We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center

Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally established as a neighborhood library for expats in dire need of a good read, Pondok Pekak has evolved into a community center for tourists, expats and locals. In addition to a fully-stocked adult and children's library, Pondok Pekak has become one of Ubud's leading centers for promoting cultural awareness.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Most Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband, son and father-in-law took part in two wood carving classes, which were most rewarding. They learned many techniques and skills from an expert who enjoys teaching.

The following day, my son and daughter went back for a gamelan music class. Again, they were met with an enthusiastic teacher and had lots of fun.

This community centre offers many classes at very reasonable prices (100,000 1 hr music class; 250,000 3 hr wood carving class, …). The people are friendly and professional. While children are hard at work, parents can sit and read books from their library. I very strongly recommend this place for families.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2,001 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,621 helpful votes
“Music Lessons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I can't recommend this place enough. Great for both Adults and Kids. There are so many activities available ranging from 1-3hours (75,000rp to 200,000rp). I went for the Gamelan music lesson. People at the centre will phone the relevant teacher of whatever activity you have chosen and within an hour they are there for your lesson. For one hour I had one on one tuition with a guy who was an expert at the gamelan, a wooden xylophone type instrument. It was pretty tricky. We sat opposite each other and I had to mirror what he played. At the end of the hour we culminated in a kind of duet - depending on your skills. Great fun - try it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“wood carving -great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I did the wood carving class here, and although difficult at times it was good fun and an experience.
I do not think my final product was very good but I think that is testament though to the difficult task.
Sorry I sound negative, this was however very enjoyable, just not as straight forward as the silver class and if you are making a gift it may not deliver.
The chap running it really tries to teach...thank you

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must do for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Cute little community library with really great hands-on introductions into Balinese handicrafts. Perfect for children because classes are only 2-3 hrs and they come out with with some pretty impressive work! Instructors are local Balinese artisans that speak a bit English and are very, very sweet and patient.

My 14 year old and 8 year old both did woodcarving the first time and loved their experience so much we went back with their friends and did fruit carving and painting. They learned some amazing skills and were really proud of their work.

You need to book in advance. Classes are a reasonable price and there is no minimum number of students required so if you get lucky you can have a private lesson for about $25!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dewi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very pleasant little library near the football field, which is a good place to borrow or exchange books.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center also viewed

 

Been to Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing