We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arma Museum & Resort
Ranked #99 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Upgraded to a villa after plumbing problems in first room. Very luxe with vaulted ceiling, privite pool, option of outdoor shower beside pool with lush vegitation. But, animals living in bamboo ceiling repeatedly left droppings on bed. On site restaurants not good. There are much better dining options.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 weeks in Indonesia. Our first 4 days were in Ubud, and we booked the Arma Resort online. I saw several reviews on Trip Advisor saying the reservation system had caused problems, but we had no such problems.

You can definitely find places in Ubud for much less, BUT, this is a very nice property, and it is located very close to central Ubud. Don't think about walking to central Ubud from here. The resort provides a free shuttle, but if you're up for it, the way to go is to rent a motorbike (about $5 USD per day, and it costs about $1 USD to fill with gas).

We were picked up from the airport from the Arma staff, which went very smoothly after over 24 hours of travel time. It took a bit of time to check in, but the staff was very pleasant. Check the deals on the Arma website, we found a 4 nights for the price of 3 package, and that saved us some money (we stayed another 3 nights at the end of our trip, and if we had had another night available i could have done the 4 for the price of 3 again).

We had booked the "Superior Villa", which includes a private villa with private pool. When we arrived, we were told that there were no Superior Villas remaining...I was prepared to be disappointed, but was told that we were upgraded to the best Villa on the property at no extra cost. This Villa is also known as room #101. It is the nicest looking Villa that displays on their website, with a large private infinity pool, a very large villa with way more space than what would normally be needed by two people, and an outdoor hot tub. Breakfast is included, and if you order the night before, you can have it delivered to your room. Breakfast is very good. It was the only place I found in Bali where eggs where prepared the way I find them in America. The banana pancakes are also excellent.

As I mentioned, we spent 2 weeks in Indonesia, the first 4 days in Ubud, the next week on Lombok, and then the final 3 days in Ubud. We liked the Arma Resort so much that we made sure to stay the final 3 days there. When we were on Lombok we went for the $20-$50 per night accommodations, so staying at the Arma was a splurge, but worth it. As mentioned above, we stayed in the best Villa on the property, #101, our first 4 nights. When we returned to Ubud, we stayed 1 night in a deluxe bungalow, #803, and at about half the price of a Villa, it was very private and we would also recommend it. Our final two nights we stayed in a Superior Villa, #104, and it was excellent with a private pool.

The only real downsides were that #803 had a few bugs, and #104 had quite a few tiny bugs on the bed. I guess this is to be expected in a hot humid environment. Bug spray and zappers are provided, but it was interesting that we didn't really have any bug problems in #101, and just a few bugs in #803. I'm not sure why there were so many more bugs in #104.

This place really felt like home, the grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the rooms are very private. I would stay there again, unless someone were to point me to an equally comfortable accommodation at a better price. For the Superior Villas, we spent about $200 USD per night, so if you are on a tight budget you will want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms over 7 nights. #101 is the best in the place, but pricey. #803 (Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbay2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The resort shares a huge garden, rice paddy field and the river front compound with the Agung Rai Museum and Art Gallery (ARMA) - admission for all hotel guests is free. Upon arrival, the hotel lobby did not appear to be that impressive but upon check-in, we were led into a huge area with a gentle sound of running stream towards the rooms and villas. The rooms are very spacious, well-furnished except with no wifi or television, which is fine, one ought to get close to nature in the spiritual town of Ubud. While the hotel is 15 minutes by foot to the Monkey Forest Road and the centre of town where the bars and restaurants are, the hotel provides shuttle service to ferry people to and fro town. All there is to do is to call the hotel before hand.

The breakfast is somewhat simple for the price of the hotel, with the choice of the cold buffet and cooked eggs etc. The people around the hotel were all very helpful and friendly and helped to organise onward transports.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We've stayed in Superior Villa - large area with a private pool. Really enjoyed. This hotel is traditional Balinese style, for those who is looking for it. Food in hotel, as well as Kokokan restaurant (Thai food) was good. Atmosphere is perfect, only hotel is a little bit old, however we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The initial view of this beautiful was ruined by their chaotic reservations system. We had reserved 2 rooms for 3 nights (4 of us travelling) via a travel agent in London. On arrival we were informed that even though 2 rooms were booked originally this was changed to 1 room. Even then they could only supply this 1 room for 2 nights and we would have to change rooms. Eventually we were found another room but this involved all of us changing rooms during our 3 day stay.

Beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds in the centre of Ubud, very romantic for honeymooners but perhaps not so suitable for families with teenage children. Would recommend long sleeves and trousers in the evening as some of our party got badly bitten by mossies.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arich64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Same as what I have previously reviewed about this hotel at agoda.com, this hotel was a disappointment in our trip. We stayed in this hotel for our last 2 nights in Bali, this was also the first hotel we've ever stayed in Ubud, we thought this might be a great stay in our 6-day trip in Bali, but we were wrong. During check-in we received warm welcome from the reception staff and we were served with hot tea, the garden was very beautiful (photos attached) that we were very impressed; but things began to go wrong since we arrived our room: 3 out of 5 dome lights in our room were not working; our bathroom had bad smell and the shower curtain had stains; the drain hole of the bathtub was somehow blocked and draining was very slow so we had to stand in a water filled bathtub to take our shower.... the phone in our room could not dial international numbers(yes we did follow the instructions on the service menu), local calls did work but not clear at all. We called the reception trying to explain the problems we had but the guy who picked up the call didn't even want to listen and simply told us that "he will tell his manager tomorrow", later until we left the hotel nobody had ever showed up or ever tried to assist us. Also, there was no WI-FI internet near the pool area as advertised, when we asked we were told the server was down, we then had to go to local internet cafe to make contact with our driver, another downside: there's no TV in our room, the guy from reception explained in our call that all rooms are without TV, but I did see some reviews that some rooms do have TV, again, I'm not sure about this since I've not stayed in any other rooms in this hotel. Breakfast was poor because there were only very few choices available, it shouldn't be even called as "buffet" in my opinion, after all, this is a $100+ hotel with 4-star standard. I believe all these problems could have been avoided if the hotel management ever tried to make some efforts to take care its guests, I mean, is that so hard to manage a small hotel with only 16 rooms in total? We have stayed in some cheaper 3.5-star hotels but rather had much better staying experiences than this one.

The biggest (and perhaps the only) advantage of this hotel is its beautiful garden, I can't say anything bad about it, it was really stunning, the garden is in fact an external part of the Arma Museum, you can walk to the museum from your hotel room and entry is free for the hotel guests.

Room Tip: Internet access is not available in individual rooms, the pool area does have free WI-Fi but check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

When you enter the grounds you really feel to be away from the busy heart of Ubud. The musuem with art and paintings is a nice place to wander around with the children and the waterfall, pool area and terraced views is magnificent. Would come back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#98 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#92 of 199 in Ubud
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arma Museum & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arma Museum & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | P.O. Box 9696, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#69 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#84 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £53 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arma Museum & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arma Museum & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arma Museum And Resort
Arma Museum Hotel Ubud
Arma Museum & Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing