We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word sums it all up "Fantastic"”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #11 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

After staying at the Viceroy in Ubud there would only be one word I could use to describe it. "Fantastic".

Upon check in, we were greeted with friendly, well spoken staff who gave my wife and I leis made from frangipanis and a pleasant iced tea as a welcome drink.

We were checked in with zero fuss and taken to our room by electric buggy. Our porter clearly explained the layout of the grounds on the way to our room as well as how everything worked in our room.

We stayed in a Deluxe Terrace Villa (room 15), note if you are booking a Deluxe Terrace Villa, room 15 & 16 have completely unobstructed views of the gorge and river below.

The room is above 5 star, extremely clean, very luxurious styled with a Balinese theme. It has a high thatched ceiling, ducted air conditioning, wall safe, free wifi that works well and is fast, a large plasma tv around 50 inch with satellite tv channels, dvd player, a sound system for you iPod / iPhone, an espresso coffee machine with free coffee pods, a good selection of Twining teas, a minibar with free soft drinks and juice, milk, water etc.

The room features a large comfortable lounge, an extremely comfortable, larger than king size bed, writing desk, walk in wardrobe with large hanging space and drawers as well as room for your bags. The room also has great lighting, led reading lights for the bed, dimming mood lights etc.

The bathroom features a large stone bath, his and hers vanities, separate toilet and a shower that features a massive rain shower, and a normal shower rose to top it off. In the courtyard, your private infinity pool looks spectacular as it appears to flow over the edge in to the gorge below. The courtyard also features traditional, and again i use the word "spectacular" and luxurious balè. It actually hangs over the gorge. It has a comfortable corner cushion style lounge with pillows and a table where you can even have your breakfast served, or in the late afternoon enjoy a drink while watching the monkeys leap from tree to tree in the gorge. They have thought of all the smallest details like a power point in the balè for your iPad charger etc. This makes this an incredible and relaxing outdoor area.

The restaurant, "Cascades" is also 5 star. We had dinner there and we're treated like VIP's. Nothing was a problem for the staff who again went out of there way to make the whole experience special. The food was great! Taste and presentation was what you would expect to see in fine dining restaurants anywhere in the world. Cascades also features a very extensive wine list, as well as beers, juices, soft drinks.

To sum up, I would highly recommend the Viceroy in Ubud if you are looking for a special place to have a great relaxing break.

Steve & Denise
Australia

Room Tip: note if you are booking a Deluxe Terrace Villa, room 15 & 16 have completely unobstructed views...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve-Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Viceroy Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

My Wife and I recently visited Ubud Bali for the first time and stayed at this beautiful, tranquil most serene resort in the mountains. We loved the rooms, the food was amazing and the staff like your own family. The staff are so attentive to your every need without being invasive of your privacy and the rooms are beautifully furnished and maintained.
The owners of the resort have made sure you feel special and after being out all day you come home to your resort feeling like you are back home.
We would recommend this resort to anyone looking for the exceptional.
Worthy of a 7 star ratin, we will definately be going back one day.

Room Tip: All villas have pools all amazing
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Wow what a amazing hotel, I had a 3 night package there and wished it was 3 weeks, everything abouth the terrace villa was 5 star, so luxurious and amazing views across the green hills along with the odd monkey climbing in the trees. The gardens and grounds al perfectly presented and so peaceful and relaxing in the whole resort. Big cudos to having a coffee maker and iPod player in each villa, the bathroom was huge and had nice deep bath and large shower with two vanities, the downside being the bath oils/soaps were not very nice in fact both myself and a friend who stayed in another villa at Viceroy thought they smelt pretty awful.
The food was good but would not rave about it, the breakfast a bit boring but I loved the toast and the french butter, I was surprised that if you wanted breakfast in your room you would be charged extra each time, it is not something that I've had happen before in Bali.
But I would definatley recommend this hotel, you really don't want to leave the resort it is so relaxing and the staff are gracious and attentive, love it there and am saving to go back lol!

Room Tip: Terrace rooms a little higher than garden so maybe a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrenchieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We spent 5 nights at The Viceroy at the end of August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in Garden Villa 6 and despite the fact that this is the Viceroy's entry level villa, it was amazing. Chilling on the large Balinese daybed staring out at the jungle and watching the mist rise from the river in the morning was so peaceful.

Amenities at the resort itself was fantastic. Breakfasts were filling and well made, dinner at CasCades delicious and beautifully presented. The views are breathtaking, the staff so warm and friendly. The spa and treatments live up to the excellence that the resort operates with after treatment views that keep you ultra-relaxed. Anything that you need is accommodated by the team at The Viceroy. We were fortunate to have Made as our driver for a day and he was wonderful...friendly and able to give us a full view of the Balinese countryside.

Ubud was amazing and The Viceroy brought it to a whole new level.

Room Tip: I personally think the best location would be the Terrace Villa that sits just below the spa. It wou...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seestaylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Having recently returned from 7 wonderful nights at the Viceroy, it certainly lived up to it's name. From the pick up at the airport we were greeted by our driver, provided with cold towels and cold bottled water for the long drive to Ubud. Paying US$25.00 was indeed handy for express immigration to avoid the queues at the airport. Contact the hotel in advance and they will arrange this for you and it will be added to your bill upon checkout. You are greeted by a hotel representative and escorted through immigration, luggage is then collected for you and then you are escorted out of the terminal to your driver. The deluxe terrace villa was beautiful, clean and modern with all amenities provided including robes, slippers, i pod docking station, lilly coffee pods for the coffee machine, complimentary non alcoholic mini bar drinks and plenty of toiletries. I recommend staying in the lower section of the resort as the villas have uninterrupted views of the valley and jungle, but be prepared for a steep walk up the hill to access the resort's facilities. The outdoor area of the villa is of a good size for 2 people, featuring plunge pool, sunbaking lounge, outdoor tables and chairs. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at Cascades Restaurant which has lovely views and you can also dine in your room if you wish. We ordered room service for dinner one evening and 20 minutes later our outdoor table was transformed into a restaurant dinner table with a white table cloth, cutlery and our dinner was promptly served and we felt like we were dining in a restaurant but with the added romance, views and privacy of our own space. The spa at the resort was excellent with trained staff providing wonderful massages. The petal bath in the day spa was just beautiful. The resort provides a complimentary drop off and pick up service at 2 locations in ubud throughout the day and come evening will drop you off at your destination and will return to pick you up at your chosen time. A small fee is charged if your destination is outside the designated ubud area. The service provided by the staff was exceptional, they made us feel very welcome and were quick to respond to any requests or questions we had. There is plenty to do and see in ubud from the day spas, exploring cafes and restaurants, visiting the monkey forest to venturing out of ubud to visit rice paddy fields. If you are looking to spoil yourself then I would certainly recommend the Viceoy, whilst not cheap it was certainly worth it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augmar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The villas are modern and clean , the views are amazing with a pool overlooking the nature and you can have your privacy , the spa was excellent perfect for honeymooners .
The prices are very expensive !!! the restaurant is not that great , the food is average and expensive. You have to walk uphill to get to the reception and restaurant which is exhausting .

Room Tip: There are newer built rooms , make sure to get one of those .
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ghassan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Viceroy lived up to its name: regal, opulent, a bit colonial. In some ways it was a bit much for our style -- but we admit we really enjoyed it. Extraordinary (large!) villa, nice pool, simply magical views. The structure of the entry door to the villa was a bit treacherous and poorly designed-- an easy fix we hope they make! Easy to get in and out of town via their taxis; good food and nice people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
15.7 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,558 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £362 - £1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing