We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hidden spot near centre”
Review of Umae Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Umae Villa
Ranked #147 of 613 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Just opened and a really nice place. Close enough to the real centre. Rooms, especially bathroom, perfect and high standard. Small plungepool and tiny rice paddy in front of the villas. Cute, comfortable, good location, good price/quality. They still have to work on the breakfast. Staff very friendly. Would recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ezzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, General Manager at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear ezzie11,

Warmest Greetings from Umae Villa,

Thank you for staying at Umae Villa Ubud a serene & relaxing home and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. And we thank you very much for your advice and we have noted it for improve as sooner.

Once again thank you for the support given and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umae Villa ,Ubud – bali

Regards,

Gusti suwantara
General manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460
Email : gm.umaevilla@gmail.com
Email : info@umaevillaubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed 6 nights at Umae Villa.

The staff were amazing but will get to that later....

The location in Ubud was great, especially as much of the villa style accommodation in Ubud is outside of the main area. Umae is located right behind Taca Casa, (or right before when you are coming in- handy to know as the streets turn into a one way system after this point). It is at the start of the main Ubud restaurant and shop area. If you are interested in the Monkey Forest - it is a 10 minute walk! It is also a bonus to be so close to everything and yet the Villa be so quiet.

We got a great rate for the one bedroom villa. While I believe the rack rate is above the value in comparison to other villas in that price range...the special prices are fantastic for what you get. The hotel is new and the rooms have a few tweaks that can be made/ a few inclusions that could be added to enhance your stay. For example, no kettle or utensils in the Kitchenette, phone system not installed yet (didn't worry us) and things like umbrellas, hairdryers etc are kept in Reception (handed to us without asking when we came back drenched one day) None of these things will impact your holiday - just suggestions we made and that the staff were most grateful for.

Convenience of location became second to the amazing staff at the Villas. Having travelled a fair bit - the staff at Umae stand out. They were all genuinely lovely, always asking if we needed anything or prompting what we need, always great to have a chat with on the way out or on the way back in. On more than one occasion, over and above kindness was shown. Note to Management - please please thank all of them and know we were blown away with such a great group of people.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, General Manager at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Sam S,

Thank you for staying at Umae Villa Ubud a serene & relaxing home and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Thank you very much for your advice and we have noted that to improve it sooner

Once again thank you for the support given and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umae Villa ,Ubud – bali

Regards,

Gusti suwantara
General manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460
Email : gm.umaevilla@gmail.com
Email : info@umaevillaubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Firstly, I didn't pay the full price but paid just under AU$100 dollars a night (roughly) and I'm not sure I would want to pay too much more.

Pros:
The villas are down an alley way and away from the street noise. The lobby area is beautifully done and the staff are lovely and friendly. The villas themselves are gorgeous. You walk up to two large wooden doors and walk through to your own private hideaway.

In mine, there was a kitchen to your immediate left, the pool and 2 x sun loungers directly in front of you and then the main accommodation. The bedroom is wonderful! There are floor to ceiling windows surrounding you but no one can see in with the high walls. There are plush full length and well lined silver curtains to pull shut at night, making it very cosy. The bedroom is large and the bed was very comfortable.

Behind the bedroom is a three quarter wall and you can walk round either side to the wardrobes and sinks. Behind that are another two large wooden doors that you walk through to the bath/shower/toilet area. The shower is huge with both rain shower and a shower head you can 'dismount' so you can rinse off properly. I was there alone but certainly enough room for two people! The toilet was a surprise - it has a built in bidet facility, which I rather liked! The shower and toilet are opposite each other and both have glass doors. Directly ahead, there is the outdoor bath, covered over enough that you could sit there quite happily in the rain, if that's your thing but open either side. Wonderfully relaxing!

I didn't actually eat breakfast the two days I was there so can't comment. There are lots of restaurants close by and the monkey forest is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and from there, lots of shops and restaurants so location is good.

Cons:
There is no safe. It's a bit dark when you get in at night - the paths aren't well lit and there is no light to put on as you walk through the main entrance doors. There is no telephone or hairdryer and the kitchen is completely empty in terms of equipment (and let's face it, you are not going to buy saucepans and cutlery for your holiday accommodation!). The biggest con for me personally was the size of the pool. It looked larger in the promo photos but, in reality, it is a rather small plunge pool. I like to have a swim every day but couldn't here. Saying that, you can always go into the main strip and use another resort's pool.

Overall, a lovely place and I can see how romantic it would be for couples but it does need a little more work to make it worth anywhere near the full price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alongcamesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, General Manager at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Henri015

Warmest Greetings from Umae Villa

Thank you for staying at Umae Villa a serene & relaxing home and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us and we are thank you very much for your advice and we will improve it sooner

Once again thank you for the support given and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umae villa ,Ubud – bali and let us work our magic to make your stay one to remember.

Regards,

Gusti suwantara
General manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Newly build entity but several shortfalls make it a less than desirable accomodation.
Quite nice in general unless you are paying 400USD/Night as advertised then you will be disappointed. Worth about 100-150 USD/night for European standard. The open layout is nice and the equippment works. Though considering the location the night must be less than 100 USD to be honest.

Elements that should be improved are:
1) Hanging lock on the outside door is not standard
2) missing saftey box is not acceptable
3) employees speak only limited English
4) if you arrive in the evening to your room (which you do through the garden) - finding the light switches will be a challenge as they are inside the room
5) no telephone makes wake up calls a challenge and if you need something in the evening or morning you will have to walk to the reception
6) there is a kitchen that unfortunately is not equipped, not even with a trash bin
7) overall loving touch is missing
8) we came in the rainy season (December) and the designflaws were visible as the water was collecting in areas where a slight tilt of the bottom surface would have allowed it to run off
10) windows were not (ever) cleaned
11) breakfast is OK, nothing special and you get it more the local style...


Overall a neat idea but if you consider that perfection is part of luxury you will definitively be disappointed. We did stay in remote and rural locations with less demonstrated comfort but much more love. This might be just another proof of what locals told us before: often the value you get for your money in middle class accomodation is not worth it.

Ubud must have been nice...before th etourist came...today is my first and last time in that city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, General Manager at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Roman,

Warmest greeting from Umae Villa A Luxury Private Pool villas

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers, as you know that we are still new who has open on 15 November 2013 and in this case we were taking your advice into high consideration. I have noted your advice and immediately shared with all of the team for their awareness, follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future.

Again thank you for sharing your experience and the gift (the review), because we think would not have been possible for us to get a success without your exceptional cooperation.

Best regards,
Gusti suwantara
General manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The rooms are beautiful. They are fairly new and spacious. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Only difficulties were the staff's limited English and the fact that the rooms in our villa were not joined so our toddler was completely separated from us by a pool resulting in me having to sleep with her. Breakfast was ordinary so we usually ate in one of the nearby restaurants which was fine.
Staff only too happy to help. Nothing is a problem for them to resolve, provided they understand what you want.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angemez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, General Manager at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Angemez,

Warmest greeting from Umae Villa A Luxury Private Pool villa

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers, we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Bali especially in Ubud area .we were taking your advice into high consideration and immediately shared with all the team for their awareness, follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future.

Again thank you for sharing your experience and the gift (the review), because we think would not have been possible for us to get a success without your exceptional cooperation and let us work our magic to make your next stay at Umae Villa One to enjoyable and one to remember.

Best regards,
Gusti suwantara
General manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Firstly, this is one of the nicest places I have stayed in my life (and I have stayed in a lot of places around the world). I think the room even beats the Presidential Suite at the Langham in Melbourne.
It is hidden down an alleyway quite central in Ubud so you are away from all the noise without sacrificing location.
The room we stayed in is incredible. Large wooden double doors open to your own pool with two seating areas followed by the private villa which overlooks the pool. The bathroom is open to the outdoors (but still very private!) and very well appointed.
All in all, Umae is a very well kept resort with great services and high quality furnishings and fittings. I am glad I took a gamble by ignoring friend's recommendations and giving Umae a go.
It is nice and secure, too; there are locks for the kitchen (as it is separate and sits near outdoor eating area), front gate to villa, front and back doors.
The pool is nice and clean and surrounded by pretty gardens.
I know this has transgressed from recommendation, to rave, to rant but it really, really is lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, Manajer Umum at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Bari W,

Warmest Greetings from Umae Villa,

Thank you for staying at Umae Villa a serene & relaxing home and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us.

Once again thank you for the support given and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umae Villa,Ubud – bali

Regards,

Gusti suwantara
General manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Hidden down an alley in the heart of Ubud, Umae Villa is a little bit of paradise. We stayed in the luxury 1 bedroom pool villa for three nights and to be honest I didn't want to leave. The villa is all glass windows so you can see straight out to your lovely private pool, back garden, table for two and outdoor shower. A mini kitchenette is located outside for those who want to cook. The bathroom is luxury with an outdoor bathtub. The villa is very private and secure. Staff were very attentive and friendly and remade the room everyday. Aircon & Free Wifi too! They were also able to recommend things to see and do in Ubud, and restaurant ideas. Breakfast was part of the package and the food was lovely - I recommend the banana pancake! Only 10 minutes walk to the Sacred Monkeu Forrest too! We would definitely come back, this place is beautiful, feels like a home away from home. Emma & Emma.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123456789297701, General Manager at Umae Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Ms Emma,

Warmest Greetings from Umae Villa A Luxury Private pool villa

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Bali especially in Ubud area and your recommendation is highly appreciate it and let us work our magic to next schedule to make your stay one to remember

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Gusti Suwantara
General Manager
Telp 03612022308
Hp 081338346460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.7 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
3.6 mi away
Villa Kayu Lama
Villa Kayu Lama
#54 of 613 in Ubud
177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gino Feruci Villa Ubud
Gino Feruci Villa Ubud
#75 of 613 in Ubud
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ladera Villa
Ladera Villa
#47 of 613 in Ubud
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Santun
Villa Santun
#28 of 613 in Ubud
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umae Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umae Villa

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 613 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £42 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Umae Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for fun and relaxation, Umae Villa is located in the Ubud area of Bali. Situated only 0.2 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, guests are able to access several city attractions. The facilities and services provided by the villa ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like tours, concierge, shuttle service, family room, including laundry service/dry cleaning. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include massage, indoor pool, garden are designed for escape and relaxation. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Bali, make Umae Villa your home away from home Contact directly via email to Gusti Suwantara The General manager of Umae Villa Ubud to get best of the best offer at Umae Villa Ubud, So Let us work our magic to make your holiday one to remember during your stay at Umae Villa Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Zenrooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Umae Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umae Villa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing