We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Saraswati Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Ranked #120 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

A group of us stayed at the Puri Saraswati Bungalows in May 09. Overall we were not pleased with the service or the rooms. The porters seemed to follow us around everwhere wanting tips for doing nothing. We found that the woman at the front desk was rude and in most situations, very unhelpful. All she wanted to do was sell us local tourist packages. When she found out we bought a tourist package from an outside source she was very unhappy and did very little to assist us from that point on. The rooms were reasonably clean but lacked a refrigerator or TV and were very dark. The breakfast was good, but below the standards of any other hotel we stayed at on our trip. The bells in the temple next to the hotel kept ringing very loud until 9PM every night. Overall it was the worst hotel we had on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    92
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
38
72
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

We spent ten days In Ubud over Christmas 2007/Jan 08 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked directly with the Guest House and final rate was correct - no hidden costs. $US60 per day.

Our room was a bungalow style with fan and A/C but no TV or phone. Bed was comfortable. Room was well-maintained and the grounds and pool were well-maintained. Breakfast was pleasant, nothing special. Staff were delightful and not pushy. The lady Catur (meaning "fourth" as in fourth child in Bahasa) was always charming and helpful.

Main attraction is location, next to the main temple/palace area in Ubud. Dancing and rehearsals can be noisy but not unpleasant. Puri is on the main street and you have an easy walk to ATMs, cafes etc. Although there are many homestay/ guesthouses around they are often in rice paddies and so a little wet.

Ubud is perched along a mountain ridge and so sticking to the main streets is easy walking from Puri.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No TV
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

Stayed here with my two young children and wife in October last year. I meant to write a review at the time, but got sidetracked for the last 12 months :)

The place is fantastic - we stayed there a week after staying in Sanur for a week first, and if we'd known how nice Ubud and Puri Saraswati were, we may have just stayed here the whole two weeks.

Say hello to Catur and the staff at front desk - I'm going back there again next year, and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Liked — Freindly staff and central location
  • Disliked — No internet access within hotel (there is, across rd at Casa Luna)
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miles_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

Puri Saraswati was a gem in the centre of Ubud. Walk off the footpath into a quiet haven of peace and tranquility. I booked 3 months in advance and when i arrived at the airport after a long flight there was our driver waiting and ready to take us to Ubud as promised. The staff were polite and helpful.The breakfast was superior. The rooms charming and clean. I would definately stay there again

  • Liked — Quiet and friendly but central
  • Disliked — The stay was too short!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndal_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

This was our third time staying at Puri Saraswati.

We stay here because we love the position. Rooms are not flash, basic, no television, basic furniture, a little shabby. We really don't care as the location next to the lotus pond is wonderful. Gardens are lovely and the pool is really welcomed after walking the streets of Ubud.

Breakfast is adequate if not a little boring after a while. Staff are helpful and pleasant although some like to offer "programs" a little too enthusiastically.

You could find better rooms in Ubud but I doubt you will find a better location in traditional Balinese style for the money.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank midcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

Probably the best location in town. Right on the main street and adjacent to an active temple. The rooms are pleasant but quite basic. The major drawback is the lack of service after breakfast. Coming back during the day either to sit on the verandah or by the small pool, it would be pleasant to be able to order something.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — location. tranquility
  • Disliked — lack of service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ady100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

Puri Saraswati is right off the main road in Ubud so very centrally located. It forms part of the Ubud Royal Palace property & is right next door to the Lotus Restaurant which provides room service meals & drinks for the guests of the bungalows. We were in the Yudistira Room which has a great Balcony overlooking the Lotus Pond & one night during our stay there was a traditional dance performance on the stage at the front of the Lotus Pond so we were able to watch from the comfort of our balcony. The bathroom was marble however the bedroom area was small & we had to walk over the King size bed to get around the baby cot so perhaps not ideal for a young family best for couples. The setting is absolutely lovely & only the basic nature of the room lets it down a little, they do provide a fridge upon request, safe is at reception - not in room, our room did have air con but room & bedding was quite old in appearance & perhaps only bathroom has been renovated? (It states on their website that it's newly renovated inside & out) Pool is large enough for a refreshing swim with a small kids area, only about 4 or 5 loungers which are quite old. The area where they serve breakfast is in a lovely setting & breakfast is very substantial with eggs any way you like, french toast, banana pancake, fruit salad, coffee & tea on offer. The gardens are just beautiful & the entry doors to the rooms are very ornate with a giant padlock securing them. Most of the bungalows are double storey (1 room ground level & another separate room above so you do have people above you) & some I believe are fan cooled only. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel as the character & traditional aspects would be hard to beat, however we went on a day trip & had a price given to us for our transport for a full day & the receptionist with the very high pitched demanding voice rang our driver as we were returing to the hotel & demanded we pay him more money - this left a very bad taste in my mouth as we always tip our drivers anyway but to be shouted at down the phone that we had to do this did not make me a happy camper when I confronted her later on, this was all after she found out we had eaten at an expensive restaurant the night before - not good business! So take my advice & organise transport outside of the hotel independantly! Otherwise all other staff were very helpful & couldn't do enough for you.

  • Liked — Location, Cultural experience
  • Disliked — Nasty front desk woman!! lack of security box in room.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatsotsgreatplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#100 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#127 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#123 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rouge Villas & Spa
Rouge Villas & Spa
#69 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cendana Resort and Spa
Cendana Resort and Spa
#125 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Saraswati Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saraswati Bungalows

Property: Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Address: Main Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saraswati Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Puri Saraswati Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Puri Saraswati Hotel
Puri Saraswati Ubud
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing