We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't hesitate to book! This place really is that good and you will love it!”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #11 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to book! This place really is that good and you will love it!”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The reason for my trip was just to relax and unwind with my friend and we wanted to do this in a beautiful place. Five days away to be pampered and not have to think or do very much... I researched the hotels in Ubud and boy am I glad I decided on The Viceroy.

From the moment we arrived in this luxurious haven of tranquility we were treated like royalty. Absolutely nothing was too much to ask for- so nice to have staff that are so accommodating ( for a change). Their attention to detail made our trip just to perfect and memorable.

Everything in this hotel is beautiful. The rooms are amazing and they really have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable. The villa-pool, the daybeds, the style, the view...wow!

The breakfasts are delicious and the staff will serve it to you in the privacy and comfort of your room if you like but try to make it to the restaurant at least once (in the morning) so that you can enjoy the breathtaking scenery whilst you feast on your first feast of the day.

The six course degustation meal was a culinary delight!

The infinity pool with a swim-up bar is just gorgeous and be warned that you will struggle to leave the comfortable day-bed if you decide to relax there for a while.

Enjoyed a treatment at the Lembah Spa- the flower bath was visually spectacular- a true feast for the senses! The surroundings are so beautiful that once you have a massage in this pristine environment, you will probably find it hard to have a massage in one of the other places in the town. So, perhaps keep your visit to The Lembah Spa as your grand finale otherwise you might find yourself being too critical of the other less "pristine" spas available in Ubud. Otherwise, just treat yourself to all they can offer you at The Lembah Spa.

The complimentary private shuttle service to Ubud is just another service that makes getting around much easier. You don't have to worry about your safety, comfort or haggling with a taxi driver because all you do is ask the restaurant, bar or spa to ring the hotel (make sure you have a card with hotel's details) and in 10-15 minutes your friendly driver will be there to pick you up! It's just another little touch that makes your trip harmonious. This really is a fantastic service and believe me you will really appreciate how friendly and obliging all the driving and reception staff are who co-ordinate all this for their guests.

All the staff at this hotel are amazing and will do anything for you. Jero, at reception, is just wonderful and I cannot speak highly enough about him. He efficiently deals with any matter from your initial hotel reservation to a restaurant booking or any enquiry. Don't hesitate to contact him if you want him to organise something for you whilst on your stay. If you want to surprise or wow your partner and want something organised- I suspect this is the man to ask so that it can happen...magically!

Well, if you like the finer things in life, want to escape to a calm, luxurious, rejuvenating and blissful hotel where their attention to detail is impeccable then this is the place for you. Don't hesitate! Do yourself (and partner) a favour and book at The Viceroy when you're in Ubud.

I

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perth888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    86
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
704
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My trip to Ubud wouldn't have been as memorable if it were not for my stay at this incredibly luxurious hotel! My partner and I have been been looking for a hotel in Bali that's discreet and private, and the staff at Viceroy Bali were exactly that - discreet. They were friendly and attentive, and willing to help out as much as they can. They also spoke good English, which we have come to realize is not always a given in Asian countries.

Another surprise was the quality of amenities. For a small boutique hotel, they are up to par with big name hotels. The location is pretty decent too, near enough to Ubud's main roads but not that close so that the place retained a calming peace and quiet. We wanted to drive around by ourselves instead of taking the free hotel shuttle, and the front desk helped us by arranging a suitable vehicle rental.

I will definitely recommend Viceroy Bali hotel to any couple who is looking for a charming and romantic hotel that offers excellent service. This is the perfect place to spend some quality time with a loved one.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolesnUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

On the first morning I woke up I thought I had gone to heaven - it was that beautiful. The lush tropical vegetation, the mist, the dappled light on the plunge pool outside our room - it all added up to what one imagines heaven looks like. The hotel is only 5 years old and has been built with style and some beautiful details, like the carved scene of rice being plowed. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and nothing was too much. There is a shuttle service to Ubud only 5 minutes to the centre of town. The restaurant is one of the best in Bali and the spa offers a variety of treatments. The hotel offers a number of excursions and I highly recommend the rice paddy fields trek. Like all popular tourist places (Ubud has become a big hit since Eat, Pray, Love became a bestseller), one can feel like a target for dollars. But saying no is not taken as an offence and certainly no one pesters in an aggressive way. The Balinese are extremely kind and polite; it costs nothing to be polite in return. The trip was a second honeymoon, and it was the perfect choice - but why wait that long?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midageSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Viceroy is on a Hiilside/dropping down into a valley. This means that each of the villa's have fantastic backdrop and a jungle/forest-esque setting with a river at the bottom.

We were going to stay at Four Seasons but changed to Viceroy last minute as it looked like better value considering it is the same class and as the Viceroy is only 5 years old.

Villa's are 5 star - pure luxury cannot find a fault with them - we were upgraded to Viceroy Villa on arrival which was fantastic. Also managed to have a look at the Terrace Villas which were fantastic also. The villas are also designed in tandem with the local environment means they blend into the landscape - all of the furniture and fittings are locally made and the artwork is all balinese. Quite fitting given Ubud is the cultural center for Bali.

Food is fantastic also - Breakfast was very well prepared and is set up in your room if you desire.

The housekeeping staff were very friendly and polite. We had a chat about the local area and about the surrounding villages which was nice.

The front office staff were professional and gave us many different ideas for activities - if we had more time we would have went cycling and trekking. Jero was fantastic.

Dinner - The food itself is spectacular. The cocktails also were fantastic.

Spa was excellent.

I cant really find a fault with these villas - our room didn't have a bose ipod dock - probably not really a fault as if it did it would ruin the ambience of the place.

Excellent place for romance/honeymooners due to the ambience and beauty of the villas and the backdrop. Will definitely go back when next in Bali.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hinikuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Just spent a romantic weekend here with my fiance to celebrate our engagement. It was quiet and romantic. Everything in our villa was luxurious. When the staff found out about our engagement, they sprinkled rose petals around our table at the restaurant when we went for dinner, and even gave us two complimentary glasses of champagne. Totally unexpected but a wonderful gesture. We might come back here again for our honeymoon or for another romantic break.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oyleO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I don’t usually bother with reviews, but this is an exceptional place. I travel often with my wife around Asia, as it is convenient for us when we require a quick weekend break. A friend pointed out a review of Viceroy Bali in a magazine, and I thought it would be a lovely place to bring my wife for our 10th wedding anniversary. We are a couple who like nothing better than to lounge around the hotel when on holiday. We felt totally pampered by the impeccable service rendered, from the moment we stepped into the hotel until we left 3 days later. We could choose to dine in our room or eat at the restaurant. The food was delicious and they have such an extensive wine list, which is quite remarkable for a boutique hotel. We could soak inside our small pool in the villa, or use the main pool that had an infinity edge. We could have massage in our villa, or at the spa - we chose to have it at the spa and absolutely love soaking in the large bath tub inside the couple treatment room. We also had the pleasure of meeting the members of the family who own the hotel, Otto, Margaret and Anthony, all of whom were very interesting to speak with. We had a really wonderful weekend, and we know we will be going back there again. We highly recommend this place to couples.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinIT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Just returned from 3 wonderful weeks in Bali. There just aren't enough superlatives to describe the exquisite Viceroy Bali, this small privately owned villa hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World.....and "luxury" is just an understatement when describing it. We had the feeling when we arrived that this special place was created by someone who has been to every purported "luxury" hotel in the world..and then really created the perfect one. The grounds are horticultural perfection amidst the surreal views, the staff so kind and caring, genuine and very committed to a perfect guest experience, hands on owners, a killer spa...and then there's the villas!!!! oh my!!! Heaven, heaven heaven, from the architecture to the furnishings....bliss PLUS fabulous amenities and wonderful private pools, comfy beds and big fat plush towels.. Every little detail for the perfect stay has been carefully thought out. We tried the renowned Mosaic in town restaurant for an amazingly expensive dinner...and can say without exception, the Viceroy Bali kitchen outshines it in every way...we ate every meal except for that one in their gorgeous open air dining room. The only negative is...you'll never want to leave the serene indulgence of the Viceroy and explore everything that the Ubud region offers. We are forever spoiled now and know without a doubt nothing is going to equal the Viceroy Bali experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SidCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
20.6 mi away
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing