We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #130 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a fantastic time at this resort, great location, friendly staff - great pool and rooms. The bird near the front entrance was an absolute hoot, a little noisey and annoying if you came back to the resort after a few drinks but gorgeous. I would definately recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBunnies69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

It is located along a busy street yet when you walk into the resort, it is nestled in the quietness of nearby local houses and paddy fields, it's temperature is a tad cooler than just along the main road which is welcomed in the heat and humidity in the month of June. Walking distance from many eating, shopping (Ubud market included) and massage places (nearby spas would provide free pickup and dropoffs.
Great place to just chill and relax.

What I did not like:
The wifi is unstable, there is no in-room slippers, kettle nor complimentary coffee or tea. The spa is kind of dodgy and weird set up. You change and shower in another room, most therapist are men. My husband and I booked a massage for both of us, they arrange a female therapist for me and a male therapist for my husband. It's weird to be almost totally naked except with a disposable panties in front of another man as we were in a couple room. According to my husband, the male therapist is not good, not enough strength and is distracted. His phone started ringing halfway through treatment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YannYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived in Ubud and walked around looking for a place to stay. We looked at about a half a dozen places and decided that Cendana was right for us. It was super nice. The rooms were very comfortable with lots of space and a big bathroom. The pools were fantastic and the setting was beautiful. Ubud is very busy with traffic during the day and it can be noisy. At Cendana, you are located right in the heart of Ubud but in a spot that you do not hear any of the hustle of day time Ubud. Your location is perfect to walk to and enjoy all of the fun in Ubud. The staff was super friendly and helpful in anything you want or need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very well located. Very good attentive staff. clean. The bathrooms need to be modernised
just a shower would be better the shower in the bath was a potential slip hazard and water
went every wear. Other than that the rooms at the rear of the hotel are very good

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear cost a little more but are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A very lovely oasis tucked away from Monkey Forest Road. The rooms were large and clean. The bathroom does show signs of age and wear with cracked grout and rusty shower grab bars. However, it was large and clean. The patios/verandas were huge and one can spend days sitting on the patio lounger and relaxing. Breakfast was a good buffet spread with fresh fruit juices.

I found their transport services overpriced. They wanted $60/day for a private car tour. I walked a few meters outside and found a car/driver for $40 for the same tour/sites ($40 seem to be the going street rate). They charged around $80 for a return fast boat ticket to Gili Island. Again, I walked outside to the street and found the same return ticket for around $60 at a travel agency booth. I made the mistake of making a reservation with the hotel first for the ticket. When I came back later to cancel, they demanded a 20% penalty. This penalty was fee was never disclosed and the clerk got a little testy when I explained this fee was not reasonable. Actually, he made me talk to their contract agency on the phone and the woman kept shouting and demanding money.

Despite this, I would still return to the resort. I would just not use their transport services.

Room Tip: There does not appear to be any bad rooms. All face the gardens and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organics123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Cendana. The location is great - right in the middle of Ubud and easy walking to restaurants, sights, and activities. We did a few classes at the Yoga Barn which is a nice 15 minute walk... longer if you get distracted by the monkeys.

Having the rice paddy fields in front of the hotel was very pretty - and interesting. We watched the rice being harvested over the week we were there! Speaking of rice paddies, I have to mention our favorite walk in the area: look up 'Sari Organic' on the map and walk up there and past it. Bring your camera.

Cendana's pool is gorgeous. Perfect for relaxing or cooling off after a long, hot walk!

We staying in a Standard room and also a Superior room. Both are okay, but splurge if you can. The Superior was quieter (thicker walls) and more modern. That being said, the Standard rooms have a great traditional feel. This hotel has options for everyone.

The breakfast buffet was the same every day so we tired of it quickly. They should consider some variation.

All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: If you're staying in a Standard room, request one that is bright. The ones on the end of the row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I love this place, yet they totally lie about their "freshwater" pool. I know the smell of chlorine
and stayed their for 5 days and it was STRONG in their beautiful pool everyday. Why do they do this? Why doesn't everyone use healthier alternative ways to clean out bacteria such as silver, lasers, infarred light, or even magnets would do the trick. Would save millions of $ in pollutants and cleaning them from the water AND not leave your skin dry, smelly and toxified!! Do some research on Google on it. Whats ridiculous is they have a FRESHWATER source here and the STILL think they must contaminate the water with toxic chlorine! There are MANY types of natural water purification systems thanks to new chemical technology, chlorine and other harsh chemicals are no longer needed to clean swimming pools. Although new natural systems of water purification temporarily convert the natural chemical makeup of water, most of these systems—as described below—still require that water be “shocked” or super-cleaned after a season or a rainstorm. And some don't totally eliminate the use of chlorine, but can drastically reduce the amounts added. Anxious to plunge back into your backyard swimming hole? These systems are easily converted over from chlorine within a couple of weeks or less.

Saltwater: With this system, salt is used in a small proportion—not enough to even notice. The salt cleans water when broken down by electrolysis, resulting in a natural, bacteria-killing, non-threatening form of chlorine. The chlorine then reconverts to salt, which begins the process again. Since saltwater is self-cleaning, no other purifiers or chemicals are needed.
Ionization:: An ionic pool cleaner unleashes copper and silver to kill bacteria and stop algae growth. Ionization occurs when water molecules are converted into ions from the infusion of small amounts of metals. These metals dispense from cartridges that are put into the filter of the pool or solar devices that float on the water.

Oxidation: During oxidation, water produces ozone, a strong disinfectant that's safe enough to be used in many drinking water systems. Oxidation requires a generator outside the pool that uses either ultraviolet light (which is how the sun produces ozone with water in nature) or electricity (which is how lighting produces ozone).

Sonic waves: Believe it or not, particular sound waves can kill pesky algae and contaminants. Relatively new, sonic wave cleaning systems require a device that emits a complex system of sound waves to be placed underwater. This causes algae cells to resonate and break much like a glass breaks from high-pitched sound.

Purifying plants:Plants can be carefully chosen to create a filter that keeps pool water clean. Specific plants enrich the pool with oxygen, support beneficial bacteria that consume debris and potentially harmful organisms, and deprive algae of nutrients. A traditional swimming pool can be converted to this kind of natural pool by landscaping close to the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiva-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suarka, Manager at Cendana Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Warmest greeting from Cendana Resort & Spa Ubud Bali.
We would like to thank for your staying with us and we do our very best to make sure our guests are comfortable and well a handed to,
We are truly sorry that your stay at Cendana did not meet your expectations.

I see in your case, we check and Control our swimming pool everyday and used standard chlorine.
Thank for your information and we will try to find out the solution.


Please know that if you decide to stay with us again we do utmost to make sure your stay is enjoyable, again please accept my sincere apology.

Warms regards.
Nyoman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 197 in Ubud
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#122 of 197 in Ubud
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 197 in Ubud
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.5 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#103 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £20 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing