We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem - in a rural setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2010

An amazing place to stay. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. We had a minor problem the first night and without hesitation upgraded us to the deluxe suite. The view of the surrounding fields is just breathtaking and we could not speak more highly of what the place has to offer. Made our driver was extremely friendly and did not try to hassle us to buy his services or any tours. Some may say it has faults but for my partner and I it just added to an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyG929406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Setting was lovely, rooms were nice, - service staff at the property were awesome... BUT:
1) Mattresses are extremely thin (i.e. you will be feeling springs digging into your back). We switched rooms mid-stay and both mattresses were uncomfortable and poor quality.

2) One of the hotel's drivers was extremely pushy -- trying to get us to hire him for a tour. We did hire him one day and he insisted on wasting our time taking us to expensive tourist traps that would provide him with a commission. He also had not showered that day (we knew right away when he picked us up!) and there were no seat belts in the back seat of his car. Compared to our excellent experience with Bali Traditional Tours this really left a bad taste.

3) We felt cheated at check-out. We were told that we could pay in USD, or in rupiah at the hotel's bookeeping rate - which was 8% higher per dollar than the actual exchange rate. We did not have USD, and despite wonderful interaction with the staff up to this point, they insisted on this, and thus we went back into town on our last day to change our money BACK in to USD (losing again, but still better than the hotel's rate, and carrying a lot of money into town). I would think that since they inconvenience guests by not taking CC payment, they would at least perform currency conversion at a fair rate.

4) Other misc. items: rooms were noisy in the mornings - yes the place is out of town, but is still very close to a road with lots of motorcycles; our friends were in a room at the edge of the hotel (room 6) next to a home and woke up to cigarette smoke from that house every morning; our friends' room was adjacent to ours and the partition on the ceiling was literally just cloth - so we could easily hear everything -- we literally would say "god bless you" when someone sneezed, and then got a "thank you" back.; We stayed in both room types and the "studio" room, which was $30 more per night merely had a small sitting room in an awkward location - never used and definitely not worth the extra cost.; only hand-held showers; the pool was small and blindingly chlorinated.

So no, I would not stay there again - but credit is due to the hotel and restaurant staff who were AMAZING -- so accommodating, friendly, helpful. There were nice little touches like the flower blossoms everywhere, view was lovely but furniture not comfortable to enjoy it , wifi was great, and there were fantastic daily breakfasts. Unfortunately the structure, furniture, payment policies, and driving staff ruined our overall impression.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Located 4 kms north of downtown Ubud makes sure you sleep in a super-quiet place. Nice views of the rice-paddies (with cute fireflies in the evening). Drive up the road with a bike -free from the hotel- and discover nice temples and sceneries.
Perfect services, the friendliest staff you can think of, but a limited menu in the restaurant. However, free hotel shuttles to/from Ubud from 09 am till 10 pm, anytime !
Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. For the best Spa : Shanghri-La in Ubud. A dream...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was a nice place to kick back and relax, amonngst the wonderful rice fields. We rented bikes from the hotel to discover the area and see another side to Ubud's cultural arts and crafts center. Though the shuttle service isn't regular and needs to be scheduled, it is something easy to work around and a quick and convenient way to go to the village. The staff was very welcoming and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabellemtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Fantastic Friendly staff, had a great time. Nice and Clean although situated 4km from town the walk in each morning was a nice experience. The spa was clean and tidy (big plus in my eyes). The drivers the hotel use are really friendly and offer a great service although there are set times for pick up you can request alternatives. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninap66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Some say the lobby is shabby, the pool is pathetic. But, to us, everything is cozy and just nice. It's rather far in and diff to locate when we arrived at night. But, it turned out to be the nicest accomm among the 3 hotels we stayed in Bali. We were lucky to book for 2 nights through the 1 and only website available then. Mind you, we booked rather early. We used the complimentary shuttle service into town, the driver was very punctual. The second day, we had our own transport. We really didn't mind the distance as we went back to the hotel a few times a day for a swim, nap, bath, etc... The room is spacious, furniture adequate. They even have a sofa set! And our balcony opens to the green paddy field where we heard birds chirping and farmers working in the morning! It's not a grand hotel but it's a PERFECT holiday accommodation. I'd go back if I visit Ubud again. I'm just happy I had trusted the excellent reviews by various travellers. We left our room door opened when we were swimming. I think our kids made the most noise the whole time. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We were 'upgraded' to the room on the 2nd level on the last night but the room on the 2nd level was just too big and the air-con was not strong enough to cool the whole room. WE woke up in the middle of the night sweating and requested to change our room to the first level, which the staff help to set up the room so we could move over...
The view over the balcony was really nice. Could just see the rice field in front.
There's a small pool in which was nice to just soak in and get to know other guests.
We have to order our breakfast a day in advance and if you are looking for a last minute meals, there's limited choices.
There no internet access in the hotel. No much choices of TV channels as well. Only CNN, Animal Planet and movie channel...
The location might not be the best as it's not really near Ubud, but there's free shuttle ride to Ubud area. The journey to Ubud takes about 10 mins.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uncletakumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
565 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#48 of 199 in Ubud
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#46 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,061 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 199 in Ubud
333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing