We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate - its worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - its worth the money”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

A beautiful place, wonderful view of the rice paddies, amazing rooms, friendly staff, free shuttle into town. Restaurant very good for a small hotel (11 rooms). Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - don't hesitate, if you're heading to Ubud this hotel won't disappoint

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devoman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    217
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
130
453
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

You get what you lay for, so people should not come here expecting luxury etc. it is a boutique hotel of approximately 11 rooms, with a lovely ambiance, friendly staff, and very large rooms. The style is Indonesian, and not modern, and this gives the place a warmth and calmness that you would not find in many luxury hotels. The bed was massive, the view of the rice terraces beautiful, the bathroom was fine although a little dated, and the only thing I could suggest that needs improving is changing from a hand held shower to a wall mounted shower, as this was a little difficult to use when washing hair etc. but that is a minor issue. There were push bikes available to ride, it was in a lovely plush setting away from the hubbub of ubud itself but only a 5 min drive and there was a shuttle service available from the hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfasts and afternoon tea were delicious, and we had dinner at the restaurant twice, which were lovely (up until the point I discovered some under-cooked chicken on my sate skewer!). The staff acted promptly and were mortified, offering me free dessert etc. I didn't get sick, which is testament to their hygiene standards, I think. My only suggestion with regard to this is perhaps improving the lighting in the restaurant as it was so dark it was impossible to see the meat. This seems to be a common problem in many restaurants in Bali, though! The water flowing through the hotel provided a beautiful tranquility and was a lovely feature. The pool is small, but fine.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WellyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Everything from the setting to the staff was perfect. We spent 3 nights at the lush, exotic retreat and really got to relax Ubud-style. Afternoon tea was so pleasant, especially the small treat (chocolate cake or pancakes). There was an overwhelming number of breakfast choices and the servings were always abundant. Our room was huge and we loved the 4-post bed with curtains and the massive tub! The only downside is the smell of mothballs toward off the pests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Lovely gem in Ubud, I was really impressed and wish we could have stayed longer than one night. The service was fantastic, the lady on the reception was so friendly and couldn't do enough.

We arrived at night so couldn't see out, but were surprised in the morning by the beautiful view of the green rice field. The room itself was really nice, wooden furniture, 4 poster bed, table, rose petal bath tub, TV and DVD player (you can borrow dvd's from reception).

The hotel is peaceful and perfect for a quiet holiday, however it's a little out of the way (5 min drive to centre / 10-15 minute walk). This wasn't a problem for us though, because the hotel will take you anywhere and pick you up when you need, you could also ride a bike.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 019386_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Big room really clean with a very nice bathroom. The service is perfect and the staff is available at any time for all your needs. The breakfast is "a la cart" and there are a lot of choices: it is great. The location is really nice in the quiet rice plantation, far enough from the city, that is easily reachable with the shuttle available for free from 7:00 to 22:00. They also organize nice tours in the island and, last but not least, the SPA service is great. I really advice this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Set 45mins walk or a 5 min drive from the centre of Ubud this is a wonderful property set in rice fields beside a mountain stream. The wooden walkways and carved doors into the rooms make for a lovely rustic feel. Small balconies are perfect to sit and take in the view while reading a book or cooling off with a beer.

The rooms have fourposter beds with mosquito nets that are both romantic and practical. The service is friendly and warm and the free breakfast and afternoon tea are a great addition that make the rates good value.

Insider's Tip: walking back from Ubud at night takes a while but you will be rewarded with a beautiful display of hundreds of fireflys / lightning bugs. Stunning.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best: less noise and more expansive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SybariteCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Crossing a bridge over a ravine, gushing with a mountain stream, you step onto the verandahs of what seems to be a treehouse, with timber balustrades heading in all directions. There's a real homeliness to the place, from the wonderful welcome and genuine smiles. The rooms are simple and comfortable. Views across the rice paddies, hearing frogs and crickets, really made this place special. Our room didn't have a proper shower, instead it had hand-held showerhead in a bath, but this is no reason to not stay here. The water was hot & strong. We walked into Ubud and it's a great walk on a calm road, we saw a parade of locals heading to a cremation by the roadside.

This place isn't fancy, but wonderful, comforting and away from the tourist-trapping of Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayleggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 198 in Ubud
514 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 198 in Ubud
277 reviews
2.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 198 in Ubud
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Property: Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing