We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and quiet place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #125 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good choice at the center. Beautiful rice filed view, quiet and nice place. The room is clean and bathroom is quite big but need to be clean more. The staff is friendly and good breakfast. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    180
    59
    15
    4
See reviews for
80
140
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here by myself at the beginning of March for 6 days in Deluxe Room #302. I booked direct with them. I didn’t know until after the fact (via reading another review) that they had some deluxe rooms that were western style, meaning plaster walls/ceiling and fully sealed windows. I liked my room, but the windows and doors were not entirely sealed. I emailed them a couple times in advance specifically requesting a western style room because of serious bug phobias, and was assured this was taken care of, but this was not what I was given. Had I been aware they had these types of rooms, I would have requested a room change. I just assumed this was their version of a western style room. But, that is my only complaint, and it may simply have been a language barrier, so it’s not much of a complaint. And, I never saw a single bug in my room.

The breakfast was very tasty and the coffee fantastic. The staff was absolutely great. The room itself was very spacious and clean. The bed was firm but quite comfortable with a full mosquito net. The patio was large and quite private because of the wonderful gardens and greenery on the grounds. The deluxe had a TV and a mini fridge. The furniture is old but well maintained. There is no safe in the room, but the armoire does lock. The showerhead was very old, spraying in all directions and there was little water pressure, but I never ran out of hot water. As the deluxe are at the back of the resort grounds, I had no issues with noise from surrounding bars. You could hear a distant thud but nothing that would keep you awake. For a couple days during my stay, there was a group in the room beside me and I could certainly hear them, so I believe the walls are quite thin.

The infinity pool was very nice and very peaceful. I never did try the other pool, which was located at the front beside reception. Actually, I never saw anyone in that pool. As for location, it was perfect. It was right in the middle of everything, without feeling, or sounding, like you were in the middle of it all. I felt perfectly safe as a female on my own, day or night.

All in all, I thought it was a wonderful place with a true Balinese feel. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I liked that I was on the second floor, as I had a better view of the rice paddies and the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived I was a little worried. Very central, walking distance to everything, noisy street. When we saw what we got we were just amazed. This hotel is in the middle of everything but at the same time away from the world. They were able to build this like an oasis in the middle of Ubud with rice field views and etc and you don't even notice from the outside. My room was on the back at the hotel and it is like a mini temple. No noise at all and you wake up with the fantastic pool everybody talks about. Want to go somewhere? Just walk and you are there. Absolutelly perfect location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank acbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was great.

The hotel is very centrally located (you enter through its parking by Monkey Forest Road), but it feels farther away. Its second pool (and many rooms around) have a view on the adjacent rice field, and we could observe the harvesting.

The breakfast is great too - Western style, Indonesian style, Balinese coffee or tea and freshly made juices. The staff is exceedingly kind and for the most part speaks very good English. They were very accommodating, helped me organise my trip further and were very efficient at that.

It was lovely and I'd gladly come here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in 301B, which is one of the modern ones over the spa. Everything was very nice - however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suarka, Manager at Cendana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Customer.

Warmest greeting from Cendana Resort & Spa Ubud.
We would like to thank for your valuable time to post your comment on Trip Advisor regarding of your recent stay to Cendana Resort.
It's always a pleasure to receive a positive comment from our guest.

We glad to know that you have wonderful stay and enjoyed with our service rendered.
And we are a Balinese owned hotel and practice the concept of our culture and tradition to live in harmony.

We hope have opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Have a great day.

With best regards,
Nyoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have been to Ubud many times and stayed in a range of accommodation. This hotel is relatively cheap and charming, the gardens are gorgeous and the views over infinity pool to rice fields are great. There is a lot of noise - not just gamelan, or the tragic rock band in a nearby bar, but the walls are paper thin...so being woken by neighbours vomiting and spitting each morning wasn't pleasant. The check in staff are not overly friendly and in 7 years of travel to Bali this surprised me. The breakfast is below average (try Cintas instead).

The location is excellent if you want to just walk out into the Main Street for whatever you desire. The infinity pool is lovely. So it's a mixed bag. Would I stay here again? Maybe...but given the choice in accommodation all around Ubud maybe not.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ValleyVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suarka, Manager at Cendana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Warmest greeting from Cendana Resort & Spa Ubud Bali.
We would like thank for your staying with us, and we are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We do our very best to make sure our guests are comfortable and well a handed to.
As you know, sometime thing don't turn out exactly how we hoped and I wish I could have taken care of your problem to your satisfaction.

Please know that if you are decided to stay with us again, we will do the utmost to make sure your stay is enjoyable..
Again please accept my sincerely apology.

With my best regards,
Nyoman Suarka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Loves this resort and for such a great price! Their rooms are great and clean. Beautiful views looking over the rice fields with an amazing infinity pool. Friendly staff, great location in the middle of town with lots of great places to eat and drink near by. Definitely worth a stay!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeslieSl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I found the Cendana purely by chance in early February as a result of arriving at another, previously booked, hotel -- only to find it had ceased to trade as a hotel! I was pointed in the direction of the Cendana -- and it was love at first sight! It is right in the heart of a main shopping street, but you would never know that once you step inside its grounds and you suddenly find yourself surrounded by rice paddies and in a hotel with beautifully sculpted tropical gardens. Luckily they had a room available -- and I never looked back. The place is enchanting -- a haven of peace and tranquillity to return to after a day's shopping or sightseeing. There are 2 lovely pools in which to cool off and the de luxe room in which I stayed had a charming terrace on which to sit and survey the rice paddies and one of the pools. I wanted a truly Balinese feel, not a characterless modern hotel -- and the Cendana certainly gave me what I wanted. The staff could not have been kinder, smilier or more friendly and the whole place exuded the atmosphere of a well-run family run hotel. Waking up each morning in a four-poster bed and strolling through the beautiful grounds to a good choice of breakfast food in an open sided restaurant was a joy, even for someone like me, who is not a morning person! Finding the Cendana was a real stroke of good luck and I hope I would definitely go back there when next in Ubud. Many thanks to Nyoman, the manager, and to all the lovely staff.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms on ground floor have terraces with great views over the rice fields. Bathrooms are HU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thailover1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suarka, Manager at Cendana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Warmest greeting from Cendana Resort & Spa.
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Cendana Resort.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with services rendered. We do our very best to make sure our guests are comfortable and well a handed to.

Hope we have an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank for your nice attention and your support is greatly appreciated.

With best regards,
Nyoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#99 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#110 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#95 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#126 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#99 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing