I went to the front office to request pool towels I was addressed by my name, which I thought was very nice indeed.

My friends from California were not used to the heat and asked for a fan and it was put in the room while were at the pool. The view across the rice fields from their balcony was not to be believed especially at sunset. The price of food and drinks was about 40% lower than at the beach, and the quality was top notch.

The grounds are kept in pristine shape and the workers pruning and cutting the plants, flowers, trees and grass all throughout the day.

The hotel provides luxurious private shuttles into town at any time of the day with only a 15 minute request time. Once they were 5 minutes late and brought our another car to drive us into town. When you call from town you are also picked up within 15 minutes.

It was such a pity we only stayed two nights as it could easily have been a week. The hotel is situated out in the rice fields, right next to the Monkey Forest yet their were no insects or mosquitoes at all. The rooms are scented with citronella to keep them away.

This is truly a wonderful boutique hotel. One that is known by word of mouth among discerning travellers. I feel privileged to have stayed there with my family, and we are already planning a return in April. This time we will go directly from the airport to Ubud as it is so beautiful and clean. With out a doubt one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in here in SE Asia. With the low fares on Air Asia, and the ease of life at Tegal Sari we will be taking our island holidays in Bali, rather than our home Thailand. Between staying at Legian at Casa Padma Suites and then up in Ubud at the Tegal Sari it was a wonderful 8 night 9 day stay we had on Bali. Even the weather cooperated with blue skies and beautiful cumulus clouds each and every day. Thank you to the Tegal Sari management and all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I are seasoned travelers that have stayed in many hotels in many countries (Indonesia alone over 25 times between us) and never have we had a better hotel experience than we did last week at Tegal Sari - we cannot recommend it high enough and will be back every year (as long as we book early enough : )

There are so many positives I don't know where to start but the best place is the service: they were universally kind, warm, and friendly all the way from the manager down to the guys sweeping the walkway. Many Bali hotels have an "in your face approach" that means to be helpful but winds up getting on one's nerves: Tegal Sari's staff was always there when we needed them, but invisible when we didn't. In fact, as seasoned travelers we pride ourselves on handling our own affairs but after three days we got so spoiled that we just let them handle everything: booking our shows, picking us with the free shuttle instead of walking, moving our little things from the room to the car, etc. In fact despite all there is to do in Ubud we wound up hanging around Tegal Sari just to stay in range of wonderful vibe of the hotel and staff!

The location is fantastic set right on the rice fields: if you are a fan of architecture and Asia Modern style I highly recommend staying in the "modern villas:" for about $110 a night we had a slate floor villa with jutted out glass bathtub enclosure and two patios overlooking the rice fields and surrounded by fish ponds: we paid three times as much to stay in a regular hotel room at the Maya! (We also stayed in the "superior room" which was more traditional and cheaper but very nice as well...)

Food was also excellent: we ate breakfast lunch and dinner there on several days (many complain about not having free breakfast but the food was great and with what we saved on the hotel room and transport from the free shuttle we splurged on food having breakfast overlooking the rice fields...)

We also enjoyed the fellow guests: although we rarely saw them because of the private feel of each of the rooms, we did notice guests from Thailand, India, along with the usual US and European guests, all of whom were also friendly which we attribute to the good energy that surrounds the place...

I will end my rambling review with a story: as we checked out our daughter left a small cake in the refrigerator, the man cleaning our room ran from our villa (which was quite a distance) to chase down our car and give it to our daughter! Then as the fantastically polite and knowledgable driver "Ketut" drove away my wife accidentally mentioned that we didn't have a spoon to eat it with. He stopped the car, ran back to the kitchen and brought our daughter a real spoon, napkin, and little plate so should could eat in on the way to the airport! Spoiled, spoiled, spoiled - after this it will be hard to imagine going anywhere else...

In summary there are more expensive hotels around but you will never have a better experience or get better value than you will at Tegal Sari. Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation: see you next year (or sooner if we can afford it!)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbeauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at Tegal Sari for 3 nights in Sept. The hotel is right by the rice fields just 7-10 minutes away from the center of Ubud. We stayed in the Super Deluxe room - it was gorgeous - the rice fields started where our porch ended!! Also, we had to walk right by them to get to our room which was so relaxing. I would stop to take it all in every time I passed by. The service was very professional and friendly. They have a great breakfast and quite a variety to chose from. The rooms are priced very well. I think that the fact that they don't rip you off if you if you as much as touch the mini bar, is very tasteful.
There is a restuarant that they own which is right by the hotel but we did not enjoy the food that much. It is okay if you are very tired and don't want to go into town, otherwise there are much better places in town. Infact, Cafe Warung Enak is right by the hotel with great food and prices. Overall, a great experience and I would come back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefig2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is our third stay at Tegal Sari and as always the service & accommodation lived up to our expectations. We had booked ( and paid for ) Room 20 upstairs super deluxe room in January . The hotel was busy and the new villas which they do not advertise were also fully booked. The room rate no longer includes breakfast so we tried a few other places nearby . Love this place and can not find any negatives !

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank MimiPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This was our fourth year in Ubud, and our fourth stay in Tegal Sari. Waking up in our rice-field view room, listening to the frogs, geckoes and the rice workers is just heavenly. The staff are simply the friendliest, happiest people you could meet - nothing is too much trouble, whether it's being dropped into Ubud or collected after a meal, or booking a dance performance. The rooms are superb (not 5 star if you're expecting flat screen TVs and iPod docks in the bathroom) combining great views with simply gorgeously comfortable beds and air-con. I won't say any more, as this is my favourite place on Erath, and I don't want the likes of you booking all the rooms up. So there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

we stayed at the wooden room. the views were simply breathtaking and amazing. lovely green paddy fields could be seen from the room balcony, front door and even the bathroom. really felt eco friendly. we walked to monkey forrest road which is close by to have our dinner and also massages.
basically loved tegal sari very much. excellent place for the money you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Had a beautiful stay in the Duplex beginning of Sep 2010. Do reserve your room early!

Great rice paddy field scenery from the master bedroom, especially in the morning when the morning rays shone in and with a few birds chirping outside giving a feel of tranquility found nowhere in a city. Duplex is more suitable for couple as the sliding door to the toilet is kind of translucent and the main toilet on level one has no door.. Basically, you come down the stairs, make a left turn and there’s the toilet – totally open concept. Jacuzzi was huge, perhaps could accommodate 4 persons!

Service was wonderful throughout our stay. One word - excellent. Ordered room service for dinner and the quality was good too.

Perhaps, it might be better than excellent if there's wireless in the room.

Stayed: September 2010
1  Thank wennyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 198 in Ubud
369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 198 in Ubud
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#60 of 198 in Ubud
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#64 of 198 in Ubud
931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#72 of 198 in Ubud
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing