We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in downtown Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Ranked #151 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

An excellent mid-size hotel on a temple site - ancient imperial palace!
Can't beat the location. Services are always provided with a smile! Katuck is the best driver we've ever had! He knows the area quite well and always drove us on back roads to really save time! Excellent driver, the jewel of the bunks' services.
The bunks, perhaps, need to change the breakfast menu to break the monotony. We had the same breakfast the entire stay of five days!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PooKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Puri Saraswati Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

A verry Nice traditional hotel with a beautiful garden. It feels like you are Staying in the real Indonesian nature. The first room we get. was full of Mold so we asked for an other room, this wasn't a problem. The second room we get was a lot better, it was really stylish and it was clean. The thing that we found annoying were the animals in the middle of the night, they make so much noise that it was impossible for us to sleep. Also the beds were really hard.

There are better hotels in ubud for this price, the location is good it's in the centre of Ubud, near the palace. The breakfast was quite good and if you love the traditional style I'll recommend you to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the resort.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matje90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and we will definitely return one day. It is in the cente of Ubud,but in a quiet and peaceful position where we could hear the birds singing in the morning, (the hotel makes sure of this by having several birds in cages). It is set in tropical gardens and I especially liked the fact that it is an old palace which gives it its own special character and charm. Iti s just beside the temple and lotus pond where there is nightly entertainment. Ubud palace is a 5 minute walk.
The bedroom is a good size and very comfortable,clean, with a nice private balcony, and very pleasant welcoming staff . A good breakfast was served in complete tranquillity in the gardens,
My only criticism is the difficulty in regulating the hot and cold water flow when showering, but in a warm climate likethe one in Ubud this is really not a problem.
Thanks to all the staff at Puri Saraswati for their professionalism and pleasant and agreeable service. We will come back one day for sure

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A friend told me about this place, she had stayed here for the writers festival and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was travelling with my niece, it was her visit to Bali, so i wanted somewhere close to everything. Especially Casa Luna which we frequented often. The room was lovely, beds were comfortable. I loved the beautiful traditional setting and the temple.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cherie2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

These bungalows are in the grounds of the Royal Palace and right next door to the Lilly Ponds, a really good location. Beautiful gardens and a great Balinese feel. Breakfast is good with choices and the breakfast staff are very friendly. The rooms are small and ours had no chairs and nothing to put our cases on and we had to move the furniture from the verandah inside. The bed was very hard, like sleeping on a plank. Whilst we requested a double bed we had two singles joined together with a very hard ridge in the centre. I would really like to return to this hotel but unless the beds and room furniture improve I would have to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

You can't beat this price for the very central location. It's about 20 mins walking distance to all our favourite restaurants such Cafe Wayan ( along Jln Monkey Forest) and Dolce Arancia.

The Ubud market is just a 5 minute walk away,5-9am-located opposite Ubud Palace.

That said, don't expect 5 star embellishments here- the estate looks old but gardens n rooms are clean and maintained.No kettle in the room for tea/coffee but you can ask for a flask of hot water.Aircon in rooms are cool even though remote controls are old.In th evening mosquito coils are lit.

For us however, we are happy with the decent pillows, firm beds, pretty patio flowers dotting the entire estate and very hospitable servers who would take time to ask about your day.

Hotel guests are allowed to use Cafe Lotus entrance/exit if they don't wish to climb over Balinese staircases to the room compounds.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank julcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great location, nice gardens. However, we booked through agoda for two people, 2 nights. Upon our arrival the front desk told us that we were only booked for 1 person, and told us we needed to pay extra. They insisted we pay cash, in addition to the credit card payment we had already made in advance. The room was $60 USD, and they rudely pushed us to give them $10 more per night. If the booking was somehow erroneous, I said, we would gladly check in to another hotel and just cancel the reservation. After two days of discussing the situation with various irate hotel staff, who all interrogated us about our booking, and hours of going over the details laboriously, they acted as if they were doing us a favor by letting two people stay in one room. Obviously, this did not make for a pleasant stay. Five hotel staff sneered, gossiped, and were blatantly sarcastic as well as condescending to us during the duration of our stay. This was completely unprofessional and ruined our stay in Ubud. This was an obvious attempt to extort unseeming tourists who were locked into this hotel by prepaid reservations, and when we wouldn't pay up (remember, we offered to just cancel the whole thing and move to a different hotel), they treated us contemptuously. Be careful, and BEWARE of swindling at Puri Saraswati.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darini_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#156 of 199 in Ubud
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#98 of 199 in Ubud
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Saraswati Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saraswati Bungalows

Address: Main Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £36 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saraswati Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puri Saraswati Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Puri Saraswati Hotel
Puri Saraswati Ubud
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing