We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but new construction next door not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud
Ranked #70 of 639 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, booked online sight unseen, gotta good price around Au$40 a night.

Welcoming staff, fruit drink on arrival.
Got a standard room right down the back - room was a good size, reasonably new looking with some wear & tear, not grotty tho. Aircon & tv work well, however there are only Bahasa Indonesia channels, so brush up if you need your tv fix.
There is a bar fridge & kettle etc for tea & coffee, & a hair dryer, I never used them so can't comment on functionality.

The bathroom is separated from the rest of the room by a glass wall - I was on my own, but it might be somewhat disconcerting for others - there are curtains that can be pulled across if you don't want your room mate watching you on the toilet.
There is nowhere to hang any clothing, not even a hook anywhere. I just used the 2 chairs to drape things.

The pool is small but tidy, and welcome after a hot day out.
Breakfast needs to be ordered the night before, specifying the time you want it, & options are limited, no buffet.
Breakfast is the only meal available, you have to venture out for everything else, but there are several restaurants and a large supermarket within a 5 minute walk.

All in all, a nice tidy place.
HOWEVER, the construction of the 4 storey place next door is a problem now & in the future.
Now, because they start up the angle grinders at about 0730, if the noise doesn't get to you, the smell will. As they are just putting the frame up now, I expect building noise to be constant for the next few months at least.

In the future, because most of the rooms only have windows, or in my case, French doors, on that side. Once that building goes up, there will be no natural light coming in to any of the ground floor rooms, and the upstairs rooms will have light blocked out from this new building too.

Such a shame & no fault of the owners or staff here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinginnasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I were scheduled to stay here for the first part of our honeymoon for 5 nights but we only ended up staying for 1 night. We arrived late (2am) and the staff were waiting up for us which was lovely and we were shown to our rooms quickly given the time. However at 7am we were woken due to construction activity right outside our room. Under normal circumstances, we may have stayed but given it was our honeymoon we ended up leaving. The staff were very understanding though and even dropped us off to Tjampuhan resort which we ended up at.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Naisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We've stayed at this small hotel (called a bungalow) at least three times and every time it has been a great stay. The rooms are very large with great amenities, breakfast (either in your room or by reception) is enjoyable and large, and we especially love the pool. Our last visit was a short one, just one night on our way home, but it was quite wonderful to have a quiet, welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Spend a little more on the "deluxe" rooms if you want to be on the second floor. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed in Tunjung Mas for 5 nights by myself. I wanted to visit the Yoga Barn and was not disappointed; only 5 minutes walk from the Barn and a lovely, relaxing place to stay. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. My room was massive and well equipped and the bathroom was the biggest I've ever stayed in. My beautiful balcony overlooked bamboo and the gorgeous gardens and I was very happy with my stay. TM may not be the newest of hotels which shows in some places but it is still amazing value for money and was a welcoming place to stay. The staff are all super friendly and are what make this hotel special. The absolute highlight for me though was the massages with Komang in the spa. Again, the spa is not the most luxurious to look at but Komang gave the best massages of my life!!!! I arrived with chronic hip pain but skipped out 3 massages later!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had a good stay there for 3 nights. A very nice location close to the good food places. A little away from the heart of the city, but quiet place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pushkar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Near to the famous restaurant bebek bengil. 10 min walks to monkey forest. Central of restaurant, lounge, convenient store etc.

Room is clean and comfortable. Spacious enough..

If need to use wifi have to go to the lobby though.. Room wifi is very poor with weak connection.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We are spending 3 nights here. Our room overlooks rice fields. Very quiet. The staff is very helpful and delightful. They recommended a fabulous walk which was the highlight of our 6 day visit to Ubud. Easy walk to restaurants. Modern bathroom, good shower. A/C sufficient. Standard room was an excellent value.

Room Tip: Standard room #10 overlooks rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#113 of 199 in Ubud
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#127 of 199 in Ubud
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#50 of 639 in Ubud
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kunang-Kunang Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Ubad Retreat
Ubad Retreat
#65 of 639 in Ubud
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#11 of 639 in Ubud
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan | Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 639 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud is ideal and a peaceful place to stay with your family in Ubud. Located in the middle of Ubud. Close to Yoga Barn, Coco supermarket, monkey forest, ect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunjung Mas Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Tunjung Mas Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing