We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, But. . .”
Review of Bumi Ubud Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bumi Ubud Resort
Ranked #144 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, But. . .”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked three nights at Bumi Ubud via Agoda and I really enjoyed the stay. We were welcomed and shown to the two private villas that my group was using. The manager came and introduced himself to me, knowing my name which was quite impressive but he also informed me that for the third night we would be moved to their sister hotel, the Bhuwana Hotel Ubud. This was because Agoda and Bumi Ubud weren't entirely on the same page regarding room availability. Although everything was fine and I really enjoyed Bhuwana, it would have been nice to have been informed of this before arrival.

The grounds and villas appear to be quite lovely with great plants (and occasional small wildlife) making for a great experience. The best part is definitely the restaurant and pool that look out over the rice fields. Unfortunately there could be a bit of work done on the rooms themselves. The villas are quite large but it'd be nice to have a couple couches or chairs besides the dining table to sit at. Also cicaks and moths were very easily able to infiltrate the rooms. I went back to my room one night to find tons of bugs all over the lamps and so I actually did use the mosquito netting on the bed. Perhaps the biggest problem came when the lights, AC and some other parts (but not all) of the power in my brother's villa went out. Maintenance was able to fix it but it was probably two hours without power. The wi-fi is basically only available at reception.

Although the hard-product could use some improvement the service was fantastic! Everybody was friendly especially with my infant nephew and they offered to hold and take care of him often. Although there is a standard schedule for getting into Ubud, the staff can drive you in and pick you up nearly anytime which was great on our tight schedule. The staff were able to switch my brother's room from one with two twins to a king room although it took some time to get the key and move luggage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inyoman99, Manajer at Bumi Ubud Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Mr matthew
Warmest greeting from bumi ubud resort
Thank you for visiting bumi ubud resort and taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor
We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during you stay with us, and hope you would be back for the next vacation to bumi ubud resort
One again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to bumi ubud resort
Best regard
Nyoman and team bumi ubud resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    31
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Illawarra
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is an amazing escape from the hustle and bustle. Staff are friendly and helpful. Free shuttle bus to take you into Ubud ( just 10 mins away) Villas are roomy and comfortable and the pool area is divine looking over the rice fields. Meals at the restaurant are delicious and great price. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidget007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inyoman99, Manager at Bumi Ubud Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear : Gidget007
Greeting from Bumi ubud resort
Thank you for visiting Bumi Ubud resort and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, view, food and services.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bumi ubud Resort

Best Regards,
Nyoman and Bumi ubud Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Though Ubud is a busy township this hotel is situated about 30 minutes away from the town and surrounded by paddy fields right round. The restaurant has a view of the pool and opens up to the paddy fields, real eye soothing scenery. The villas are separated from each other and surrounded by a wall. You have full privacy in your villa, like your home. The villas are large and clean, The toilets are clean. The compound of the villa is all for yourself, and a separate hut is therefore relaxation in the open. Nothing to complain about the food. You can stroll along paddy fields, and along banks of irrigation canals for hours, and meeting the real village folk. I was there for four days and on each day manged to walk for hours on different directions, and each day similarly interesting.

Room Tip: Some villas are with twin beds and some with a single king size beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inyoman99, Manager at Bumi Ubud Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear : Mr Giri
Warmest regard from Bumi ubud Resort
First of all would you like to thanks you for stay at Bumi Ubud Resort here with would like to response your positive comment to make a better service at Bumi ubud Resort and for the free trekking activity is daily in the morning
One again thank you for your reviewed and would like to serve you better in the future
Best Regard
Nyoman & Bumi ubud resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Book the deluxe room ( Villa Heliconia ) with the garden view. You will have a beautifull view over typical indonesian gardens, big beautifull room with the concept natural village . the resort has very nice garden with out door swimming pools. The rice fields view in front of the pool , Staff is helpfull in everything and very kind. Location just 05 minutes drive from the resort to ubud center with free shuttle bus any time start ( 10 : 00 am – 23 : 00 pm ) and big garden ( extensive field such as golf courses )

We had a very pleasant stay and we recommend this place to anyone who want's to spend a couple of days in Ubud!( traditional village experience )

Room Tip: ""Villa in the middle is better close to the pool and to the lobby ""
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tirta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inyoman99, Manager at Bumi Ubud Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear : Tirta M
Greeting from Bumi ubud resort
Thank you for visiting Bumi Ubud resort and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, view, food and services.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bumi ubud Resort

Best Regards,
Bumi ubud Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here as a group of three in November. When we arrived we thought the hotel looked amazing as each room is a lovely little bungalow with four poster beds. It is lovely and very quiet/relaxing/dead. It turned out we were the only people staying there and while the staff were friendly, we weren't very comfortable as it was such a lonely place. We had problems with the air con the first night and were moved without any problems. However our male friend had to leave a day earlier than us and we cancelled our reservation for the third night as didn't feel safe as two girls alone. Don't stay here if you're not a fan of insects etc, we had a sleepless night due to a huge spider in our room but I accept that can happen anywhere and had nothing to do with the hotel. Nice place but wouldn't recommend it to females travelling alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lol1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inyoman99, Manager at Bumi Ubud Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear : Lol1117
Greeting from Bumi ubud Resort
Thanks you for visiting Bumi ubud resort and taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor
Take note : thank you for your review and would like to serve you better in the future, During your next visit, perhaps you can try our honeymoon package at Deluxe Heliconia Villa
we are Appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bumi Ubud Resort
Best Regard
Nyoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

When we first reached the hotel, we were quite hesitant because the hotel seems very quiet. It looked like it was abandoned. But after meeting the staff, we were brought to our room and it was big. The bed was comfortable, the toilet is huge with hot water and hair dryer. There is also a verandah to relax and chill.

The daily breakfast was simple and good. 3 choices of American, continental and Indonesian breakfast. Our room was made up everyday. The service was excellent. I don't mind staying there again as it is quiet and not in the hustle of Ubud town centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inyoman99, Manager at Bumi Ubud Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Nashrique
Thank you for visiting Bumi ubud resort and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Bumi ubud resort is open to welcome travellers looking to experience the village of Ubud and at the villa There is also a private balcony at room providing extra space to sit and relax.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bumi ubud Resort
Regard
Nyoman and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great hotel With the best view .. Quite place.. Make us relaxs from our daily activities.. Friendly staff.. Will full recomend to others
Make me falling love With Bali island.. And i Will stay again in this hotel When i am coming back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3ndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#136 of 198 in Ubud
39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
2.9 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#109 of 198 in Ubud
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#95 of 198 in Ubud
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#112 of 198 in Ubud
268 reviews
5.5 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#107 of 198 in Ubud
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ubud Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ubud Resort

Property: Bumi Ubud Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Lod Tunduh no. 88, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumi Ubud Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bumi Ubud Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bumi Ubud Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing