We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support needed”

Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally established as a neighborhood library for expats in dire need of a good read, Pondok Pekak has evolved into a community center for tourists, expats and locals. In addition to a fully-stocked adult and children's library, Pondok Pekak has become one of Ubud's leading centers for promoting cultural awareness.
Lampang, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Support needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Delightful little library with a good selection of books near the soccer field. Do support it. They give classes too,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great resource”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

There is a nice selection of books to sign out for a fee. They offer a variety of classes. It's nice to have this in the centre of Ubud.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Most Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband, son and father-in-law took part in two wood carving classes, which were most rewarding. They learned many techniques and skills from an expert who enjoys teaching.

The following day, my son and daughter went back for a gamelan music class. Again, they were met with an enthusiastic teacher and had lots of fun.

This community centre offers many classes at very reasonable prices (100,000 1 hr music class; 250,000 3 hr wood carving class, …). The people are friendly and professional. While children are hard at work, parents can sit and read books from their library. I very strongly recommend this place for families.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,645 helpful votes
“Music Lessons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I can't recommend this place enough. Great for both Adults and Kids. There are so many activities available ranging from 1-3hours (75,000rp to 200,000rp). I went for the Gamelan music lesson. People at the centre will phone the relevant teacher of whatever activity you have chosen and within an hour they are there for your lesson. For one hour I had one on one tuition with a guy who was an expert at the gamelan, a wooden xylophone type instrument. It was pretty tricky. We sat opposite each other and I had to mirror what he played. At the end of the hour we culminated in a kind of duet - depending on your skills. Great fun - try it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“wood carving -great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I did the wood carving class here, and although difficult at times it was good fun and an experience.
I do not think my final product was very good but I think that is testament though to the difficult task.
Sorry I sound negative, this was however very enjoyable, just not as straight forward as the silver class and if you are making a gift it may not deliver.
The chap running it really tries to teach...thank you

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center also viewed

 

Been to Pondok Pekak Library and Learning Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing