We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #70 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We recently stayed in the Lumbung room for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was just gorgeous. So much tranquility but also thoughtful touches of luxury. Lumbung house is a converted rice barn overlooking paddy fields a few minutes walk from reception. If you walk through the monkey forest it really isn't more than 10 minutes walk from Ubud, but the staff will happily take you into and pick you up from anywhere in Ubud you want to go, up until 10pm. The swimming pool was lovely and peaceful and I had a facial at the spa which was great.

There is no restaurant or tv so you have to come wanting to get away from it all, but the Laka Leke restaurant down the road is excellent and in beautiful surroundings. Plus there are all the restaurants of Ubud a ride away. The breakfasts are lovely and can be brought to your room, which is a nice touch.

The nightlife is plentiful but only to be expected in the Indoesian countryside! There is a great chorus of cicadas, frogs and geckos. There are of course geckos inside too as this hotel is not a sealed air conditioned box, but they help keep the insects away and are kind of cute! I didn't see any large spiders at all and mosquitos weren't much of a problem. The staff bring mossie coils every evening and we had one burning in our bedroom each night.

I would highly recommend this lovely little hotel for a spot of calming tranquility!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Alam Shanti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

This small hotel is a gem. As I was travelling on my own it ticked all the boxes. Convenient, reliable pick up from the airport, in house massage facility, pool, shuttle bus into town, very quiet location, beautiful surroundings, gardens, views of rice paddies, security day and night. Staff were so pleasant and I will be back there next year. This is very much a retreat type hotel where one can really unwind without the bustle of hotels in Ubud itself.

Room Tip: I had the Parawati room. It was a little further away from the other villas but provided a more priv...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leysin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you look for a calm and quit holiday, you can't find a better hotel than this. Extremely huge cottage with natural feeling. Lake, field surrounding the cottage. The staffs are friendly, you will find a slow but usable wifi but there is no TV or no restaurant there. But there is ne huge restaurant Laka Leke which is like 5 mins walking distance away. The food quality, the service of Laka Leke was simply great. Almost every night, there are some cultural programs which is a must visit.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ridwan107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the Gangga room in Sept 2012 with 2 adults and our 3 and 4yo daughters...the room is more beaultiful than photo's portray.This room shares a private infinity swimming pool with the Yamana room which was great....there is a huge balcony and a gorgeous private semi-outdoor bathroom. If you want a peaceful retreat just outside the centre of Ubud that doesn't cost a fortune this is the place. It's an easy walk in to the centre around the monkey forest if you dont have kids...we did it a couple of times with the girls but more often than not made use of the free shuttle service. (we had a couple of strollers which will get you into Ubud, but once in town the streets are not stroller-friendly) If you are in town you simply have to call (or get the staff at any restaurant you're at to call) and they'll come and pick you up usually within about 20 minutes. The breakfast brought to the room every morning was lovely, and although there is no restaurant, you can get pizza's etc delivered to the pool from the nearby Laka Leke which is assoc with with hotel. We got great coffee down the road at Coffee and Copper, and on Thurs night listened to a great acoustic band there...(also try Casa Luna for good food)
If you visit the Monkey Forest with kids do so in the evening (theyre not quite as hungry and aggressive) and don't get bananas if you don't fancy them climbing all over your children! You still get up close and personal if you just sit quietly in the main area...
The staff at Alam Shanti were very friendly and helpful and the attached Spa was very reasonably priced, the rooms by the common pool were beautiful and the massages excellent.
All in all we had a wonderful stay, the girls loved it and we'll be back next year...just be sure to book well in advance as it's very popular, with good reason....
Terima Kasih, Alam Shanti...we'll see you next year...

Room Tip: The Gangga room looks over the rice Paddies and is very peaceful, and only shares a private pool wit...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was a totally lovely resort especially the rooms near the spa with had great staff, reasonable prices, lovely shuttle service and a tour driver for long trips who was amazing, Dewa Parsi, dewaparsi@yahoo.com (mobile 081 747 002 76). Every day was memorable and staff were great. Dewa planned with us great trips to north coast, volcanoes, hiking, temple events and sight seeing. What a pleasure.

Room Tip: Lakshmi and the others near the pool and spa were extra pretty, breakfast on patios included
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rama186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Dont stay here unless you want perfection, we stayed here in Yamuna room complete with private infinity swimming pool and absolutely loved it,terrace looks over rice fields where breakfast is served.
Rooms are beautiful, staff are fantastic , free shuttle into town and will also pick you up, close to monkey forest.
Stayed with our 1 year old and our 3 year old , kids loved the staff.
Only fault with this place is its booked out so far in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skipdemruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We arrived without reservations at their sister guest house, and we were lucky enough to get a place here. The owners were great and the rooms were very nice for the price. I think it even included breakfast. Very close to everything and located on a nice street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#72 of 199 in Ubud
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kebun Indah
Kebun Indah
#126 of 199 in Ubud
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 199 in Ubud
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#59 of 199 in Ubud
916 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#48 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#14 of 199 in Ubud
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing