We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #11 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We needed a relaxing break and my goodness, the Viceroy knows how to deliver this. We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August. The staff are exceptionally nice and even I would go as far to say, genuinely kind. Despite being unlucky with rainy weather we were so lucky to have picked this hotel. I can't speak highly enough of the place; it is haven like and the atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing beyond measure.

The staff genuinely seem to care that the guests enjoy every minute. The staff at the Cascades restaurant in particular; they were so impressive. I have never encountered anything like it and I have travelled ALOT. They are just so eager to please WITHOUT being intrusive at all. You really enjoy the meals there. The food is excellent, really delicious and wonderful. The manager, Stefan, is incredibly knowledgeable and is always on hand to make wine recommendations etc., Breakfast was a DELIGHT every morning.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. We visited the spa twice and it was truly excellent. I am a massage connoisseur and I was very impressed.

I plan to return for sure. It was a wonderful experience. This hotel really is unique. The owners have created something very special; I hope they keep it like this forever!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubhessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Viceroy Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Spent first part of our honeymoon here, it was amazing the hosts were excellent, the meals were succulent, blablabla... Worldclass brilliant! The personal attention to detail was incredible, I marvel at the quality of the villas, the views and the meals, we have stayed in near similar cost 5 star highly reviewed hotels since and have never had an experience like the Viceroy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013 with my wife, in a terrace villa.

Our first impression of the villa was fantastic! Beautifully decorated and spacious, clean, with ample space for luggage and clothes. Nice small swimming pool with just the right temperature for a refreshing dive!

The only restaurant in the resort - CasCades - was beautiful and with very nice food, excellent manager - thank you Stefan! - but with slow service which most of the times we did not mind as the staff are SOOOO friendly and attentive. Drinks are RIDICULOUSLY expensive!!
Keep in mind that all meals are a la carte, so if you are a fan of buffets this resort is not for you. There is plenty of choice though, the cuisine is French/Indonesian and excellent.

The owners are there most of the times to greet you and see that you are pleased with your stay.

There is a small boutique with a good variety of local things to buy for you, your friends and your relatives if you so wish

The weather was a bit of a let down - August is supposed to be dry and sunny - but who can you blame for this!?

All in all we had a great time and we would gladly go back.

Whilst we were there we visited the monkey forest, the local market, the elephant safari park, the rice paddies and the coffee and teas plantation. They are all worth a visit but the elephant safari park was the best for us (our first time in such a place)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENTDOC-GREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for our second part of our honeymoon. This has to be one of the most amazing hotels we have stayed in ever! We were given the terrace villa 1, which had amazing pretty much 360 views through glass windows, however after 1 night we had asked to move as the room was not bug proof at all! Geckos were coming in through small gaps and making noises all night and we woke up to bugs on our sheets from them falling from the roof! We then got moved to one of their Deluxe Villas, which was perfect and had no problems for the rest of the stay.

The staff were very friendly and attentive, could not fault this in any way. The hotel's free shuttle service was brilliant as we could get into Ubud centre quickly without struggling with public transport.

Few negative pointers: There was building work going on outside our villa, which we were aware of but they did start this at 6am in the morning which we thought was a bit early. The drinks in the bar/restaurant are very over priced and cocktails were not good at all. Finally the pools in the villas really should be heated as they were very cold and we hardly used it.

But overall a beautiful place :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spend our Honeymoon at Viceroy and was not disappointed. What a beautiful and amazing place. We loved every bit of it.

We had booked a Deluxe Terrace Villa which was really big and with out own pool (a bit cold though) The bathroom was beautiful and the terrace was very private and had a beautiful view over the valley.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Top service!! Very romantic place!!

The food from Cascade Restaurant was more than amazing. We were surprised every time from the breakfast menu, to the local Indonesian lunch to the 6 course menu. Wonderful!!

On out last night we had our "private" dinner with flowers around the table and curtains closed around us. Indeed a very romantic night.

However, that massage my husband received was not very good, and they didn't ask us if we wanted a male or female masseuse. Besides that the spa is also beautiful located, and once done with your massage you can go out to the Jacuzzi and enjoy the view over the valley.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

From arrival to departure this place was a joy.
Great bungalows over looking the Vally Of The Kings with our own splash pool.
Fabulous restaurant and Bar offering first class service.
What can I say about the spar we loved it best I have experienced anywhere,
A car and driver are available to take you in and back form Ubud as required.
This place has it all for those looking for a quite 5 star retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms directly above the valley are the pick
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and well equiped.
I did not feel the "Bali design" touch... The room we stayed in had a plunge pool but it was TOO Cold... We couldn't use it.
The restaurant is good but very quiet and the music in the bar is very limited.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeUrenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
15.7 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,557 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £363 - £1,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing