We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Garden Hotel in the Heart of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #128 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Waialua, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Secret Garden Hotel in the Heart of Ubud”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were initially only going to stay two nights and then check out another hotel in another location in Ubud, but we were so blown away, we remained there for 5 nights! Manicured gardens, ponds, two pools, large private rooms, and a great buffet breakfast included. The location was perfect, centrally located to main attractions and shopping. We used the Spa facilities as well for dual massages, which were wonderful. We would definitely stay again. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    184
    60
    15
    5
See reviews for
81
144
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
traveling the world
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for value in a great location. When i first checked in, I was disapointed in the staffs lack of warmth in welcoming me. However, the next day (and different staff members) were happy to help me with arranging a tour and always very cheerful towards me. I stayed in a standard room which was very nice but bathroom could use an update. Breakfast was a simple and tasty buffet overlooking the pool and rice paddies. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Great value stay, amidst the fields, and yet on the main monkey forest lane. Very accessible to the diners, shops and markets. Has a beautiful pool facing the open fields. Rooms smelt a little musty, but clean and spotless. Breakfast was organic and yummy. The spa was Ok (found better value spas around). Overall a worthy and well located value stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayathri_Vasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is our third time at Cendana each time I go back it feels like I haven't left.The staff are great Nyoman the manager goes out of his way to help in any way.If youre looking for a great place to stay overlooking the rice fields in the middle of Ubud this is it ,Dont expect a 5 star property most rooms don't have a TV and standard don't have a fridge but who needs TV in Ubud

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURY003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Cendana Resort and Spa was so beautiful and perfect!

We stayed here for about 5 nights and couldn't have been happier. The location was great; just a short walk (about 5 mins) to Ubud market, Ubud palace, and it's right on Monkey Forest Road, which is one of the main roads in Ubud. Short walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants perfect for shopping and excellent dining!

The rooms were large and clean, and they provide you with mosquito repellent plugs (but would recommend you bring some bug spray as well). Our beds had mosquito nets as well; they've thought of everything!

The resort has two pools (bring your bathing suit to swim!), all very tranquil with beautiful Buddhist statues. The hotel is next to a rice field as well which is also very cool and beautiful.

The spa services are amazingly priced - though I do regret not trying them out! (Too busy sight seeing and shopping during our stay in Bali).

Breakfast was included in our package, and the food is amazing. It's a breakfast buffet complete with traditional Indonesian fare (rice and noodles for breakfast), but also your typical Western breakfast items were available as well (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, toast, cereal, etc). The selection of freshly squeezed fruit juices is amazing as well.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booked Cendana as I had a first time traveller with me and wanted somewhere overlooking rice paddy for a real Ubud feel. Standard room had rice paddy directly in front and had the ornate Bali style carved wooden doors and windows so it ticked my requirements.The infinity pool also had views over the rice field and was very inviting.
Breakfast was a buffet overlooking the pool and garden.
Location was excellent just off Monkey Forest Road so set back from road noise but very convenient for shopping and restaurants.
Room 320 had a big 4 poster bed with mossie net and thatch walls which I likes, but the shower had a mind of its own and kept falling down so that wasn't good.
Staff were very friendly and welcoming.I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Would probably upgrade to deluxe next time, the deluxe room looked bigger and better but more modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Cendana around 5 nights and loved it! For those who want to stay in Ubud (which is the quieter and more cultural part of Bali), I would recommend this hotel.

Firstly location is amazing. You are right on Monkey Forest Road which is one of the main streets in Ubud – only a 5 minute walk to the Ubud market, palace and monkey forest.
Hotel itself was great – rooms are spacious (we were on the ground floor), gorgeous grounds with 2 pools and a spa, and also a great breakfast buffet and an amazing dinner restaurant (Lamak).

A few things to note about this resort though – it is right beside some beautiful rice fields but that also means more mosquitoes in the rooms. They will provide you with a Bayou for the mosquitoes but I would recommend you bring some repellant. Also the gorgeous hotel doors are not your typical ones (they lock but can still partially open) so you may get a few more bugs than your typical Sheraton hotel. It’s not a big deal and we really enjoyed it – just make sure you know what you are getting yourself into.

Room Tip: Our room was two twin beds on the ground floor right beside the front/pool and it was great. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sereen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#109 of 198 in Ubud
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 198 in Ubud
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#93 of 198 in Ubud
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#134 of 198 in Ubud
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#101 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing