We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Villa in Ubud , Bali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
Ranked #70 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“The Best Villa in Ubud , Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Alam Shanti's environment is fantastic and it is so natural. Besides that, their service is also excellent every morning they will serve breakfast for us and when they see you they will greet us and they are very friendly...Alam Shanti's service is the Best...we are very appreciate the workers there ...... we love it

Room Tip: Choose the room that has your own garden it is perfect........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Win8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
157
283
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place is fantastic. We stayed in the Gangga room, which is on the top floor and has a private pool and after 4 nights did not want to leave. The ratio quality/price was off the roof, good service, super beautiful room, great breakfast by the pool or on the terrace. This is THE place to stay in Ubud hands down.

Room Tip: Gangga room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank federicabianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Alam Shanti was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Beautiful hotel in an amazing location with impeccable service, a green attitude and you are supporting a local owner! A friend and I stayed in gangga room, which we highly recommend. It is on the second floor, private and comes with its own pool.

The grounds: wonderfully maintained, gorgeous and provide ample space between accommodations to make your space feel alone and private. Gangga room looks out onto the rice fields- serene and amazing

The room: much more beautiful and upscale then the hotel website makes them look like. I was concerned the room would be more rustic than I would like, but was blown away. The room is beautiful- with marble floors and gorgeous furnishings and two outdoor showers- still looking authentically bali with wood carvings and hand done furniture. Private balcony that faced the rice field with couch and table, where we ate breakfast every morning.

The location: for us, perfection. Just outside the main drag of ubud, so it was quiet and made us feel like we were in the middle of no where, yet less than a 10 min walk away from everything...and the walk is a pleasant stroll through monkey forest. We enjoyed walking into town everyday.

Service: amazing. Always ready to help or do anything. Breakfast in our room was prompt, polite, delicious and delivered each morning by gracious employees. We needed help calling drivers and arranging activities and the front desk staff always helped and took care of things. The "shuttle" to ubud they offer is really a private short distance driver- they will drop you anywhere in ubud or pick you up from anywhere in town with almost no notice.... Get tired of walking and just want a ride home? Just call the hotel and they will send someone! I don't know anyone else who offers this for free and it was so great.

Spa: while pricey for bali, the 23$/hr the hotel charges at the spa is so much more than worth it. The very best massages we received in bali! Professional, amazing, clean, quiet and better than many massages I have has in the US. You get what you pay for in bali, if you want a remarkable massage- come here.

Green:
While allowing you to keep your towels and linens to save water, this hotel also gives you bottled water and then offers you refills in the main lobby. This saves a ton of plastic- yay!

Downside: the ONLY complaint we had, was not exactly the fault of the hotel. The people in the room below us the last two days had a toddler who literally screamed for hours the first day they arrived while they took over the pool, which really made it hard to enjoy the quiet wonderful ambiance of our room. Our thought, that maybe because of the serene nature of the hotel- maybe having the hotel discourage guests from bringing really young kids.

Room Tip: Gangga room is on the second floor, totally private and has its own huge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebunny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Just left after 4 fabulous days in this Balinese oasis . Setting is gorgeous overlooking the jungle and monkey forest. Service over the top, food from the Wayan Cafe delicious . Every detail of the impeccable grounds , the decor of the villa and ambiance was fantastic !! I'm coming back here! Located walking distance to monkey forest and free shuttle into Ubud. Put this on your must see! You won't be disappointed . Enjoy!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlamosJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Alam Shanti for one week after three weeks of scuba diving in Indonesia. It was the perfect place to recuperate and prepare for the long journey back to the US. The staff are very accomodating, the rooms are beautiful and the food is great. We went to the spa twice and found the massages to be excellent and inexpensive. The shuttle service is responsive and free - we used it three times to go into or out of Ubud. It was an easy walk to Ubud through the Monkey Forest which is nearby Alam Shanti.

Room Tip: We were in Dewi - it felt like a tree house with its large patio and day bed on the second floor. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sykescreeklady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Peaceful with an amazing staff with the ability of being there when needed but always showing respect for privacy. Breakfast served in beautiful spaces when and as you wish. Situated in a serene Ubud outskirts with zen like gardens and a private spa with inexpensive treatments. Beautiful rooms with huge bathrooms and open views. Speaking only of the Saraswati room I have never stayed in a suite with such area and outdoor beds to read or nap in on the private terrace. A pleasant walk to Ubud past the Monkey forest or a frequent shuttle available free. Return pick up from anywhere in Ubud. (We mostly walked) this stay is memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in at Alam Shanti and in retrospect wished we stayed there for our entire trip to Bali. Ubud is central to the entire island, making excursions anywhere relatively easy. Alam Shanti is located on Monkey Forest Road, and it is literally a 2 minute walk to the Monkey Forest. You can either walk through the Money Forest to get to town or take the hotel shuttle, which runs frequently. Our beautiful and spacious villa, called Purwati, had a picturesque view of rice paddies and a nearby farm. Everything about the experience was perfect. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and went out of their way to ensure our needs were met. Our room was massive and had a nice patio where we enjoyed an amazing breakfast every morning in the backdrop of the rice paddies. There was an outdoor seating area adjoining our room where we would sleep outdoors or read while enjoying afternoon tea served by the hotel staff. The room had lots of closet space so you can fully unpack and feel at home. The A/C kept the room nice and cool, though we often left the screen door open to take in some fresh air. The bed had a wrap-around mosquito net, so you could sleep easy. We decided to pamper ourselves each day at Alam Shanti's luxurious spa - which I highly recommend. One day our villa was raided by several monkeys from the nearby Monkey Forest who came down from the roof while we were eating breakfast. I didn't quite know how to react, so I simply yelled for security. Within seconds the guard and some staff came with brooms and drove the monkeys away. Later, more monkeys came while I was working on my computer outside, but emboldened by what I witnessed earlier, I chased them away with a chair. The hotel staff said its not a regular occurrence, so no need to be on edge if you are staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Jiwa
Alam Jiwa
#49 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#43 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#7 of 512 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing