We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise of Simplicity, Zen & Tranquility...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the living room
Sit back and relax! Glorious openness!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View from the living room
Sit back and relax!
Glorious openness!
Nestled in the rice fields of Tegallalang
Private and rustic
Front entrance with parking
Welcome to our home!
Entrance steps leading down to the villa
Entrance foyer. Please leave your shoes here
Garden with BBQ area
Looking to the South
4m x 8m plunge pool (approx. 1.7m deep)
Living room looking out to the pool
Poolside looking to living room
Staircase leading to upstairs bedroom at the end
Dining area perfect for 6
Bright and airy upstairs bedroom
Kind size bed with plush bedding
Fabulous view from upstairs bedroom
A constantly evolving view depending on the time of day and season
Upstairs bedroom lounge with TV, cable TV and DVD player
Sitting area of entertainment corner
Upstairs bathroom
Shower cubicle of upstairs bathroom
Downstairs bedroom on the right
Downstairs bedroom patio
Downstairs bedroom looking out to the pool
Kind size bed with mosquito netting
Downstairs bedroom with sliding door looking out to the rice fields
Spacious downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom with bathtub and shower area
The stand alone Studio room
Stairway leading to Studio
Studio bedroom with sitting and study area
King size four poster bed
Studio bathroom
Studio bathtub
Shower area
Side view of villa
Wooden cottage
In sync with nature and culture
Open kitchen with breakfast bar
Breakfast bar and sitting room
Poolside deck chairs by the drop to the sawah
Lounge chairs to enjoy the spectacular view
Gazebo or Bale (pronounced 'baa-lay')
Garden and beyond
Dusk at Padi Menari
First light of dawn from the bedroom
Vibrant nature
Glimpse of the villa from the south
From the foyer with steps heading up to the main entrance doorway
Daily prayer offerings called canang sari
Farmers on the fields
Harvesting is a community affair
Ducks grazing on newly harvested plots
White herons are frequent visitors
Tokek are giant geckos indigenous to Bali
Tokek in the house
Another harmless native
Breakfast by the sawah
Padi Menari from above
Bird's eye view of Villa Padi Menari and its surroundings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christyka...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the price”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Don't believe any claims this place makes about being eco-friendly. I saw nothing but products made from chemicals. They use ant spray and air freshener. They don't compost. Soaps were the cheap grocery store variety. Cleanliness was just so-so, considering they weren't using green products. The villa is very far from Ubud, which makes it hard to get a driver. Expect to pay 100,000 rupiah each way for transport by car and be stuck in traffic. The pool is also much smaller than it looks in the photos. The bedrooms were all right, but the bathrooms were not the garden bathrooms common in most Bali villas (with no ventilation, towels don't dry). The manager and house attendant were nice and friendly, but did not give us the sort of privacy common at other villas. I've been to Ubud 4 times and stayed at 4 different villas. This was the worst in my opinion. I've stayed at other villas which were twice as convenient, twice as clean, and at half the price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Whilst I am quite baffled by the aggressively hostile tone of your feedback and though the animosity is quite unwarranted, I thank you for your opinion. I am sorry that you found the villa to be below your expectation.

Being eco-friendly is subjective and can be taken to varying degrees. For example, the villa is built to have as much natural light and air as possible to reduce the use of air conditioning and lighting. However, air-con still a must and something you require when considering our property. Standing fans are the alternative that you may choose to use. Whilst we strive to do right by the environment, we have to balance the needs of guests with effective maintenance issues. Cleanliness is a big battle for us and using green products just doesn't cut it. We are a single house that cannot afford space for composting without the smell and bugs affecting guests. Similarly we do not have the economies of scale to stock up and most of our products are bought from cottage industries that have limited, sporadic supplies. This is the situation with the soap which was out of stock and so had to be temporarily replaced with Imperial Leather which I believe is still a good quality product. The air freshener is an option that can be turned off if you want to use the electric diffuser with natural, locally made essential Cempaka oil provided. The complimentary organic bug spray seems to have missed your attention as well.

I thank you for your input regarding the privacy you expected. I will take this up with the staff. I only wish you had informed them directly if you felt they were intruding since you said they were nice and friendly. Most of our guests enjoy having them around at their beck and call. The villa's distance from town is clearly stated in my description and because you claimed to be very familiar with the area, I am perplexed by your feedback regarding the distance now. We have a fleet of regular drivers that we call upon for our guests. Part of the staff's presence is to assist you in things like this. A mobile phone is also provided so that you can call either the staff or a driver to pick up from Ubud. Unfortunately taxi fare anywhere in Bali is expensive and so is the traffic congestion. Its removal from traffic and town is why most guests appreciate staying at our villa. The pool size is clearly stated in my description and the bathrooms are clearly depicted in the photos so your complaint of it is odd. With the openness and natural environment, keeping the place spick and span is difficult. Hence, to keep the bathrooms as clean as possible we have built it enclosed instead of the typical Balinese open air types which promotes mold growth, bugs and can be rather chilly.

With regards to the price, I doubt that you will find a private 3 bedroom house on par with us for half the price. At $180 per night (peak rate) for 6 people, we are already priced cheaper than where you have previously stayed to compensate for the fact that we are a little further afield. Being twice as convenient means you pay more for it and the laws of supply & demand will prevail.

Nevertheless thank you once again and I wish you happy travels in the future.

Respectfully yours,
Olive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruhanirab...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise of Simplicity, Zen & Tranquility. Re-connect with your soul.”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First thing is the hospitality. The organizer will make sure you are well comfortable and feeling at home.

Secondly, It's an astounding place to stay and get away from all the noises of the city life. Enjoy the tranquility and peace. Just lay down at the sun bed and watch the clouds floating by. The view to the paddy fields are amazing, simply all the green your soul can take in. Wonderful breeze at the late afternoon. It could not be any more zen that this makes you feel.

Now, Thirdly; This place is very well maintained. There are 3 rooms and they are well equipped. The feel of the Top and the largest room in the villa has a living room attached to it. When you open the glass doors, the soft wind will breeze in to the bedroom and you can see the paddy fields and the green tree lines. It's a moment you can take in and just be silent. All of the rooms has proper electricity connectivity and dim-able ceiling lamps. Beautiful and articulate local artwork accompanies each room. The toilets are clean and water heater is installed. Cabinets are provided for each room. The ground floor room's toilet is huge and spacious. Central WiFi will provide you internet connectivity. The place is clean and tidy. Wonderful living room setting downstairs with a nice dining area just beside the kitchen. You can just be adventurous and make food by yourself too. There are neat details to the amenities, from Towels to the soap - is well thought of. Mosquitoes are hardly visible.

Overall, this is where you should go to re-connect your soul to the nature and to your partner.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderfully descriptive review, Ruhani! It makes our job so satisfying when our efforts are appreciated such. We aim to continually improve so we hope you will return for another stay sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajcbak...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oasis of tranquility and comfortable luxury in Ubud”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I had a wonderful week in this gorgeous villa. Such a stunning view of rice paddies and completely tranquil the whole time we were there. Despite the peace and quiet, it's an easy drive to everything in Ubud. You can stroll down the road to watch traditional Kecak dancing and hop on a scooter or bicycle to explore the lovely surroundings. The pool was great for cooling off and we loved relaxing in the pondok and sun loungers under the frangipani trees, just taking in the serenity and lush scenery. Bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious, all with nice ensuites - and the one beside the pool has a huge bathroom with impressive stone bathtub. It is open living as per the traditional Balinese joglo style but fans keep it cool and when it rained we could bring down the blinds to keep it well protected. Mosquitoes were minimal though the staff provide burners to keep them at bay if needed. Special mention to the staff who were just wonderful - so kind and helpful, keeping the place very clean and secure, serving great breakfasts and showing us around or leaving us to our own devices as we liked. The owner Olive was away while we were there but she is really responsive to messages and went out of her way to help us with enjoy our time there - sourcing a baby cot and car seat for us, and even organising a surprise birthday cake for my mum! If you are looking for a truly relaxing break where everything is easy this is like a home away from home but in Ubud style!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeredithP...
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Luxury in paradise for cheap”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My friends and I were looking to save some money during our trip to Bali and found this gem on trip advisor. We were extremely happy with the accommodations and even happier with the service there during our stay. The villa was every bit as gorgeous as the pictures on the website and was in a great location. The house manager, Putu, helped arranged everything from picking us up from the airport in the middle of the night, hiring drivers to take us places during the day, getting groceries, hiring a private chef to cook us dinner, and more!! The villa provided us a wonderful breakfast every morning at whatever time we specified the night before and cleaned our rooms during the day. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and definitely plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the accommodations and having breakfast made every morning
Liked least: tough to say - the mosquitoes, although they were not that bad
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass64...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome overall experience!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Visited the Villa with a few friends on our first time ever in Bali, Olive was very helpful in answering any questions before our arrival and even booking scooters for us to use during the course of our stay. The villa was very clean, and the manager and butler were both incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed during our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan D
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome villa, really beautiful”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were 7 friends visit Bali. This place is really beautiful and enjoyable.

Putu, the villa manager will make you stay as good as possible. Managing your trips and visits, the taxi ,food delivery or massage. It's really comfortable.
And there is a cooker making the breakfast you want, at the time you want it every morning !!!

the villa is beautiful, rooms incredible, really clean and taking care of.

We loved to stay there !
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh breakfast served every morning
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen C
Perth WA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“2 Families, 7 of us not cramped - just gorgeous”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed as two families (one from the UK and one from Australia). The Villa was perfect for our needs and accommodated our specific dietary requirements eg. Vegan (one couple) and gluten free (one child) without any difficulties. In fact we were more than satisfied with the breakfast catering arrangements. We self drove and chose to eat locally,however, the Villa has a gas BBQ and many menu choices if you need their "butler catering service" at reasonable prices.. The guest rooms were spacious and very quiet. How gorgeous it was to hear the frogs at night and see the fireflies dance over the rice paddies at night. We enjoyed the sunsets over the rice paddies and ample lounges and poolside furniture and day bed was excellent. I'm a retired 5 star hotel general manager and past Tourism Awards Judge for the West Australian Tourism awards, so I feel I can speak with experience. If you found this a helpful tip, please tick the box below, regards, Owen

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Dear Owen and Julie,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We feel so blessed to have you and your extended family grace our villa with your kindness and beautiful aura. We hope you will be back again soon. In the meantime, safe travels, live well and stay true :)
Olive, Nono, Putu, Putu Awan & Pak Made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing