We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #128 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We were a bit worried when our driver turned into a very small lane way off a main street in Ubud, but there was no need when we saw the destination. The hotel was magic. It was very attractive and representative of the culture of Bali. Just gorgeous, with traditionally inspired architecture and the tropical gardens were well maintained with lots of statues in interesting places. It overlooks small rice paddies. Fresh cut flowers and burning incense offerings all around the buildings were a nice touch, reminiscent of a far more expensive hotel.

Check out the spa at the back of the hotel. The spa treatment I had was to die for. The price was cheaper than the spas in the town centre.

There are nice two pools, but the one near the restaurant and spa is the best.

Our room was quite big with a more than adequate four-poster bed. The walls were covered with woven bamboo and were nicely decorated. The bathroom was a bit tired looking but was quite spacious with a corner plunge bath and separate large tiled shower area. There was plenty of hot water. The towels and linen on the bed were nice and clean. The traditional gilded wooden windows were a lovely touch. We had a private balcony with a lovely view. Each room has a semi-private garden.

Breakfast was served in the open –air restaurant. It has two storeys, and you could sit upstairs where there was a marvellous view across the paddy field. Here about a hundred ducks foraging in a part of a recently harvested rice paddy entertained us. Most of the food for breakfast was precooked with not a huge choice, but it was more than adequate for our needs. There was a mixture of Asian and western dishes. It was constantly replenished as we ate so it remained fresh and hot. The dishes changed each day.

There was a room near reception with three computers that had free internet access.

The hotel is tucked away in the middle of everything and was nice and quiet. It is an easy walk to all attractions and shopping. The market is only two or three blocks away. Head off into the back streets for the best food and shopping.

The Monkey Forest is within walking distance down the road, but might be a tad far for the aged or unfit. We walked, but the pavement is uneven and you have to watch where you walk. On the way back, treat yourself to coffee and cake in Café Wayan on Monkey Forest Road. You won’t be disappointed.

The rooms were only $US50 double per night so it was fantastic value for money. We had four nights in Kuta before going to Ubud, but I would have preferred to stay at Cendana Resort rather than in Kuta as it is only about 30 mins in a taxi to commute. Ubud is much quieter and also cooler. We are not beachgoers so appreciated the traditional small town feel of Ubud, up in the mountains. It was easy to access day trips further north to the lakes and volcanoes from the hotel. We had arranged a private driver.

After reading the recommendations on Tripadvisor we booked and paid for the hotel on their website and had no problems at all. I can’t understand why this hotel does not rate more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

Based on Monkey Forest road just passed the football field, rooms were large with baths and very clean, small balcony to watch over the rice fields and incredibly quiet location.
helpful staff and nice atmosphere.. Would have liked wifi. 2 great swimming pools. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2di4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I found Cendana on TripAdvisor for my first (solo) trip to Bali in March 08. I had such a wonderful experience that I brought 2 friends along for a second trip and they fell in love with this hotel as well. Nyoman, our guide from Cendana, made both trips delightful. Get a room with a balcony, it's worth it!

Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
1  Thank tarsiergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Me and my mate stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room facing the rice paddies and we both thought the hotel was excellent value. The rooms are very spacious and the balcony was great for chilling out on before heading out. The bathroom is a little dated but it was spotless and the shower/bath always had hot water if needed.

The breakfast was great and just what you needed before venturing out into the surrounding areas. Wholesome and lots of fruit and drinks.

The infinity pool at the rear of the hotel is fantastic and i could spend hours doing nothing whatsoever if needed.

With the hotel being on Monkey Forest rd you're in the middle of all the action with numerous bars and fantastic restaurants within walking distance of the hotel but because it's set back from the road you hear no or very little noise.

I'm going back to Bali in January (this time with my girlfriend) and although there are posher and more luxurious hotels in the vicinity i've rebooked here because it's outstanding value with a central location.

One final note. The Spa. I didn't rate it to be honest but only a very minor point.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sejasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Only stayed here for one night due to availability but would come back again next time. The rooms were roomy, the pool good, and the staff very helpful. I didn't use the spa but were told it was well worth a visit also.

The only thing that didn't look good was the breakfast buffet, so we went outside and ate at Cinta Grill instead, which is on the way to the Monkey Forest - excellent ginger pancakes. Another good place to eat and drink is Art Cafe which is just a little further on.

The hotel is in a great location overlooking a rice field in the heart of Ubud, away from the main road. Overall, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgblai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at Cendana for 5 nights in early July. We loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer.
We used some on-line maps of Ubud and trip advisor reviews to make our choice of hotel. I find it hard to believe that this place was ranked thirty-somethingth in trip-advisor. It is ideal for staying in Ubud. (Couples or families).
We booked a superior room overlooking one of the pools. We used their web-site and on-line payment system and booked an airport pickup as well. No problems with any of it.
The room was big, clean, bright and nicely decorated. Bathroom was of a similar standard but maybe just a bit dated around the edges.
All of the staff were polite and helpful.
Breakfast was more than adequate - fresh juice, fruit, breads, cooked breakfast....
(we didn't dine in the hotel but this is only because there were so many restaurants in the vicinity).
My wife used the spa and enjoyed that (but I don't know how it compares with others).
The location of Cendana is just superb.
Anyone who stays in Ubud will at some stage go to the Monkey Forest and the market. Cendana is convenient to both. It is also easy walking distance to several venues for local dance performances.
Best of all is the pool beside the rice paddy. I have never felt so chilled-out and relaxed as I was when in that pool watching swifts dive down for a drink while a couple of local kids flew their kites in the field.
(Only downside, and it's a small one:- There is a nearby cafe/bar that one night during our stay had some rubbish group playing. The music wasn't that loud and it did stop around 11:00pm. Our room was as close to this as you could be, nearer to the dining area would have been even quieter).
If we are back in Ubud, we would have no hesitation about staying in Cendana.
PS:
Watch out for the footpaths (sidewalks) in Ubud- they're not exactly flat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexisBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Cendana is in an ideal location on Monkey Forest Rd. with many places to eat or shop. Had a deluxe room upstairs ($87.00)- quiet & clean. They have two pools with the salt water being the most popular. Had a good small lunch by the pool . Called for breakfast in the room & thought it was excellent- good portions with choices. Go to Ubud every year & try new hotlels. Only complaint is the TV. Hotel has CNN & HBO (cannot watch both). If some one else wants to see HBO, they change all of the channels to their request. May be in the middle of a show & it is switched. Staff were all pleasant & helpful. Would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanAzUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#113 of 200 in Ubud
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#62 of 200 in Ubud
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#98 of 200 in Ubud
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#100 of 200 in Ubud
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#130 of 200 in Ubud
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#102 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £20 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing