We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff, wonderful location.”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #72 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, wonderful location.”
Reviewed 6 October 2008

A beautiful place to stay in Ubud. Be warned there are bugs and geckos as you are in a rural area. We stayed in the Laksmi Room. It was a nice, basic room (compared to their other rooms), but still quaint and romantic. In fact, I proposed to my fiancee in that room, laying in the bed looking out to the gorgeous view! Thanks Alam Shanti for making love happen.

We only stayed for two nights due to availability but was able to transfer to Alam Indah up the road, their sister property. That place was equally impressive. They made the transition easy, I was able to take care of the whole bill at the end at Alam Indah. The staff was incredible.

The only problem was it's quite a distance to walk to central Ubud around the palace, especially in the heat. No worries, they have free shuttle services.

  • Liked — Staff. Beautiful setting. Free shuttle service.
  • Disliked — Opposite end of Monkey Forest Road, away from central Ubud.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eshia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
164
285
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Alam Shanti for six nights last week.
This Hotel was everything I had hoped for and more.
The grounds were beautiful with lily ponds and small water fountains dotted throughout. It was so private, and we hardly noticed anyone else there. We had the lovely pool to ourselves most of the time. Breakfast was good and every afternoon between 3.00p.m. and 6.00p.m. you could call for your afternoon tea and it would be delivered to wherever in the grounds you wanted it. We looked forward to seeing what yummy treat we would get as each day it was something different, and very yummy it was. The rest of the day tea and coffee was available on request as the rooms have no tea/coffee making facilities.

Our room was the Indus. I could not believe how large it was! Just beautiful. We had a large balcony and every evening we sat outside listening to the myriad of the calls of the night.

The shuttle was available anytime to take us to Ubud which is only a 10 minute walk through the monkey forest but longer by road.

The staff deserve special mention. They were unfailingly friendly attentive and just genuinely lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a late check out pre-arranged with no extra cost.

We felt as though we were in paradise.

This Hotel is perfect for those wishing to spend a few nights of serenity and would be wonderful for a honeymoon!!

  • Liked — beautifully furnished huge rooms
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank journeymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

My wife & I stayed at the Alam Shanti in August 2008 as part of a 3 place holiday stay in Bali.
After making our decision through Tripadvisor review information we realised we had hit the jackpot with this choice.
I was a little worried though because I am the type that gets itchy feet and wants to go off exploring, too much time relaxing bores me but my wife likes peace and serenity and can spend most of her time relaxing, reading doing puzzle books etc.
We stayed in the Shindu room and it surpassed our expectations. This room is huge, ( no T.V. ) the bathroom is very good and the bed is massive and comfortable. The hotel staff keep everything very clean.
The gardens, pool ( very cold Brrrrr! ) are magnificent.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The Spa too is very good and reasonably priced.
If there could be any fault I found the breakfast not to be substantial enough but my wife disagrees.
There is a free shuttle bus to take you into central Ubud just ask at reception and they will organise it straight away and if you go to the Cafe Wayan they will organise a lift back.
We enjoyed our stay here and can understand why it has such good reviews.

Helpful?
4 Thank delboyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

When we first looked at the Alam Shanti on the internet, it looked great, and a real chance to experience Balinese cultures first hand. In fact I loved it when we were first shown our room.
We stayed in the Gangaa room, the largest suite, and at first the intricate Balinese beds and beautiful views off the balcony looked impressive. But on further examination of one of the beds, there was a stain on one of the mosquito nets that looked very much like blood, and the day beds were dirty.
Going into the open air bathroom, and what at first looked like two fun looking outdoor showers later turned out to be a hosepipe through a stone statue, and there was a cigarette butt on the ledge next to the other one. Also the sanitary bin had not been emptied for two days.
The infinity pool overlooked gorgeous wildlife and rice terraces, but the basin at the side of the pool, to collect the overflowing water, was filthy and probably had never been cleaned out. I was also not the only living creature in the pool at many occasions; looking around I saw many alive bugs and insects in the pool; something which a simple cleaning once or twice a day would have looked after.
The staff were very friendly, although what i feel let the place down most was the fact that there was no on site restaurant. Consequently I did not enjoy my limited choice of breakfast foods.

However, on a good note, i would like to reccomend a small restaurant just down the road from the Alam Shanti called Laka Leke; here we ate every night and even took a Balinese cooking class. Laka Leke was a nice escape from the Alam Shanti, but it still retained it's Balinese features, in a cleaner fashion.

  • Liked — near to places of interest
  • Disliked — uncleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank JezzaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We have just returned from a 2 night break at Alam Shanti as part of a 3 stay holiday (staying at The Shangri La, Bangkok and The Jimbaran Bali Villas, Jimbaran Bay, Bali).

Alam Shanti is an absolutely amazing place. We stayed in "Indus" room which was huge with lovely views. There is a lovely pool with infinity edge and breakfast can be served on your private terrace which was an absolute bonus.

Ubud is a lovely place and is a refuge away from Kuta (which although great can get quite busy!). We definately recommend these restaurants in Ubud: Lamak, Three Monkeys and Lotus Cafe (on Monkey Forest Road).

Alam Shanti is also very close to the Sacred Monkey Forest which is lovely (there is a motorbike path which you can walk along to get into Ubud which means you dont have to pay entry into the forest). The walk into Ubud is very quick and there is also a free shuttle service from Alam Shanti to and from Ubud (until 10pm). A few of the bars have jazz or bands on in the evening

The staff were very friendly and would help you with anything you needed and we would definately recommend Alam Shanti

  • Liked — The amazing location and scenery
  • Disliked — That there was families with children there - especially for a romantic getaway
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

It is hard to write a bad word about Alam Shanti. Firstly, just read the reviews to see their loyal following. Secondly, the staff are so so lovely. Lastly, they are cheap and you really do get your money's worth.

The reception is very peaceful, with great chairs to lounge in. The gardens are well maintained and very pretty. The pool is a bit of a stunner for the price you are paying. The rooms are big, the bathrooms gorgeous.

So, what could be wrong. Well, nothing at this price but there are a few points worth noting.

Firstly, although the rooms where overall very clean there were a lot of stains on the daybed throws and pillows. I would have loved to have spent hours lounging with a book and drink but hesitated. The bathroom towels were clean but blackened from the water they are washed in. I know this is just a result of local conditions, so why not buy black towels and forget the problem!

Secondly, the food. Breakfast was perfectly Balinese and the Black Rice Pudding worth it everytime. I am pretty sure the staff play a big role in the breakfast prep but every other meal is brought from a nearby restaurant (same owners). I am not fussy and would definately try to stick to Balinese food whilst in Bali but have to say the meals where very average. Solution, eat out, but with a baby we were stuck a few time not being able to do this.

The staff are fantastic and after 20 or more years of visiting Bali I am relieved that there is still some authentic accomodation available. For this price, I would suggest a stay at Alam Shanti. It won't cost you much, luxury is available on a small scale, the day spa is dirt cheap but still as good as the bigger resorts (if not better) and you really will be able to feel like you have been to Bali.

  • Liked — Value for money, customer service, pool
  • Disliked — Stained lined and pillows on daybeds, lunch/dinner not so good
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LikesALittleLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We were met at the airport by Dewa, the driver for Alam Shanti. He gave us a running commentary on the different suburbs and villages we went through on our way to Ubud.

We arrived at Alam Shanti and were given a glass of mixed fruit juice each, very refreshing after our long journey.

We stopped in the Yumana room (a deluxe rice field room), it was huge with a 4 poster bed (with mosquito nets), a huge balcony with views over the rice fields, and outdoor bathroom and right near the pool. It felt like you were miles away from anywhere, only saw 3 other guests while we were there - it's very peaceful and quiet and just what we were looking for.

Location is excellent, it's a 10 minute walk into Ubud, you can do this through the monkey forest (there is a charge) or you can skirt round the edge for free - we walked back at night a couple of times (would have been impossible without a flashlight). You could take the shuttle bus if you wanted, but we only used it once.

The staff were superb, very friendly and would help you with anything you needed, Breakfast was great - served on the balcony at the time you chose.

I would definately go back to Alam Shanti, it was a littel taste of paradise,

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Can't think of a single thing i didn;t like.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garzinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#57 of 198 in Ubud
899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kebun Indah
Kebun Indah
#127 of 198 in Ubud
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 198 in Ubud
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#52 of 198 in Ubud
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 198 in Ubud
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing