We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Natura Resort and Spa
Ranked #102 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We came here because (1) we got a rave recommendation from a friend, and (2) it was the off-season and we got a really, really good room rate - 4-star accommodation at a 2-star price. We usually don't get to stay in hotels/resorts this nice.

The negatives (none a deal-breaker): (1) our first room, which was excellent, sprang a leak in its roof during a torrential downpour midway through our stay, and we had to hastily transfer to a second that for some reason just didn't seem quite as nice. (2) Since it was the off-season, for several of the 5 days we were there we were the sole guests - breakfast arrived within a few minutes each morning; when other guests were present, the kitchen seemed to have difficulties coping, and it took up to 30 minutes for a somewhat simple meal. Presumably more efficient during peak season. (3) In one sense, the location was excellent - on the side of a river valley, looking out over jungle, a sense of remote isolation. The jungle even had monkeys! On the other hand, it's 3 kilometers from central Ubud, and walking or biking is out of the question due to road and traffic conditions. Thus, can't just casually walk into town, but a shuttle runs regularly enough so that it's not really a big deal.

Otherwise, the staff was courteous and helpful in typical Balinese fashion, and we had no complaints of real substance. Really enjoyed having our personal plunge pool. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    109
    38
    10
    17
See reviews for
62
241
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Natura Resort & Spa is the ideal place to relax &experience pure nature in an luxurious hotel environment. The bungalows with own individual pool ensure absolute privacy.Even at the main pool it is never too crowded and impression of privacy almost the same as at the bungalow.
Fantastic and relaxing is the professional treatment at the the Spa.It is always worth to take the more than 125 steps down to the river where the Spa bungalows and pool are located.The noise of the flowing water and the fresh air give the feeling to stay for hours and hours.
From the open restaurant there is the same fantastic view like from the bungalow & the quite atmosphere make the meals with it's very good quality most enjoyable.
Those who want to explore Ubud & surrounding,the hotel offers free shuttle which is a very convenient service.The same very good service can be experience with the staff everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

If people ask me which hotel i enjoy the most, i will definitely respond its Natura hotel. What a relaxing serene resort! We tried other hotel as well around bali ubud, but this one have special thing that other resort doesnt have, originality of the back to nature concept! But still room are huge, comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The staff are friendly and warm. Read the comment before me, i had no problem with the staff, nor my belonging.
It was our 4th time stays in this resort, we have no complain but full bliss!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes Water
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We had no problems with anything. We were treated like royalty by wonderful staff. Natura is just out of town and is perfect for those who appreciate natural surroundings, ambience and a remoteness you cannot enjoy closer to town. The shuttles into town are regular and sufficient. For those wanting to party, it costs about $7 for a cab after 10pm. The drive is 10 mins and is nothing.
There are 14 villas strategically located to maximise privacy, and the resort is cleverly built down the side of a hill with the lap pool at the bottom near the river. Don't forget to take goggles if you ara a lapper. The monkeys play beside the river just below the pool.
We dined at the restaurant several times and enjoyed every meal, and found the prices very good when you consider what resorts are in the habit of charging.
We would definitely recommend the Natura for those looking for something special. Older travellers can certainly take advantage of quieter moments outside of high season and there is an cooking class
just 100 metres down the road.
We are not disclosing the room number we stayed in at the risk of it becoming popular and not being vacant when we come back.
Thanks Marzuki, Indrawata, Arga, Niko and everyone else. Sorry we couldn't make it to the festival.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed here with 2 families and on our day of departure we packed and left valuables and luggage in our room then went for breakfast. On our return found the porters had removed our luggage to foyer and staff were cleaning the room, without my approval or request and it was not check out time! I was concerned about my luggage including Duty free Dior perfume unopened and was told it was with my luggage, I later discovered that it was missing along with my friends IPhone, despite many phone calls this was not returned. please be wary of staying here, hold on to all your goods especially at departure time, they are certainly not trustworthy!!!! I advised them that I would review them this way so this will not come as a surprise to them! Also experienced bad attack of bed bugs here!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We spent 5 nights at this hotel following 10 days at a beach location. The hotel is balanced on a steep rainforested river valley, with 14 'villas' at different levels. Our villa had a large balcony on stilts jutting out into the forest canopy with views straight down to the river. The rooms are extremely spacious, with rainforest views from a bathtub set within fold-back windows and a huge four poster bed. The villas are traditionally constructed with a thatched roof, so you can expect visits from small lizards, but the canopy style mosquito net separates you from any wildlife at night!
The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Ubud, and there are 10 courtesy buses to and from the town each day.
The staff were very friendly and efficient at breakfast. We mentioned that we had some trouble with electrical items in our room following a power cut the previous evening, and these had been dealt with by the time we returned to the villa. The electrician had even waited for us to check that we were happy that everything now worked.
Our arrival at the hotel coincided with one of the intermittent tropical downpours. Arga, who was on reception at the time was obviously anxious that we should not be disappointed with our choice of location and spent a lot of time showing us the facilities and answering our questions about the area. He continued to be very helpful for the rest of our stay, suggesting places of interest for us to visit which didn't appear in the guide book and booking cars for us at competetive rates.
We didn't think when we booked this holiday that we would ever return to Bali as it is such a long journey, but the Natura resort has made it hard for us to stay away!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldRoamersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

So let's start with the positive. I had noticed that on Wot if they were advertising the same rate as the hotel with the promise of an upgrade where available. I asked if they would do the same if we booked direct and they agreed and when I checked nearer the time we were upgraded to the luxury pool villa which was a lovely surprise. The booking staff were incredibly friendly and efficient and replied to my emails very promptly. Overall I had a nice time and after some haggling we were allowed a late check out too (they moved us to another villa where unfortunately they then had a power but so no water or electricity - the hotel said it was a tree down but the taxi driver said it was scheduled maintainance). The setting is lovely, very peaceful and relaxing. However there were a few disappointments. The 24 hour shuttle bus to Ubud is not 24 hour and only goes until 10pm at night and not that regularly. This wasn't a problem for us but it was one of the reasons I choose this hotel over a couple of others. The food at the restaurant is not great and as they were only half full it's not like they were rushed off their feet. The sheets and towels were stained quite badly and I had to ask for them to get fresh ones which weren't much better (I have no doubt they were washed but they needed to get some bleach out). The plunge pool and the infinity pool were a bit grubby with white algae stuff floating in it (and not just a few bits). I loved that it was very rustic and quite basic but if they spruced things up a bit it could be really amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marni1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.2 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.4 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#44 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Sunia Resort
Puri Sunia Resort
#38 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natura Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Resort and Spa

Property: Natura Resort and Spa
Address: Banjar Laplapan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#38 Family Hotel in Ubud
#41 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#65 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Natura Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing a sliver of the Petanu River 's tumbling journey towards the sea, the Natura Resort & Spa is a sanctuary for the senses. Fourteen luxury villas designed by Bali's prominent local architect Popo Danes enhance the beauty of the site. Access is through the traditional village of Laplapan, just 3 km from the center of Ubud. Snugly fitted amongst the foliage of the native trees, all villas are oriented to face the sunset with spectacular views over the Petanu river valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Natura Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Hotel Ubud
Natura Resort Ubud
Natura Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing