We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Penny Villas Ubud
Ranked #28 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the bottom villas with an uninterrupted view of the rice fields and Ayung River. We were extremely well looked after by all the staff, who greeted us each day by our first names and ensured everything that we required was catered for. Tours and shuttle services were also organised with ease.

We were afforded the privacy that such a resort embodies, and appreciated the additional assistance provided by the staff when our luggage did not arrive from Australia. The in-house breakfast is wonderfully opulent and varied - the homemade juices are devine! The dinner menu is also quite good. The only issues with room service is that all meals are made for one delivery, so order seperately if you want starters and mains. The cocktail menu is simple but the mojitos are fabulous, especially the ginger mojito.

The reception is 24hr with additional security staff after hours as well. Even with our late arrival to the resort the staff were as welcoming as always, walking us to our villa and providing an overview of the amenities. If you do want an airport shuttle ensure you have appropriate confirmation from the resort staff as our shuttle wasn't waiting for us at the airport, but for us this was not a huge issue and a Blue-taxi was about 100,000Rp less.

Lovely resort, would definately go back!

Room Tip: Villas down the bottom of the resort (namely, 9 & 10) are completely unseen from the hotel resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    47
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
165
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Its a brand new place very nice. Two of the 10 privat pools ar not realy privat because you can see it from de restaurant. I had a duck for dinner and it was not realy good just very expensive. I def would go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

One of the best places we've picked in Bali. Stunning view out of a room or villa as they call it. Each villa has a cute private pool looking out to the untamed jungle forests. Fantastic! The room is spacious and very nice, specifically bathroom which is designed so that you feel almost in the open air, but surely is a part of interior. Located a bit out of center Ubud, this place offers more than just an ordinary stay in Bali. This is how you actually picture Bali in your mind before coming here. The only obstacle we had is that the villas are not easy to find especially when it is getting dark. The sign of the hotel is extremely hard to notice and we took the road three times until we saw a very unnoticeable sign saying Black Penny. Once we got there, we forgot straight away we had any trouble finding. There is also a temple not far from the hotel, and every evening there are Balinese traditional music performances and Balinese dances - all that adds to the whole atmosphere!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katmistinguette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This place embodies what we could only dream of! Absolutely stunning, not a single detail left out. The facilities are A1 the pool is amazing, and the views are to die for! Only about 5-10 mins to Ubud so a great location, hire a scooter or just taxi in for less than $5AUD. The service was great, an extensive list of foxtel channels, not that you need it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Teneille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My sir found Black Penny Villas while researching our trip. It was still in soft opening and without reviews to go on, we weren't sure what to expect. It took us a while to find it as there were lots of busses and taxis on the road out front and we drove past it. When we turned down the tiniest of lanes (more like an alley) and got to the parking and drop off area, we knew we'd struck gold. The view was the perfect combo of lush jungle and rice paddies. Mountains are visible beyond and at the bottom is a rushing river.
We were brought to our room and found the view equally impressive and more so than the lobby as there was nothing obstructing our view of the landscape ( villas 9&10 have the best views IMO).
The villa was gorgeous: beautiful wood floors, lovely carved doors, sliding glass doors looking out towards the jungle on the mountainside across and our very own private infinity pool! Our jaws dropped when we got in.
We loved every minute in our villa which was peaceful and serene.
If you are looking for a beautiful view and a romantic place to stay, this is it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were just completely blown away by the awesomeness of this place. The beautiful wooden coverings inside the room, the outdoor bath, the infinity pool overlooking the tropical wilderness and rice paddies, is something that comes close to being called paradise on earth. And if you fancy rafting, you can just walk down to the river past the rice paddies to join a rafting crew that the hotel provides. I was initially booked to another villa before they informed us late that they were fullly booked that day, and had us moved to blackpenny. And what a great find it turns out to be!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Penny V V, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Ignous,

A warmest greeting from Black Penny Villa Ubud - Bali.

I am really feeling overwhelmed with your review and thank you for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor.

The most important element is that you had a memorable Black Penny Villa Ubud surrounded experience and we greatly appreciate on your overall compliments regarding to us.

I sincerely hope you would return and look forward to the time I can welcome you back.

with warm regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This a true couples get away resort , private pool overlooking rice paddies and jungle, there's even a temple right out front, at night when lite with oil lamps it looks like something out of an Indian jones movie , we went to the Barong play/dance , it was amazing just us and the village children,,, much better then the crowed proformances in central Ubud, it's a 3 kilometre trip from the centre of town there's a twice daily complementary van trip or you can taxi in,,

Room Tip: The rooms are in rows of 3 looking out towards the jungle ,there terraced quite steeply so you look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Penny V V, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear George M,

Thank you for your precious time to post such a valuable review on Trip Advisor.

It is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you was truly impressed with the dance performance and the view.

Your comments are important to us as we continue to refine the level of service we extend to our guests. We greatly appreciated your comments and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

with best regards,
management of Black Penny Villa - Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Ubud Padi Villas
Ubud Padi Villas
#20 of 526 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Goya Boutique Resort
Goya Boutique Resort
#33 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Penny Villas Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Penny Villas Ubud

Property: Black Penny Villas Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the island with well trained staff happy to cater for your every need bringing you complete privacy and seclusion making the perfect holiday. We serve tasty food, cold drinks with nice atmosphere, fun music, friendly staff and excellent service. Offered very wide selection of great International cuisine and Seafood to an exotic authentic cuisine to pampering your self into delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Penny Villas Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Penny Villas Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing