We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Views and Serene Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Penny Villas Ubud
Ranked #32 of 599 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Black Penny was the second stop for my wife and I on our 2.5 week honeymoon in Bali. As a recently built property, there was limited information available about the villas, so our expectations were tempered. Needless to say, we were blown away. The rooms were simple and quaint, the views were fantastic, and the value was exceptional. The hotel only has 10 villas, which sit directly above the Ayung River, with spectacular views of the river (depending on where your vila sits) and the surrounding jungle/forest/greenery. The rooms are basic, with a unique washroom concept, located in the outdoors (which is mostly sheltered, although water does seep in a bit if it rains). Each room also has a private infinity pool (unheated) with tremendous views of the valley below; it's easy to spend a day soaking in the scenery. There is also a direct route down to the Ayung River (through the rice fields) from the hotel - only a 7 min walk. The staff are always friendly and hospitable, and eager to make your stay enjoyable. The villas are about 15-20 min from Ubud Centre, with shuttles running relatively infrequently (a taxi only costs 50-60k IDR). Being a small (and new) hotel, it doesn't have all the resources and amenities of a larger resort - but (if the message wasn't clear already) the view is unforgettable!

Room Tip: The villas are numbered 1-10. The best villas are those at the bottom of the resort (8-10), which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David_Cohen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear David Cohen, Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villa Ubud. We would like to thank you for your compliments. we glad that you enjoyed your staying with us here. We will share it to all staff members. We will keep our best to maintain and improve our products and services to welcoming you back at our villa in near future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Whilst the view is spectacular the room I was given was anything but peaceful...right below the restaurant with constant walking and chairs scraping. When I called reception they advised the supervisor had left for the day and they would write up a report. Staff also very noisy walking past outside room but think it's due to the location of villa number one. Would gladly climb some stairs to be able to enjoy some tranquility.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapas1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Tapas, thank you for your review and we do apologize when you were disturbed by noise from upstairs while some activities were done in the restaurant, but we committed to provide a better and fast service for all our customers, so the problem could be solved immediately. we do hope can serve you back at Black Penny Villa Ubud Bali in near future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even though we only stayed for one night, we really enjoyed our short stay at Black Penny. The villas are well arranged so that every one of them can see the magnificent view over Ayung river and its hills. Room is huge with private pool (not suitable for toddler), outdoor bathroom, and comfortable bed. They also provide free minibar for guest. Breakfast is served in lobby with choice of nasi goreng or American style breakfast. Everyone at the hotels really served the guest very well and we are well satisfied with the staffs there. This resort is perfect for couples for romantic getaway but it's not good choice for elderly people because you have to climb steep stairs to reach the lobby. I suggest elderly to note the hotel to provide room near the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mr/s. Ucartech, we would like to thank you for your staying with us and our great thanks for your compliments. We will share its with all staff members and we are sure that they will be very happy to hear it. We committed to keep doing our best for maintaining and improving the potential of Black Penny Villas to welcoming you return in near future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

y husband and I stayed at the Black Penny Villas as the last stop on our honeymoon. The villas are gorgeous and romantic with very friendly and attentive staff. We stayed in villa 6 with views of he river and the jungle. I would recommend paying a bit extra for views that include the rice fields. The scenic views, tropical birds, butterflies and geckos can be enjoyed while laying poolside at your villa. The food is very good, both Indonesian and Western offerings. The breakfast is very fresh and yummy. You are served more then enough by the very friendly dinning room staff. We also enjoyed room service which was very speedy. The Villa offers a free shuttle four times a day into Ubud and will drop you anywhere along the route. I recommend heading into the village in the early morning and returning early afternoon to the villas to enjoy complimentary afternoon tea by the pool, sun tanning and finally a gorgeous sunset views. We also walked down the stairs to admire the working rice fields, the river with happy rafters and local children bathing as well as two Balinese temples. We very much enjoyed this retreat, with beautiful views, tranquil surroundings and very friendly staff. Thank you to the Black Penny Villa staff.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and stay in Villa 9 or 10! Views of rice fields, river and jungle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Kristin, Thank you for your compliments. We also very happy to know you enjoyed your staying with us at Black Penny Villas Ubud. As you knew we committed to keep our best in improving our products and services. We have been doing some upgrading for our bathroom floor, amenities to support the stunning view from our villas. We are sure that we will have chances back to welcoming your return to Black Penny Villas Ubud in future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just stayed at Black Penny a couple of days back with my family, 13 of us in total, occupying 6 out of 9 of the villas. All the villas looked new and fresh, as they just started operation last year. The villas are tidy and well appointed with good amenities. Considering the price paid, it is certainly value-for-money! I stayed in Villa 10, which has one of the best view of the plantation and river valley. Lazing in the pool and enjoying the serenity of the surrounding are my most relaxing moments in Ubud!

Even though we travelled in a big group, we never had issue with transportation. The resort were flexible in arranging the transport and the staff even went the extra mile to help us make restaurant booking. Special thanks to Mr Dewa and his team for making our stay at Black Penny so comfortable and enjoyable!

We look forward to staying at your resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singapore_kse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sin Ee, thank you for your review and compliments. We also happy to know that all of you were enjoyed the time during staying at Black Penny Villa Ubud. Our pleasure was able to make arrangement for your group. We always keep our best to improve our products and service to welcoming you back to our villa in near future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

adorable place! once of rare that looks even better then on photos! would recommend for couples and honeymooners:)
unique experience and great value for money!
close to Ubud but still in very quiet zone, with stunning view on forest and rice fields. river is just below the vila's and there is a temple in front of Villas which gives this aria some special note...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Marija, We would like to express our thank you for your review. We glad that you were happy during your special time at Black Penny Villa Ubud, Bali. We wish able to escort to down along the rice field and explore the Kedewatan village to see the Balinese people living in their culture. Hope we can shoe more of Bali when you will return to Black Penny Villa Ubud in near future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just finished four nights here. The villas are beautiful. The view into the river valley is incredible, and most villas offer complete privacy. They're not fooling around when it comes to the scenery: Four Seasons and Amandari are the neighboring properties, so you're in excellent company for a fraction of the price. The staff definitely aims to please, and smiles are everywhere. The restaurant is excellent -- breakfast is fantastic, with an assortment of offerings to suit just about anybody. We enjoyed lunch and dinner as well.

The lower villas (7-10) offer probably the most privacy and the best views, but beware: the steps are not for the faint of heart. Take a walk down to the river and through the rice paddy. It's just beautiful. Overall, the hotel offers a tremendous value. The property is several minutes from downtown ubud -- and while the hotel provides four shuttles to/from town each day, you may likely still find yourself needing to catch a taxi back -- Luckily, it's easy to find a taxi for $5 or less.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2367WQdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear David, thank you for your compliments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your staying with us at Black Penny Villa Ubud. We will share it with all of staff members. We are keeping our best to ensure we can make improvements of our service and products to welcoming your return to our villa in near future.
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,412 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
724 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Penny Villas Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Penny Villas Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 599 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £145 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Penny Villas Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the island with well trained staff happy to cater for your every need bringing you complete privacy and seclusion making the perfect holiday. We serve tasty food, cold drinks with nice atmosphere, fun music, friendly staff and excellent service. Offered very wide selection of great International cuisine and Seafood to an exotic authentic cuisine to pampering your self into delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ctrip TA so you can book your Black Penny Villas Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Penny Villas Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing