We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel. I would stay again.”
Review of Bumi Ubud Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bumi Ubud Resort
Ranked #160 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed in Bumi Ubud Resort for 3 nights. The room was large and the bed was clean comfortable. Staff were friendly. The hotel is located 10 min drive away from Ubud centre. The hotel driver was happy to drop-off & pick-up from Hotel/Ubud Centre anytime I needed. The good breakfast was served at the restaurant every moring. The view from the restaurant was amazing. The pool was clean. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tas7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

My two girlfriends and I were intrigued by the beautiful photos of this resort and the poor reviews so we took a chance and booked in for 2 nights. The setting of this small balinese style resort is second to none. The photos of the pool and restaurant overlooking the rice paddy fields are true and exquisite. The staff were helpful and ferried us the 10 km to Ubud whenever we wanted. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and very private as they were enclosed in their own garden. We were delighted to stay there however I can understand why some travellers wrote disparaging reviews as there is a slight feeling of neglect and a handiman is needed to fix eg shower heads, cupboards that don't close etc. To us this was minor as the setting was so beautiful. The beds were comfortable, linen was good, breakfast was most adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked this hotel the day before we were due to arrive on late rooms. What a mistake!! The room was dirty, the sheets and mosquito net were stained. The door to the bathroom was broken, and the rest of the room was tired and worn. We went to the restuarant for dinner, but it was shut! We later found out there were only 3 other guests staying so they clearly couldn't be bothered to open it up. We were woken up very early by building work on the next door villa. The people working here were very strange - we felt extremely uncomfortable. We went to the very beautiful looking pool the next morning, but once we looked closer it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time so at this point we decided to leave early. The plus point the receptionist was very nice, they refunded us for the rest of our stay and were very apologetic. This hotel is definitely not worth the 50 pounds they charge. On a plus note, this could be a very lovely hotel - all they need to do is to clean, and fix up the issues above. But don't stay here anytime soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I had a wonderful 4 night stay at this resort. The resort has kept it's traditional Balinese feel in terms of the accommodation and ambience which adds to the experience. The location is so beautiful and peaceful, the restaurant and infinity pool overlook rice paddies and rainforest. The resort is away from the hustle and bustle that can be the centre of Ubud. It is only about a 15-20 min drive from Ubud town depending on traffic and the staff will drive you there free of charge anytime you want commencing from 11am. The staff are very friendly, helpful and always on call and while they may speak limited english (apart from the assistant manager Gustut who speaks almost fluent) you can get by and is all part of the experience. If you're lucky you can even get some personal tours with members of staff. I went to an art market in a nearby village that most tourists would never know about, but where you can pick up some great gifts and souvenirs at a fraction of the price you would pay in Ubud town. Also, do take up the traditional market and rice paddy tours on offer as this was a lot of fun and make sure Agung is your guide! The villas are not super luxurious but clean, quiet and comfortable and with ample space. Breakfast and all meals were delicious. Generally speaking it is a modest type resort but the staff, the ambience and the magnificent pool and views of the place make you feel like you're in a 5 star! I have recommended this place to my family and friends and can't wait to go back! Make sure you email the resort prior to your arrival to organise a transfer which was very efficient.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Alamanda villa which was big and clean and had an enormous king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Booked three hotels recently through Wotif and one of them was the Bumi Ubud Resort. For a start it is not in Ubud. It is 15 minutes drive out of Ubud. My brother and I booked it for 2 nights but left after 1 night when they tried charge us for something that shouldn't have attracted a charge. Not surprisingly we were the only guests. Basically it is a losman with a swimming pool. On the upside it is very quiet and has a nice view over some rice fields but it is a crumbling ruin and definitely not worth US$70 a night.

Alan Wells Western Australia

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Apal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The crystal clear infinity pool is stunning!! and the restaurant serves up tasty food. Make sure you wake up early to see views of the volcano before the cloud cover decends. This can be seen just to the left of breathtaking views of rice paddys. The manager of the hotel (Dewa) is a lovely person and an excellent guide. He speaks fantastic english and I highly recommend a day or half day out and about in the countryside with him. The hotel is a little bit out of Ubud town but someone is always available to drive you in and pick you up when you are ready to return. Its worth being out of town a bit for the better views and fresher air. I found the staff at the hotel very friendly, helpful and attentive. The only negative things I can find to say are that the bathrooms were very average in appearance (however they were large and there was plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure). I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolllyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Very quiet location, away from centre of Ubud. While this may to some appear to be a negative, for our purposes it was a distinct positive, particulary seeing as transport service allowed for drop off and pick up from Ubud town as required! Staff were fantastic, particularly assistant manager! Almost felt like we were invited guests rather than anything else! Nothing was too much trouble! Accommodation provided in individual cottages, surrounded by high walls to maintain privacy. Outlook from pool/restaurant area fantastic, across rice paddies. Assistant Manager even takes guests for a morning walk though paddies and nearby village to give a feeling for local life. Learned a lot about village living and culture which we would not have experienced had we been staying in central Ubud. If you are after a nice, quiet, relaxing place which is still close to the centre of Ubud, and are keen to experience Bali (rather than just taking advantage of the amenities which have been provided for tourists) then this place is for you! Down side would be that, in comparison to other places we stayed, the price of the accommodation was maybe on the higher end of the scale. Even considering that, I was more sad to leave the Bumi than I was leaving any other resort in which we stayed!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheOracleofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.1 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#121 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#114 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#116 of 199 in Ubud
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
3.7 mi away
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
#129 of 199 in Ubud
241 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
#135 of 199 in Ubud
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ubud Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ubud Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Lod Tunduh no. 88, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £28 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumi Ubud Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bumi Ubud Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bumi Ubud Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing