We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #128 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room for only 3 nights , top floor facing salt water pool and overlooking rice fields , amazing view ,! Breakfast was good, nice selection , would have liked access to juice ,as each time we needed a refil we had to ask the staff , but it was freshly squeezed so worth the wait ,we had one meal in restaurant whitch was fine , but with so many restaurants in ubud we didn't have time to sample any more , pool was amazing, swimming while looking out over the rice fields and watching the ongoing work by a couple of local women, I would have liked a safe n the room as I wasn't comfortable with using the one at reception , they seemed to have a lot of keys to just one lock , staff were very polite and welcoming ,The manager Norman introduced himself to us at our first breakfast , but as it was a holiday while we were there we didn't see him again , pity as he was a very nice guy , We were so lucky as there was a royal cremation while we were in ubud ,this was a pretty amazing ceremony and we feel very privileged to have witnessed this event ,,,,On the last day of our stay we visited monkey forest in the morning ,and had a small accident when one of the daddy monkeys attacked me falling and cutting my leg badly and hurting my arm (we found out later that it was broken ) apparently the monkeys were angry as it was a holiday ,and there was a lot of food around in the offerings in the temple , but as we were not leaving ubud until 6pm I was very disappointed that we still had to check out at noon , I asked if we could use room so as I could rest my leg and arm ,but even though there was no booking for our room that day ,they wouldn't let us use room to rest , we did however use a shower beside reception before our taxi arrived ,but there was no where to put dry clothes so a little bit of acrobatic movements were needed to wash and dress, When we were leaving ,after sitting in reception chatting to the reception staff ,waiting for our transport , the two staff members did not say goodbye or help my husband with luggage, But Hey ! These were only minor hitches and would not deter us from staying in the cendana , oh I forgot to mention the two birds who scared the wits out of me the first time they said hello and good morning when we walked past , they also had some naughty sayings that were soooo funny ,if we are lucky enough to return to bali and indeed ubud I would love to stay in this hotel again ,only next time I would like to stay for longer and I would have no hesitation in recommending the cendana to my friends

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosierossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    181
    59
    15
    5
See reviews for
80
142
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The standard room was of a good standard , although the bathroom is a little tired looking, breakfast was included in the price which added to the value. Ducks on the rice paddy next door was a nice cultural experience. My second trip to Cendana Resort after a break of 4 or 5 years.

Room Tip: Don't expect 5 star and you should not be disappointed. This is from a males perspective as I tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theMelbourneDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed at Cendana for 6 nights and we had the most pleasant experience there. We stayed in a standard room and everything was perfect-- the buffet breakfast, the rice fields view, the ducks, the cleanliness. Most importantly the efficiency and hospitality of the staff was so impressive! And we also enjoyed ordering food from the restaurant there which was affordable and yummy too. Will definitely go back there, highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaya88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I travel often to Ubud for business and pleasure and you know what they say – location, location, location. Cendana Resort, downtown Ubud, is great for me in so many ways. I agree wholeheartedly with the many other reviews noting its serene location amidst the hubbub of a very busy downtown center, the rice field overlooks, attentive staff, lovely grounds, two swimming pools (one salt-water), on-site spa, great breakfast buffet and home-style feeling keep me coming back. All these and the perfect location make Cendana my home away from home each time I travel to Ubud. I’ve stayed here 5 times and each of them re-affirms my choice. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Close to all the great Ubud restaurants, a mini-mart, reputable money exchange and shopping the location is perfect for the casual traveler. Short walks to the traditional market (go before 8:00am if you want to see local village sellers, artisans and buyers beginning their day. At 8:30am it changes over to the tourist market), the royal palace, art museums, cooking classes and rice field excursions are additional bonuses.

If you are traveling for adventure, like most of us, remember it’s probably very different than where you live and that’s what it’s about. A word of advice if you are a light sleeper; travel with earplugs or one of those traveling white noise gadgets. (there’s an App for that :>) and they are always a good idea for traveling). Cendana being in the center of town, with all of that convenience and next to a rice field with the farmers, different noises could be a challenge. The roosters awake long before dawn, the ducks chum the fields for breakfast, rice field workers begin early and a neighbor added a bar to their warung a couple of years ago offering live music a few nights a week. I’ve never had a difficulty and sleep like a baby with my gadgets so plan ahead and your Bali adventure will be magical, it always is.

Some additional practical notes: In room WiFi (and on site hard wired computer room if it’s down), air con in room, private bath, attentive room staff, daily bottled water supplied, money exchange just outside the hotel grounds (with reputable pricing and secure interactions), complimentary local village transport, help with or recommendations for any sort of tour/itinerary/activity you desire, healthy great cuisine within easy walking distance, easy communications via email for reservations and airport transport. Great healthy restaurants within easy walking distance. All in all – great choice to stay at Cendana !!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are comfortable for one or two and are furthest from the warung with live music. IIf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHtravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just stayed at this beautiful hotel in the heart of Ubud and it was 5 star! The gardens were amazing with the most beautiful infinity pool overlooking the rice paddy field in a peaceful romantic setting off the main road but so quiet ! Wonderful and deluxe room had a four poster bed and air con - very reasonable for lovely size room! This hotel made my holiday in Bali perfect! I will dream about this place forever!!!!

Best hotel I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Deluxe are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707emmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed at Cendana twice and now it is my hotel of choice in Ubud. The location is perfect for me, right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road, but set back a bit from the road. I have stayed in the deluxe rooms which are very large and have a huge bathroom. The two pools are gorgeous, and I love the one overlooking the ricefield. The spa is also very good, but there are cheaper options very close by, in fact there is everything you could want very close by, including a couple of mini marts within 200 metres.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrystalks4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Cendana is located perfectly on Monkey Forest Road. It is an oasis in the busy road. Breakfast is great and the pool is lovely. Staff were very helpful The price is very reasonable. The pillows and beds cab be a little hard.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi_Oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#98 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#105 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#96 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#133 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#101 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing