We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gangga or Yamuna which is the best room?”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #66 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This was the question I was trying to find out when I booked this property 8 months in advance.
The answer is definately Yumuna on the ground floor. I looked at the Gangga inbetween guests and Yamuna is bigger, you dont have to climb the steps and best of all you can lay on the day bed on your private verandah and watch the kids in the pool to the left or straight out to the rice feilds.
We stayed 5 nights 12-17th May, my 3 kids aged 9-15 had the best time. Reading the review two down I would like to apologise, from your neighbours from Sydney to my Singapore friends for any excess noise, but I am glad to hear we were not all that bad!...and now I know what all that screaming I could hear one night was all about!!
Even though there was not TV the pool made up for it and this place was so "eat, pray, love", it was SO relaxing and I would definately come back to stay at the Alam Shanti again, by far the best place I have ever stayed.
We had a monkey we called George visit us daily, one day he ran into our room and helped himself to our welcome fruit and ate it on the verandah.. an amazing animal encounter .
Thanks to all the staff for the amazing service and my 12 year old son sums it up when after a few nights here he looked at me and he said "mum I feel like a king!"

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelbeachdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent 4 wonderful days at Alam Shanti. We loved the beautiful gardens, the charming rooms and the fabulous breakfasts and afternoon tea served to us on our verandah overlooking the rice fields.One morning we even had monkeys on our verandah trying to crack open a coconut.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AngelaOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

3 of us (from Singapore) stayed here from 13 - 17 May (4 nights) at Gangga room. It's one of the biggest rooms, on the 2nd floor, overlooking a paddy field & a private pool which is shared with Yamuna room downstairs. US$175/night. We arranged for the hotel pickup (US$25 per way), which I think is okay, rather than risking one of the taxis which might try to rip tourists off.

2 of us shared a huge king bed and 1 slept on the smaller but equally comfortable queen bed. Our neighbours from Sydney were nice people and we politely shared the pool. If you have kids, this is the place to be! The 2 kids were playing in the pool every morning. You can also have breakfast at the pavillion by the pool, which is an awesome place to chill & read. Alternatively, breakfast can be served on your verandah as well.

This was a relaxing break from work, and we did not do much planning for this. When we arrived, the reception gave us a map and from there, we decided where to go. On Day 1, we went to Ubud market and basically walked around and did some shopping. The most awesome thing about the villa is the free shuttle service from Alam Shanti to anywhere nearby, and free pick-up back to the villa! After some shopping, we walked to Cafe Wayan (which is affiliated to Alam Shanti) and they helped us call for a free pick-up back. We ordered dinner from Laka Leke nearby (also affiliated). Food was simple and nice, totally enjoyed it. Everything is charged to the room, but don't worry, you won't get a heart attack when you check out.

On the 2nd day, we had wanted to go for some water sports, but as my friend was not feeling well, we sort of chilled out instead. Lunched at Dirty Duck (nice!) and shopped at Coco Supermarket (bought snacks for my colleagues!). It then started raining HEAVILY and we were stuck! Once again, we called for the villa transport's back, where we spent the rest of the afternoon reading, packing, massage. Dinner was at Laka Leke where we watched the Cecak performance (some traditional dance with fire).

Massage is at Alam Wangi (also affiliated). It's quite affordable. First-timers pay US$17 (usual price US$23) for a 1 hour traditional massage. They are pretty good, and pretty! After the massage you get nice cakes, fruits & ginger tea. I did a massage almost everyday. Also did manicure & pedicure (total US$24) there but don't expect anything too awesome, they are really just good at the massages.

When we needed to go on a half day tour, the villa helped to call a driver as well. For 4 hours, you pay $40 (also charged to the total bill), an extra hour is $10. I think you can find better rates elsewhere but we didn't do much research so we basically trusted whatever the villa recommended. We wanted to go to the butterfly park, and the driver recommended us to go to Jatiluwih paddy fields where we had lunch. It was pretty awesome and weather couldn't be better!

Total bill for the 4 nights' stay, lots of massages, manicures, pedicure, room service, airport transfer, half day driver, was Singapore dollars $500 each (there were 3 of us). Pretty awesome isn't it?

The ONLY downside is that it's really close to nature. Expect some mosquitoes, a frog here or there outside the villa, ants, praying mantis at the balcony (once on the ceiling of my friend's bed), and 2 or 3 lizards in the toilet. One night we had a FREAKIN HUGE TOKEK (go google for 'Bali Tokek') in the toilet and were pretty freaked but the staff helped us to catch it and then release it outside. 2 nights later it appeared again and we kind of left it alone in the toilet and made sure the door was closed. If you are deathly afraid of creepy crawlies this might freak you out a little. Other than that, this is really pretty awesome accoms. Quiet & tranquil and all included, with all their affiliated spas, restaurants, pick-up & drop-off service etc.

Room Tip: 3 of us stayed in Gangga Room. It was decent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shooshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I really can't expand on the glowing comments already previously submitted - this place truly deserves them. We had the cheapest of the villas, The Garden House, which consists of Saraswati upstairs and Laksmi downstairs. Good value at 75.00 USD per night per apartment plus 15% tax. This includes a very generous breakfast served at your convenience between 7-10am and afternoon tea, served between 3-6pm. We had 5 people in our group so this was incredibly good value, factor in the free shuttle bus in to Ubud town and it was probably the best all-round value for money accommodation I've ever stayed in. I actually preferred the ambiance and rooms at the Alam Shanti to the 5 star lodge at the Elephant Safari Park. We had no problem with wi-fi, it worked for the duration of our stay. Lots of lovely gardens and birdlife..we also saw fireflies and squirrels. Monkeys are not a problem here. You can order in dinner from local restaurant Laka Leke and the staff will plate it up for you on your veranda. Lovely clean pool. Truly a peaceful haven to unwind in - the staff are very kind gentle people who will be happy to help you to enjoy your holiday anyway they can. Air-con was very efficient, beds are very comfortable and well-netted. Staff light mozzie coils at dusk and these were not a problem at all. You will get the odd gecko visit your room but they stay up high near the ceiling and are completely harmless and quite cute and deter the mozzies which beat the coils. If you are considering the Alam Shanti.......don't hesitate to book.
Please message me if you need further information.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeladyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had a four night stay here in the Garden House, occupying both apartments. Upstairs is Saraswati and downstairs Laksmi. There is a shared kitchen if needed. Both apartments are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are big with lots of natural light and lovely toiletries. Our beds were comfortable and like cocoons with the mosquito nets drawn round. Complimentary fruit baskets and complimentary breakfast each day. The breakfast was beautiful and served on our balcony with everything laid out properly. A choice of Jaffles, banana pancakes, eggs, toast, croissants, muesli and fruit, juice, tea/coffee etc. (I have left a few things out but it gives you an idea). Loved the village of Nyuhkuning and easy to walk around with little shops and eateries on the same road as Alam Shanti. Monkey forest is at the end of the road and you can walk through to the shops of Ubud, 15 mins or so. Very entertaining and not for the faint hearted!! We loved it though and the monkeys are such characters. We ate at Cafe Wayan in Ubud which is owned by the same family that own Alam Shanti. A beautiful meal in a pretty tranquil setting with great service. They also have a bakery at the entrance to the restaurant. The hotel shuttle will drop you off and also pick you up. We also went to their other restaurant which is walking distance from the hotel, Laka Leke and had another great meal and thoroughly enjoyed the kecak and fire dance show. The grounds at Alam Shanti are well kept and very lush and pretty. We swam every day and twice had lunch by the pool. The food comes from Laka Leke and i am still craving the guacamole and spicy chicken wings! There is complimentary afternoon tea either at your room or by the pool. The staff are fantastic and so helpful but not intrusive. We had a one hour massage at Alam Wangi Spa and also a pedicure. A lovely peaceful experience in a nice environment. The whole experience at Alam Shanti is one of peace and tranquility. It is very quiet and well set back from the road. It is wonderful value for money and a really lovely place and a great location. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at the Shindu room with my husband in May 2012. Room (although one of the smallest on the property) was more than big enough for two. It is wonderfully decorated, awesome surroundings, great indor-outdoor flow and very private. The open bathroom was the best - small pond and a garden with a nice water feature, fish in the pond and lillies and orchinds all around. It was simply magical.

I had a look at two other rooms - Dewi and Indus. Although all the rooms on the property are wonderful, I didn't like Dewi and Indus as much as I liked Shindu. Dewi and Indus are on the upper level, so they don't have the traditional open bathrooms. Also, their balconies create a rather confined feeling. We preferred the verandah on the ground level as it merges with the garden and makes everything more spacious (though less private compared to the upper level balcony).

Service at the hotel was exceptinal, breakfast was great. I recommend eating at the sister restaurant Laka Leke (5min walk from the hotel). That was the best restaurant in Ubud for us - food was dilicious, service was FANTASTIC, and prices are very reasonable. They also have traditional dance shows on some nights.

The shattle service was very good - pick up and drop off anywhere on demand. Cafe Wayan (sister cafe to the hotel) on Monkey Forest road also offers free shattle back to the hotel (even if you don't eat at the cafe).

Things to do in Ubud: We tried white water rafting and weren't disappointed, was very well organized, breathtaking views on the way, great fun, pick up and drop off at the hotel. We also checked out the salsa nights - not like salsa in LA or NYC but still a very pleasant surspise and very friendly dancers. Try Cafe Clear - it has a very nice athmosphere, good food and they also sell delicous gourmet cookies and crackers. Last but not least, when in Bali - you must have a massage. We didn't try the spa at the hotel but checked out some of the places in town and they were very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private and all of them are decorated very nicely, so you won't go wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTVIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed in Gayatri (Upper level of House in the rice fields). The room was everything that we wanted in terms of privacy, with only The Lumbung beside us, there was nothing else except rice fields and trees. It was only 5 minutes walk from the Reception, a little further from the other rooms. The room is very clean, with 2 balconies, 2 daybeds and dining area outside for breakfast and afternoon teas. I only had problems with the shower and toilet as the water pressure was really really low and the bathroom wasn't cleaned very well daily. However, it was a small price to pay for staying in such a beautiful and idyllic environment. For those of you who are worried about security and staying away from other rooms, we have noticed that Alam Shanti employs security guards who performs security checks time to time during the night. There are small lights by the trail to the house too, so it's fine to walk back after dinner. If you're looking for excitement and nightlife, this is not the place to stay in. If you're like us who wants a getaway to just do nothing except with a book in hand, lounging on the daybed, then this is the perfect place. For you who do not know, there is no TV in Alam Shanti. It's just you with Mother Nature.

Scooter rental is available from 'Go Bali' down the road from Alam Shanti, the price is reasonable and you can buy petrol to refill from them. Take your time to explore the area nearby in Nyuhkuning village. We buy lunch all the time at the nearby warungs, you can see the local villagers eating or buying takeaway all the time. The food is always delicious, clean and cheap with a cup of hot Bali coffee. For shopping, Ubud town is only 10 minutes ride away on scooter. For me, this is the perfect place to stay in to experience the Balinese culture, yet close enough to the shopping strip and other main eateries in town.

Room Tip: Our bathroom in Gayatri had really low water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#78 of 199 in Ubud
419 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#37 of 199 in Ubud
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#32 of 199 in Ubud
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#102 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £62 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing