We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experienced, that we return the next 2 days!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Experienced, that we return the next 2 days!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed there in early May, 05-08 and 10-12 May 2012. This place feels very private with only 10 rooms, you hardly see the other guests. We took the room in the top floor over looking the beautiful and calming paddy fields. During our visit, we stayed in 2 different rooms and both were clean and breakfast were excellent. With free transport to Ubud and back, it is super convenient. As well we rented a bike with the help of the staffs. Overall we have an excellent stay there as the staffs were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonaskkyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    220
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
131
457
47
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed at Junjungan for 2 nights, 18-20 June 2012, with family (spouse & 2 young girls). This is a small but extremely cosy establishment. Stayed in a Deluxe Awan room, had twin beds (each was a super single) and an extra bed for my elder girl. Even with 3 beds in the room, there was still lots and lots of room left for my girls to run around. My girls (7 years and 3 years old) absolutely love the hotel. I was initially a little sceptical about how the girls would react to the hotel as they were used to staying in bigger hotels / resorts. But I wanted the kids to experience this countryside / natural environment, and I definitely did not regret this decision. My girls love love love the place. Every chance they get they'd sit out on the balcony to admire the paddy field and watch the ducks out in the field. It was beautiful.
The personal attention given by the staff was also another plus plus point. Like what most reviews mentioned, the staff made an effort to remember guests by name. They were also very good with my kids. My kids being hyper active and overly-friendly would walk around the hotel on their own and love to hang around the lobby area to chat with the staff, all of whom know the girls' names.
Food served at the hotel was fantastic. Portions were quite big by our standards, most of the time we felt that we were being overfed. Breakfast came with the room, of which we had to order the night before. Though it was not a buffet spread but an ala carte set, the selection was more than sufficient with a good variety of local and western spread. Their pancakes are incredibly large and delicious (love their banana chocolate pancakes). Our stay also came with daily complimentary tea, which was served anytime between 3pm to 6pm. Everyday they would serve something different. Tea was usually served at their restaurant. However on the day we had our tea, we had just came back from Ubud market with my youngest daughter asleep in my arms. The staff at the lobby saw that and immediately offered to serve us tea in our room as they understood the inconvenience of me and my husband having to take turns to go down to the restaurant to have our tea. Again a testimony of great personal service. One thing to note is that their food and beverages are all served freshly made, therefore there will always be a short waiting time. This is however not something that bothered us as the waiting just gave us more opportunities to admire and appreciate the relaxed and tranquil surroundings.
The hotel is a slight distance from Ubud town but with the hotel shuttle which is available upon request, it is not a problem at all. In fact we love the fact that the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of all the action.
Only regret was that we did not stay longer in Ubud and Junjungan.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babykhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We should have had all our meals at the Junjungan, because they served by far the best food we had in Ubud (which is saying something). Unfortunately, we didn't find this out until the last night!

The room we had was spacious, with a balcony and a gorgeous view of the rice paddies. All rooms have a balcony, those on the first or ground floor as well as those higher up, as the hotel is built into a hill. We had the one over the restaurant and although earlier reviewers have noted noise, we didn't hear a thing all the time we were there. The bathroom was spacious with a bath tub to rival the outside (lovely, shaded and shielded from the quiet country road) pool. It was clean, it was dark (which is good in a hotel room, I find) and the bed were very, very comfortable as were the pillows.

The location is slightly outside of Ubud, but the hotel provides a shuttle service on demand. It takes about 10 minutes to get to the Palace in Ubud, but the service will drop and pick you up anywhere in town.

However, there was one downside. We were travelling as a family with a 20 months old toddler and the hotel was unable to provide a crib or a high chair for her. To be fair, we had checked with them before, and they had warned us about the lack of a cot, which we solved by letting her sleep in the second twin bed (the first was spacious enough for my husband and myself). But the vibe in the hotel is, however friendly the staff, definitely one of relaxation and luxury, which is lovely - but not quite suited to toddlers. So even though I loved this hotel very much, I would not recommend taking small children.

But, as I said, the staff were utterly lovely and not once did anybody voice any complaint about small feet dangling in the fish stream or the screams of delight issuing from our table (she enjoyed the food too). In fact, they seemed to smile upon her, as did the other guests we encountered. So, it is very much a vibe and a lack of toddler amenities that prompts this review and by no means any reflection on the service or the friendliness of the hotel staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaatje53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were made to feel very welcome at Junjungan. Our room was incredible, really high ceiling, view of rice fields, lovely big bathroom and huge comfy bed. The breakfast was also really great, lots to choose from and really friendly staff serving. The staff all remember your name which is nice.

The hotel is a little out of Ubud, but it’s a good thing as you get to see lovely countryside on your journey to and from the hotel. Also, Ubud is a busy place so it was nice to be in such a peaceful hotel. There is a free shuttle service which takes you to the centre whenever you want (until 10pm). It only takes 5 minutes. We also borrowed bikes from the hotel to get around during the day. The bikes are old and not in great condition but they do the job.

It was a lovely place to stay and fantastic value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stay at this hotel on 14 - 20 May and found thatt his hotel is absolutely beautiful. It was by far the nicest place we stayed on the island. The refreshing juice provided on arrival is refreshingly delicious. The rooms are a good size, spotless, & have a great layout. The private patio facing the padi field is perfect for enjoying the warm Bali evenings. Bathroom is also gorgeous with a huge soaking tub. They even provide foam bath next to the usual shampoo & soap. The pool was clean & inviting. Breakfast at the restaurant offered a great selection of Indonesian & western dishes & a wide range of fresh fruit juices. We used the shuttle services to get into Ubud. It was definitely worth staying at Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa. Will be staying again this comming December.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 ( a bit outdated for a review..but oh well!). Stayed here with the hubby for 4 nites and we got the deluxe room which is located on the furthest left (facing the road). As with other reviewers, the staff are pleasant and they remember your name and greet you every single time they bumped into you. To the point that it gets a bit uncomfortable perhaps. Haha. Food was excellent. We tried the local stuff and the pancakes for bfast was amazing. Still can remember it now. lol.

I tried the massage and the masseuse was good but the room was a bit gloomy. Kinda feel a bit claustrophobic with its too much of a dimmed orange light and some musty smell. I wished they had the spa overlooking the paddy field instead of tucking it at the corner next to the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidah_sgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Service is very personalised right from the start to the end. Staff greet you by your name and are attentive to your needs. Excellent local food at hotel restaurant at reasonable price. Complimentary afternoon tea is excellent (include a piece of yummy cake and tea). The daily breakfast was sumptuous. Complimentary hotel shuttle service to Ubud town makes it convenient to travel around that area. From the hotel room, we can see ducks in the day and fireflies at night. Being a little away from the town, makes this hotel a quiet and relaxing getaway.

For travellers who are more used to urban city life, earplugs will be helpful for a good night sleep, especially if you are a light sleeper and tend to have difficulties getting used to surrounding sounds at night. The rooster there starts calling at about 2-3 am till early morning 5-6 am. If you were like to chill out at the balcony of the hotel room at night, we recommend that you prepare some form of mosquito repellent (e.g. mosquito coil).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 198 in Ubud
522 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
734 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 198 in Ubud
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#12 of 198 in Ubud
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Property: Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing