We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this one a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Natura Resort and Spa
Ranked #110 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Booked two bedroom unit, AUD$280/night. Main B/room door lock flew apart on first opening, wardrobe doors fell off hitting guest in face. 4 people, 2 miss matched cups the only items supplied in Kitchen, had to make 3 request for toilet paper, breakfast cold & UN-eatable. Second night it rain and the roof leaked all over the bed in the main bedroom. Water system gets serviced about 0745 every morning so if you are half way thru shower.....STIFF.
A disgraceful facility that badly needs lots of maintenance and training for staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Supercatelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturaresortbali, Owner at Natura Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear sir,

Please note that the review posted on 6/21/2013 this is the same complaint that" Travellers 7166" , under a different mail address. we request it to be deleted. 
Thank you
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Sit on chair, enjoy a cup of coffee and beautiful panoramic view is make me happy today. So I decide to make a review about this villa. Of course, serene and natural. Identically with their name, "Natura". The view is stunning, overlooking a river (I don't know what its name) valley. There is a free shuttle service to Ubud center (just a few minutes from here). The employees are friendly. However, you have to be careful when stepping. The path was made from wood and I think it's easily damaged by humidity.

Room Tip: Choose villa 11 or 12. They have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked into this hotel for 5 nights and left after two nights. We have been coming to Bali every year for the past 32 years and on this occasion travelled with friends who were visiting Bali for the first time.
The resort is in a beautiful jungle setting but the rooms are in urgent need of renovation which was evident from the minute we entered into our two room villa with its own jacuzzi.
Our friends took the main bedroom and immediately had to have the lock repaired to the door as it was not operational. On our second day the door to the wardrobe of the second bedroom fell off hitting my wife in the face. Unfortunately the door could not be replaced as the frame had rotted and it and another door being held on by a piece of wire were removed.
Our breakfast on the first morning was stone cold (tiny piece of bacon, sausage and tomato) but the eggs were warm. We asked on numerous occasions for pool towels for use for the private jacuzzi but were advised just to use the bath towels provided. In the end we had to walk down to the pool and brought the towels up from there to use.
On two occasions whilst showering in the morning the water was turned off and we had to walk down to reception to get them to turn it back on.
The final straw came on the second night when it rained heavily and the main bedroom roof leaked so badly it saturated the bed and pillows making it unsuitable to sleep on. When we called Reception we were told that the Manager would be in at 9.0 am the following morning and to speak with her. Hardly the answer our friends were expecting.
We cannot understand how Tripadvisor has given this resort a four star rating for 2012 (Certificate displayed on wall leading to foyer) when it is clear that the resort is in dire need of renovation.
This is not a cheap Bali resort and we expected much more than what was received. We are mature travellers and have travelled all over the world as have our friends and this would rate as our worst experience ever in a hotel.
This would be a great place to stay as the setting is stunning BUT the Owner needs to spend some money to bring it back up to the standard befitting a four star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller7166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturaresortbali, Owner at Natura Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Warmest greetings from Natura resort and spa!

Dear traveller 7166,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Natura resort and spa to accommodate your holiday in Bali and taking time to write on Trip advisor.

We regret that your not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our sincere apology for any conveniences caused, we take all your points seriously although some comments are slightly exaggerated. We would have been glad to change your cold bacon if asked. Thanks the fresh juice, coffee, eggs, pastries were to your liking. On the roof leak we acknowledge it after a severe rain over Ubud that night, it was fixed the following morning. To be mentioned, that we have agreed to refund you the 3 remaining nights and that the villa you rented was for a family (parents/children) and not 2 adult couples.

However, we have noted all your points you mention on your review for our feedback and improvement.
Thank you

Best regards,
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Positive aspects: Bungalow terraces overlooking a gorgeous jungle canopy; great infinity-pool; cool geckos in and outside of the rooms (i miss my forest gecko that was in our room: he was sooo cute); good room-cleaning-team and front-desk-Crew; free wi-fi; good free shuttle service (the hotel is in a village outside Ubud).
Negative aspects: A lot of dirt (even cockroaches) falling down from the ceiling of the traditionally built houses; the frontside terrace-door and bathroom window didn't close well permitting insects to come in; the shower and one of the cold-water-tabs wasn't working properly; the staff at the restaurant was friendly, but lazy (nobody of the staff ever came to ask if we wanted a drink while we were down by the pool, even though there sometimes were about 6 people hanging around there) and they pretended to understand english (they asked a lot of questions and started lengthy discussions for nothing - in general the male staff members seemed to have a better school education than the female staff members, except for lady from the management, who was very competent); lousy choice of television channels; bad massages (the massage was painful and the towels they used were stinking so much i had to shower and wash my hair thoroughly afterwards); the air conditiong was down by the floor, so the air was stuffy in the evening (cold air staying on the floor and the hot air hovering above it); the price of 180 USD is totally exagerated, if you think of the low salaries of the employees in Bali. 120 USD would have been a fair Price (140 USD maybe, but not more).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenugreek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My hubby and I stayed for 2 nights, which for us was long enough! It is a gorgeous small resort, food is exceptional especially the breakfast! Staff are friendly. The views are amazing! It's a 10 min free shuttle into ubud. Not much happens in the resort tho, it'd be great for honeymooners or couples that just want to do nothing!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherines10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Natura for 4 nights in a room with stunning views of the jungle, private plunge pool, and large, comfortable accomodations. All you hear is the rushing river and jungle birds. Restaurant has wide open views of the jungle as well. Excellent breakfasts; rest of the menu is only passable, but the place is close enough to easily go into Upud for dinner via the free shuttle. Contrary to other reviews, we found the service excellent, rooms clean, and bed very comfortable. There are lots of steps down to the spa or the lap pool, but worth it if you want a relaxing (albeit a bit expensive by Upud standards) massage next to the river.

Room Tip: Villa 11 is very private and has great views of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lala T, Owner at Natura Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Natura resort. Thank you for your comments about the excellent breakfast, our shuttle, and the service from our staff.
We look forward to the pleasure of a return visit and to welcome you back to Natura resort soon.

Kind Regards

Lala and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Beautiful location. Staff were very helpful - although too keen to upsell our stay with tours etc. Would stay again simply for the view from our villa. No need to upgrade to Pool Villa as shared guest pool has a much better view and vibe.

Unfortunately we had issues with a very loud air conditioning unit and fan. Didn't use the resort spa because prices in Ubud centre were much cheaper.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EbV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#138 of 199 in Ubud
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#29 of 199 in Ubud
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#78 of 199 in Ubud
725 reviews
1 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
6.7 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#37 of 199 in Ubud
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natura Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Laplapan | Petulu Village, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#41 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#92 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £95 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Natura Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing a sliver of the Petanu River 's tumbling journey towards the sea, the Natura Resort & Spa is a sanctuary for the senses. Fourteen luxury villas designed by Bali's prominent local architect Popo Danes enhance the beauty of the site. Access is through the traditional village of Laplapan, just 3 km from the center of Ubud. Snugly fitted amongst the foliage of the native trees, all villas are oriented to face the sunset with spectacular views over the Petanu river valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Natura Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Hotel Ubud
Natura Resort Ubud
Natura Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing