We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it,
It is a bit further out of Ubud, but I think that what gives it it's charm , and there is a free shuttle anyway.
Staff was super friendly and helpful , we also really enjoyed the free afternoon 'cake' which was pancakes or fried bananas with ice cream.
The rooms a very cute overlooking the rice fields.
I definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our three nights at the Junjungan over the Nyepi period. This small hotel has lots of character and is a nice departure from the "cookie cutter" style of accommodation provided by the larger chain hotels. Our studio room was spacious and clean and had wonderful views over the rice fields. The bed was comfortable and the quiet location ensured a restful sleep. The bathroom had a deep bath great for soaking in but did not have a separate shower - which meant if you wanted a shower you had to stand in the bath holding a hand shower. Flat screen TV - DVD available through playstation which we found a little inconvenient. Breakfast is ordered the night before from set menu - with plenty of options provided. Had breakfast served in our room one morning which was a bit of a treat! Took advantage of the complimentary afternoon tea on two occasions and the cakes were delicious.The pool area is very small and under normal circumstances would be satisfactory as most people come and go using the hotel as a base for exploring Ubud, but on Nyepi day with all guests confined to the hotel it did not work well. The staff at Junjungan are the hotels greatest asset, they are without exception friendly and helpful and really go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. The hotel shuttle service to and from town was excellent and pick up was always reliable. The Junjungan provides unbeatable service with a small price tag.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We really enjoyed our 4-nights stay here. It was so relaxing, with lovely views across the rice fields. The unusual design of the hotel gave it a simple elegance, and it was immaculately maintained throughout. The shuttle bus made it very easy when we wanted to go into the town , and then we could return to the peaceful surroundings of Junjungan.

Our upstairs room was very pleasant, the bed was very comfortable, it was good to have seating plus tea/coffee making, and also of course to sit out on the balcony looking at the view.

We certainly enjoyed the food here - plenty of choices for breakfast, good-sized portions and nicely served. It was an added bonus to go down for tea after 3 pm and enjoy the dessert on offer. Then we also enjoyed dinner there on 3 evenings. As the food and the atmosphere were so good, and the prices were very reasonable, it was the obvious choice for us to stay and eat in the hotel, and we didn't regret that.

The "icing on the cake" of this place is all credited to the staff. They were a lovely team of young people, always eager to do their very best, and they did it very well. They all deserve a gold star!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We echo the other positive reviews. If you want to stay outside the town inexpensively this is the place. The staff is exceptional, and the shuttle van is readily available. Breakfast is excellent both in variety and quality and can be served in your room. The restaurant is easily on par with most in Ubud. Add a nice spa and the complimentary bicycles you have unbeatable value.
Do book a studio or an upstairs room as although spacious the downstairs rooms are dark as the curtains need to be kept closed for privacy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Merlin081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is my second stay here- the first was a year ago with my family, at the recommendation of my parents who had stayed prior and love the place. This time I came with a friend, with the intention of unwinding from stressful city life.

if relaxation is what you're coming after, this is it! We arrived late due to the long queues at the airport and were concerned that we wouldn't be able to,get anything for dinner, but the driver did some quick thinking and checked with us on our meal,preferences and ordered two nasi goreng for us from the hotel restaurant so it would be ready upon our arrival. Check in was swift and the room was spotless as before, with amazing view of the padi fields.

breakfast and the complimentary tea were great, and we also really appreciated the free shuttle within ubud. There is a sincerity and grace about the staff and this place that you won't be able to find elsewhere. If anything to gripe about, I'd say that the pool is a little small, but the lovely setting and great service more than makes up for this.
I'm happy I chose to stay at junjungan again, and would gladly recommend this to friends going to Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrabbyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Amazing relaxing place to stay. Room very spacious over looking rice fields. Patio area to seat outside the room. Large bathroom / shower. Small swimming pool., Great spa. The food is fab and the staff so so helpful. Free shuttle to the main town and back. 9 - 10pm each day. Free cake and tea / coffee in the afternoon . Great food to choice from the restaurant . Very quiet away from the main town. But not to far to walk or free cycles to use at the hotel. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place for others to enjoy.

Room Tip: Suites are larger and only a few pence more. But the basic rooms are very very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A great place outside the city. With shuttle and a beautiful setting and very comfortable rooms. Extraordinary staff. View of rice paddies from rear balcony. Nice pool and good breakfast. We would definetly recommend this place if you want to enjoy Ubud but sleep peacefully at night

Room Tip: 3 person suite top left was great A very large tub in room and wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnandBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 199 in Ubud
572 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
809 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#45 of 199 in Ubud
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#48 of 199 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa located about 3,5 km from Ubud central. It is located in the middle of rice field. The rice field view is very nice from the room balcony. Also you may see firefly at the night from the balcony. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage, or go cycling around the property. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can arrange tour bookings, airport transfers, laundry services, etc. The restaurant serves local and international dishes. Free afternoon tea also available. Guests can also order room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing