We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath takingly beautiful”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #9 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Our first visit to Bali so wasn't sure what to expect. Read some of the previous reviews on this hotel and was a little troubled to hear about the building work going on. However, their website looked fantastic and it was the best looking of all the hotels we trawled through on the internet. So we decided to book a Terrace Villa away from any noise and received a reply from the hotel to say they would make sure we had such a villa. We need not have worried, there was little if any noise from the building work.

On arrival we were taken to our villa, Viceroy Regal II; we had been given an upgrade. I wasn't too sure it I wanted this upgrade as we were at the bottom of the slope. However, there were buggies to take you to the restaurant on call any time; we walked up each day however. The villa was glorious and the bathroom stunning. The views of the gorge were amazing and we were even treated to the monkey display (wild ones) on our last night followed the following morning by the monkeys coming to the hotel side of the gorge and playing in the tree in front of our villa.

The hotel staff were amazing and both treatments I had at the Spa were great. As it was a big birthday celebration we went for the degustation dinner paired with wine on my birthday . Everything was just perfect and the hotel produced a lovely birthday gateau which I shared with the other hotel diners. A memorable experience and one I couldn't fault.

The attention to detail and the personal service are what makes this hotel special and when the owner showed us around the new villas going up we were delighted to have a snoop. It was very defficult to drag yourself away from this hotel, such beautiful surroundings and so relaxing, but you do need to get out once or twice just for a dose of reality. After 6 days here it was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

Found the hotel through Small Luxury Hotels website. Stayed in Terrace room. Very comfortable and large bed. Great view from the pavilion at the swimming pool. Very luxurious and comfortable. Will come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Anderson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed three nights in the Terrace Villa #1. It's the villa where the website video was taken. We were very impressed with the staff , facilities, restaurant and most of all the ambiance and view. A few specifics:
Airport VIP clearance. We had our bags and were through immigration in less than 5 minutes.
Made, our personal concierge who also functioned as our driver/interpreter was wonderful. He was very patient as we were unprepared without our customary guide books and phrase books of the local language. He arranged a hand off on our final day meeting my business partner requiring a three language discussion and rendezvous. He stuck with us until everyone was together. Very cool and comforting.

We spent one whole day with Made touring the volcano, local dance performances, and craft markets. His advise in the craft markets were invaluable.

Other than that one day we found it difficult to leave the grounds. We had breakfast and dinner each night at the restaurant. We often had plans to have dinner in UBud but the service and the cuisine made it difficult to spend the additional effort for an unknown restaurant in town. That was a bit lazy but we were taking a break in the middle of a business trip and saw little upside in going elsewhere.

The Terrace Villa 1 has the best views looking up the valley to the north. We found the pool, bale benong, and patio completely private allowing us to discreetly sun each morning and to truly treat it as our extended villa.. The pool was heated and was at a comfortable refreshing temperature and would likely be warmer had there been more sun when we were there. Plan on sunning in the mornings as this is the only time you will have direct sun on your patio. There is slightly more sun on the main pool lasting until early afternoon.

Construction: We heard very little construction noise. Nothing could be heard from our villa as the water features and the design of the hotel prevents noise from traveling between villas. We did take a walk in the early morning hours and viewed the newly constructed villas now 90% complete. They appear slightly larger with a much larger swimming pool approximately 6 X 15. there orientation would allow more sun into the early afternoon.

Plan on watching the the monkeys across the valley each evening. They are the wild version of the moneys you see begging or stealing food at the money forest. I suggest you simply drive by the monkey forest parking lot to see them up close and then watch them at a distance in their true habitat from your villa.

Looking at our bill upon checkout we were surprised to find that we spend less than $725 per day at the hotel including the villa, breakfast each morning, an afternoon at the spa, and dinner each night with an expensive bottle of wine. That is a fraction of cost we paid for similar hotels of this quality. See my review of Jade Mountain in St. Lucia which I feel was comparable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easy_does_it_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We were looking to get away from the hussle and bussle of our busy life and this hotel was a perfect choise. While this place is prices we felt like we got an excellent value. The staff is very attentive and personable. The rooms are big and the views are spectacular. We stayed in the Terrace villa and it was perfect. If you want something initimate and romantic this is it. We were first put into a regal villa which was more expensive, but after seeing the terrace decided that we'd liked it much better. This place has only 11 villas which is great because we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The staff called knew us by name and was very attentive and personable. We stayed for 3 nights and it was perfect. We were originally going to stay for two, but then extended our stay by one more night. What was great is that the staff worked with us to get us a special discounted rate as well. Nila who helped us with the extention is awesome. I think if you choose this place you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscownights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I wanted some place quiet and beautiful and I admit I was sold by the beautiful pictures of the villas. In reality, the entire place is that beautiful because of the nature surrounding it. If you are a nature lover, you will really like it here. It made you want to just lay by the pool or soak in the tub or sit at the day bed and read. Room service was available at anytime, which kinda made it hard for you to leave the villa as everything that you needed was provided for: food, water, tea, hot shower, tub, pool, and if you like Toblerone chocolates, they even have that in the mini bar. I had a great time here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozgal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We have just come back from 5 days in the Viceroy Bali . It is truly a 5 star hotel come resort. It is not cheap but it is the best accomodation I have stayed in. The scenery is perfect, the staff are wonderful and attentive and the food is very good. The Cascades restaurant is an award winning restaurant , with a somewhat European a la carte menu.
The infinity pool is marvellous. I would not go there however if you have some trouble walking up gradients, although the staff are happy to collect you from your rooom to go up the hill to the foyer. I would go there again tomorrow . It is close enough to Ubud to make the trip into Ubud easy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful, and the agent where we booked our stay assured us that this hotel in Ubud is what we wanted. She was right - the Viceroy is tucked in a quiet corner, at the top of a valley. We can really appreciate the beauty of nature here! So if you are looking for privacy and peace, this place is it.

The villa we stayed in had a Balinese style pavilion over a small pool, and made a good spot to read over a cup of tea or coffee. Everything was spotlessly clean, meals were excellent and the romantic ambience is a plus. Couples looking for a romantic stay will definitely like this place.

I have to make a special mention to the wonderful front desk staff. They were really helpful and attended to us promptly, even in the middle of the night when we asked for an extra blanket. Made friends with a couple of them and we're planning to come back again later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeanWSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,344 reviews
1.1 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 200 in Ubud
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
3 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £361 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing