We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #67 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This was our first place on our trip to Bali and the Gili Isles and what a way to start your holiday. We had arranged a pick up at the airport and although it is a little expensive, $25 it was worth the money as the driver was great explaining things streight away and answering our questions about bali on the hour journey to the hotel. The location is just outside the centre of Ubud but with the very handy shuttle service or the interesting walk through monkey forest that only takes 10 minuites its the best of both worlds as it is so peaceful and tranquil where it is positioned. It was late when we arrived so they left all the checking in formalities to the morning and showed us to our room, Shindu. What a room its like stepping into another world the ornate doorway , veranda with daybed and large table and chairs. The two rooms are very large, the first with an enormous four poster bed with mosquito netting, AC and a ceiling fan, the second an open air changing, bathroom with our own pond ,garden and enormous bath. They light lots of mosquito coils all over the veranda and bathroom in little clay pots and we didnt have a single bite. The next morning we ventured into the amazing grounds and little paths that lead to the 2 pools and the spa building, the new pool near the new spa was such a loveley area and after our very reasonable spa session we sat and ate cake and drank ginger and lemongrass tea and listened to the tranquil noise of the Bali countryside. We asked the hotel to arrange a full days touring the temples, rice paddy fields ect and we would like to give special thanks to our driver who gave us such fantastic memories , lots of information we would never have known he was so great. I could go on and on about this place it was just so perfect, they served our breakfasts on our veranda each morning and they would come and make there offerings lighting there insence sticks. Here we felt we saw the real Bali and its somthing you have to experience if you go to Bali dont just go to the beach resorts of the south you wont get a real insight into what Bali and its people are really like, just wonderful

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed here for 4 days towards the end of a trip to Bali.

This hotel consists of a a small number of "apartments", each in traditional Balinese style, and set in their own tropical gardens. We spent hours sitting on our verandah next to our very own Lotus Lily pond, listening and watching the local birds and other wildlife.
You would hardly know that there are any other guests.

Alam Shanti is about a 20-30 minute walk from the centre of Ubud, but offers free shuttles if you feel this is too far in the heat. The shuttle is really a must at night if you go into Ubud for a meal.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Alam Shanti is located in a rather isolated part of Ubud (so I felt), very quiet and lots of privacy. Units are spaced far apart and you will hardly notice anyone around you. Feels like you have the whole place to your self. Any assistance is just a phone call away. You will be surrounded by lots of ponds and rice plots. It has alot of surprises from the view to the layout. Please do enjoy the morning breakfast served to your room, I especially like the pan cakes. There is nothing much outside the compound, so you may as well stay in the hotel and enjoy the view and spa. The also provide free shuttle to and from Ubud town. If you are afraid of geckos, lots of them here so be warned.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jujutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My soul got a new lease on life!!!! Alum Shanti was blissful..... this was my first trip to Bali and we went straight from the airport to Alum Shanti.... I admit I had misgivings as we drove for an hour to reach it. Felt I was leaving all my security behind, going to some remote destination. Well all that was true... and I found heaven! With 4 children left at home I loved the NO TV.... the lack of time restraints, the casualness of breakfast and afternoon tea. The personal touch of the spa staff, the tea, cake and biscuits. The Lake Lekke restaurant which became a home away from home... and we loved the cooking class. Ana did an amazing job along with Madi and the other staff.... one of the best things I have ever done on holiday. And my husband and I ventured out to walk into Ubud on our second day.... cars, haggling,scooters, ... arrgghhhhh, we ran back to Alum Shanti and assumed our positions.... I spent days just gazing out over the gardens ... found I had taken the same photos again and again trying to capture the beauty.... Will just have to go again soon to see if it is still as lovely.
Could not recommend it any higher.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcieBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed in Ganngi suite, -great,- infact wonderful. Loved the pool ,watching the squirrels and ducks in the paddi fields. Great ambience and staff. Tried the spa for a massage, interesting turmeric and yoghurt experience.!!! very good value. Ate at the Cafe Wayan, and Three monkeys- both excellent.
All other reviews have said it all!
Had a great driver to show us the area for a day.. Extremely good value and a really nice guy. Used the company " A true Balinese Experience" for a couple of cycling trips, very good- barter for a price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsyoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We live in Asia and have traveled a lot through the area. We picked the Alam Shanti based on the reviews, and the reality exceeded our expectations. The villas, the hotel, the staff and the pool were lovely. The staff had promised us that the room would fit two extra beds for our almost-teenage daughters and it easily did. Their muslim-draped beds made them feel like princesses. Anytime we wanted a ride, they obliged quickly, which was an added plus. Even my husband, who likes the easy familiarity of chain hotels, was charmed.
Most days we had breakfast on the veranda to enjoy the peace of the rice fields before making the easy walk into town for shopping or dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiketoTravelAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

posted some photos i have taken and i think they already said a thousand words.

stayed in dewi and personnaly think that upper floor is better then ground floor as more privacy especially with its own balcony.

would definitely go for yamuna or gangga next time!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#76 of 199 in Ubud
419 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#45 of 199 in Ubud
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#32 of 199 in Ubud
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £62 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing