We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite Villa 101”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #102 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Booked a 3 night stay at the Arma, Ubud, as a well earned rest at the end of a hectic 20 day Indonesia trip. We wanted piece, quiet and luxury. The Arma delivered!! The villa was private (with it's own garden,decking/patio and pool) extremely spacious, very comfortable and spotless.
The communal area's were set in the most beautiful gardens, with waterways, temples etc. and an army of very friendly staff to cater for your every need.
Breakfast was made to order and could be delivered to your suite if required.
I would also recommend their spa - a deep tissue massage in a salon overlooking surrounding paddy fields, topped off with a ginger tea was a real treat.
The Arma doesn't feel like any other hotel I have ever stayed in. Try it and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Opt for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripJunkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

If you can afford to splurge on the Villas, you will enjoy this place. If you can't afford the Villas, you will likely be dissapointed. We spent 3 nights in a Villa and loved everything about our stay. The grounds are beautiful, the Villas are huge, comfortable, chique and private. The only complaint with the Villas was the breakfast, it was limited in choice and not very tasty, the pastries were the worst ever. But having breakfast in the Villa setting almost makes up for it. We moved to hotel room the last night and couldn't believe this was the same resort. The hotel rooms are dark, outdated furniture, dirty sheets, dingy bathroom, don't think they've been touched since they were built in the 80's. So glad we upgraded to Villa. The resort is quite a long walk from Ubud center, we never tried this on foot, but the shuttle is pretty accomodating, they will charge $1 extra if you are off shuttle schedule, we were ok with that. We booked one of the performances which was very interesting, liked the museum as well, but it's the location, the grounds that are the star of this resort. Ubud is a wonderful place, highly recomend this trip.

Room Tip: Only Villa rooms are worth booking at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very nice stay in Ubud at THE Arma resort. We booked a deluxe room but get a vila with private pool.A Nice suprise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louwrens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The Arma hotel is what it claims to be - a unique complex of traditional buildings around beautiful gardens set in the grounds of the nearby museum that showcase all kinds of local culture. The rooms or suites are furnished with antiques, the gardens are lush and well maintained and the staff friendly. The owner obviously loves what he has created and is intent on maintaining it. We loved the place. The drawbacks are: 1) It is a bit away from the town centre, 2) the service was friendly but not always responsive. Overall excellent for us as a older couple interested in the local culture.

Room Tip: Book a suite or villa - the older rooms need upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stay in a Villa of two rooms. So, I can't write about the hotel rooms. But talking about the villa, this is that idyllic place you ever dream about Bali. Nicely decorated room, two showers, one inside one outside, a private pool, and I mean a big pool, for both rooms. Breakfast service at your villa with no extra cost, served next to the pool.
The staff is very attentive and always ready to help.
Location is about 2 km from Ubud Center (very common in Ubud hotels), but easy walking or can use the hotel free shuttle.
The only thing wrong that I can say about this place is that there is internet only next to the main pool (free) and not in the rooms or villas.
Will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a Villa if posible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kartikmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Like so many once-great destinations, Ubud is over-loved -- though not without good reason. The city itself, like most other cities in Bali, is choked with congestion, cheap trinket shops, and opportunists looking to squeeze another 100,000 rupiah from gaping-mouthed tourists. Yet if you can find your way down the broken sidewalks, without falling into the underlying drains or falling prey to some hawker's scam, it continues to offer charm and magic in its back lanes, unexpected performances, and non-Western priorities.

ARMA Museum and Resort lives up to its name, offering a welcoming sanctuary within walking distance of Ubud Center, and an outstanding introduction to Balinese culture through its classes, tours, museum and performances. We were concerned that the dance and music performances would be shallow tourist fare, separated from their intended temple setting. While some performances were much shortened (they can run all night in the temples), the musicians and dancers remained deeply enthusiastic about their craft, and delighted to talk to interested audience members afterward. ARMA may be the best first stop for visitors interested in understanding Balinese culture more deeply.

The resort is set in a tropical garden alongside a stream, designed to mimic some of the ancient water temples in the nearby hills (arrange a tour to some of the less-visited water temples if you can, particularly if there is a holiday!), with many fountains and excellent stone carvings. The deluxe rooms are clean, simple and spacious. The villas (we were upgraded for one memorable night) make you feel like a princess in some Hollywood tropical spectacle.

A few words of caution:

- Yes, there are bugs. You're in Bali. Get used to it, and bring mosquito repellant if they bother you.

- In the deluxe rooms, the windows don't open. The setting is quiet enough that we happily slept with the windows open in the cocoon of our mosquito net in the villa, and would have preferred the same in the deluxe room, with the air conditioner off.

- The staff is very engaging. Some may be put off by their pressure to take classes and tours, but we were grateful to have relented to their charms. Smile and politely decline if you want to be left alone.

- The prices are higher than elsewhere in Ubud, so if you want to save money, book elsewhere but take advantage of their open classes and performances.

- Their two onsite restaurants are good, but not excellent. We especially enjoyed walking into town and eating at Restaurant L'Nuriani (the best Balinese food and best service we found on our entire three weeks on the island, plus regular gamelan practice upstairs -- http://www.nuriani.com/) and Warung Enak (http://warungenakbali.com/index.html), also with great food and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sfurbanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Once or twice a year I come to Bali whether for a business or pleasure.
Yes, there are many beutiful places to stay in Bali especially in Ubud.
But ARMA Resort is a very special to me. Their mission and vision is beyond just a hotel to grab your cash.
I have met the owner Mr & Mrs Agung Rai, their family and manager Zanzan. Their hotel business not only to provide a job locally, but also to fund the art and cultural preservation through the children by providing them free dance and art school taught by master dancers.

The hotel rooms and bungalow are nesstled between forest. It is very private and peaceful. There is a great art museum inside of the property. You can see classical Balinese performences by women and children and Bali dance masters. Their quality is not just a show for tourist. They are fantastic!!!

If you can afford it, certainly I recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.3 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#34 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#68 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £52 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing