We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Cultural Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #101 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have just completed a four night stay in one of the family pool villas with our 3 children and were very happy with the experience. Staying over Xmas we were pleasantly surprised by receiving 2 baskets of baked Xmas goodies delivered to our room. The resort offered a special 10 course+ choice of Indonesian or Balinese Christmas menu at Kafe Arma which was delicious and tremendous value at 250000 IR per couple. The price made it feel like a gift from the resort and chef who personally oversaw it being served at our table.
The staff was attentive with a generous breakfast served in one of the two bali huts in the villa and the room cleaned daily. The outdoor bathroom in each room exceeded expectations with a large stone bath, outdoor shower indoor shower, fresh flowers, dressing table and then an indoor basin/ walk-in robe area.
There were a number of other little surprises I wont reveal. The shuttle arrangement was flexible and very comfortable.
The only negative point would be that these villas would not suit families with small children as there is no interconnection between the two rooms and you have to walk around the (beautiful) swimming pool to get into the other room which is not so easy at night or in the rain.
The five of us did a gamelen orchestra workshop which was enjoyable and my husband and children did a woodcarving workshop and produced some decent results in just 2 hours. I was sad that the length of our stay prevented us doing the cooking class and market tour. The free archeological tour exceeded expectations. We were stranded in torrential rain down a deep valley in one of the temples and our driver Made walked down in up to knee deep water to deliver us umbrellas.
The art gallery was excellent. We felt like we were staying in the grounds of a royal palace. The tarrif was expensive but felt like reasonable value for the unique experience that we had and I would recommend this as a good alternative to the usual 5 star hotel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

My partner and I were truly delighted with our 7-night rustic stay in Arma resort. The compound of the resort is huge as the founder/owner seems to have an avid interest in all aspects like art, farming. Though the resort is not located in central Ubud, the resort provides almost hourly shuttle service from Resort to Central Ubud and vice versa. The shuttle service provided for us was almost equivalent to a private pick-up and drop-off service. The resort has a lovely swimming pool, very well-maintained with pool towels provided. Afternoon tea is served at the poolside cafe from 4-6pm daily. There is also free wifi service at the poolside cafe. The staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this resort in Ubud!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SgJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

To begin with the positive, yes, the grounds of this hotel are stunning and the majority of the staff is friendly and polite. The dancing performances and the cultural activities at the Museum next to the hotel can be highly recommended.
However, in case you encounter a problem or any difficulties, don´t expect that anyone of the hotel management is interested in it. They simply don´t care!
In our case we have booked a family villa at a price of 490 US-$ per day. Unfortunately the bedrooms were in two separate villas (one bedroom in each villa) with no connection door in between. Since we travelled with kids, this was definitely not what we expected from a so-called family villa.
We asked for another villa, but the only thing they offered us was squeezing the four of us in one small bedroom but certainly without a refund.
What is more, there was a duck farm right behind the villa which caused a terrible noise beginning 2am in the morning. So, sleepless nights - what a holiday!
There was a construction site during the time of our stay, certainly we have not been informed about that when booking this hotel.
The villa itself was OK, but the wooden floor was broken, which was quite dangerous.
Breakfast was nothing more than OK and did not correspond to the price we have paid.
Certainly we complained immediately while we where there. However we were not allowed to see someone of the Managers in charge even though they were there, which we regard as extremely unbusinesslike and non-professional.
If you expect a well-run hotel with a high-quality service definitely go somewhere else! There are plenty of luxurious villas in Ubud where you get value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maharani303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agung_Rai, General Manager at Arma Museum & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

We are thanking you for your constructive comments and sincere apologies for inconveniences caused during your stay with ARMA Museum & Resort previously. With good way of communication such experiences would be able to handle accordingly.

We are under new management and we are improving all lines of our services and ensuring you that such accident will not occur in future.

If opportunities arise we would like to welcome you back to Bali and ARMA Museum & Resort and would like to serve you better.

Sincerely

Bagus Mustika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My wife & I spent 4 nights in Arma in the middle of our Honeymoon. We booked a deluxe room, but Arma very kindly offered us an upgrade to Pool Suite 101, which was stunning. It overlooked the Padi field, and was bordering on palatial. The pool was gorgeous, and the little design features like the stone monkey by the pool added such a traditional touch.

The hotel in general is expansive, but in a really good way. Filled with traditional architecture and design features, it really felt like we were staying in the 'real Bali'.

The shuttle bus into central Ubud was really helpful, and often they would go out of their way to take us if we needed. Ubud is a fantastic place, full of great little restaurants and life.

The staff were great, in particular i must mention Kadek (sp?) who picked us up from the airport and also took us on our day trip to the volcano & temples. He went out of his way to look after us on many occasions, and he alone made our stay so memorable. A true Balinese gentleman, such a nice guy.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robdjones83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at the ARMA resort for 4 nights in late September 2011. The room was spacious and overlooked a lovely pool. It was fine, except that the bathtub didn't drain quickly and there was construction across the walkway. The grounds are large and beautiful, with outdoor stages, statues, and ponds and water fountains. I especially enjoyed the included breakfast in the outdoor pavilion. It was a lovely setting, the breakfast was tasty and substantial, and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask whether there is any construction going on before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedtraveler3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Booked a 3 night stay at the Arma, Ubud, as a well earned rest at the end of a hectic 20 day Indonesia trip. We wanted piece, quiet and luxury. The Arma delivered!! The villa was private (with it's own garden,decking/patio and pool) extremely spacious, very comfortable and spotless.
The communal area's were set in the most beautiful gardens, with waterways, temples etc. and an army of very friendly staff to cater for your every need.
Breakfast was made to order and could be delivered to your suite if required.
I would also recommend their spa - a deep tissue massage in a salon overlooking surrounding paddy fields, topped off with a ginger tea was a real treat.
The Arma doesn't feel like any other hotel I have ever stayed in. Try it and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Opt for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripJunkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

If you can afford to splurge on the Villas, you will enjoy this place. If you can't afford the Villas, you will likely be dissapointed. We spent 3 nights in a Villa and loved everything about our stay. The grounds are beautiful, the Villas are huge, comfortable, chique and private. The only complaint with the Villas was the breakfast, it was limited in choice and not very tasty, the pastries were the worst ever. But having breakfast in the Villa setting almost makes up for it. We moved to hotel room the last night and couldn't believe this was the same resort. The hotel rooms are dark, outdated furniture, dirty sheets, dingy bathroom, don't think they've been touched since they were built in the 80's. So glad we upgraded to Villa. The resort is quite a long walk from Ubud center, we never tried this on foot, but the shuttle is pretty accomodating, they will charge $1 extra if you are off shuttle schedule, we were ok with that. We booked one of the performances which was very interesting, liked the museum as well, but it's the location, the grounds that are the star of this resort. Ubud is a wonderful place, highly recomend this trip.

Room Tip: Only Villa rooms are worth booking at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.3 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 197 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
1 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 197 in Ubud
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni
KajaNe Yangloni
#81 of 197 in Ubud
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#152 of 197 in Ubud
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#34 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#69 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#86 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £51 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing