We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location with beautiful exterior but average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Ranked #123 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing location with beautiful exterior but average hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed here for a week and the location is perfect -- situated in the heart of Ubud so no need for taxis unless you venture out of Ubud. The staff was very happy to help with anything.

The rooms are quite small and the pool is pretty average though refreshing on hot sticky Ubud days. However, the shower drainage was very poor and there was mold in it as well as on the shower curtain. Bring flip flops for the shower! The exterior is beautiful and matches the nearby temple. You feel as though you are somewhere remote and not in the heart of Ubud so if your concerned with traffic noise being on Ubud Main Road, don't worry.

Thus, this is a nice treat for backpackers and those on a budget who don't need much space but probably better options out there for others.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    93
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
39
74
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We were only going to stay here for one night, but loved it so much we ended up staying for 4 nights. Right in the centre of Ubud, this great little hotel is close to all the bars, restaurants, temples and activites of Ubud- but is set back from the road slightly, so is still really quiet and relaxed.

It's also right next door to the Lotus pond and cafe, where they hold dance performances on a nightly basis- our room had a balcony which overlooked the stage, so we had a great seat for these performances.

The bungalows are lovely- spacious, with absolutely huge beds, and great little terraces at the front and the back where you can sit and relax. They feel very luxurious and comfortable. The hotel has a cute little pool- it's not very big, and only has about 4 loungers despite there being about 10 rooms in the hotel, but if you get there early to bag a lounger, you can spend a nice few relaxing hours by the pool.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, and these were lovely- fresh fruit, fruit juice, toast, omelettes etc. However, the staff loiter around you while you're eating and try to sell you day trips, which is very off-putting.

All in all though, I loved this hotel, and was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyFace28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I can afford the $ 500 Amandari but ate lunch there last time and would never go back.
Too cold. When you spend more money you see Less culture. Puri Saraswati is
good for adults/ couples/ singles . Does have some high steps in temple passes.
Beautiful gardens , nice pool for adults, Good location in center of town, walk to everything. Not going there for shampoo etc cause I bring that . Breakfast is good and plenty . Staff is wonderful !!! Catur is great and all of the staff is nice and helpful.
there is a beautiful temple next door that has dances and if you can hear them and see them from this hotel . It run about $ 70 usd. Laundry is expensicve. I really love this hotel because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contessapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Really it was just nice to have a place to stay. Puri Saraswati was neither great nor awful. It did have a good location and nice gardens. The room was drab, poorly lit, and not convincingly clean. The deck was comfortable, the pool was okay for lounging but questionable for swimming. Breakfast would have been better without hovering staff touts - there are plenty of sales opportunity on the street, can't I have a peaceful morning?

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lost_Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

There is potential for you to have a very satisfying stay at the Puri Saraswati, however, there is also scope for your stay to be truly horrendous. I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions - my last stay was with a group of friends who booked the entire hotel as part of wedding celebrations at the neighbouring palace and lotus pond. The benefit of the group stay was that I got to see almost all the rooms the hotel had to offer and hence my opening remarks. Let's go through some of the things you may need to know :

Rooms : There really is a wide variety on offer here that range from "GET ME OUT OF HERE" to "Oh this is quite pleasant". The rooms that are directly on the main road (of which there are only a couple I believe), despite being more economical are to be avoided at all costs. My friends were staying in one of these rooms, not by choice, they were simply the last ones to arrive and were given no other option. This room was in fact purpose built to be a mould farm it would appear. Mould on the floors, walls, ceilings - you name it. The poor girl staying there was even dreaming of mould. You get the idea, it's the stuff nightmares are made of. Then there are the average rooms of which most are - these are simple but quite comfortable, perhaps not as clean as they *could* be as others have noted. Then there are the deluxe rooms which I have to say for what you pay (circa 70-80 $USD - we received a slightly favourable price owing to the group booking) are really quite nice and you'd have to be a bit pedantic to complain for the money you pay. To cut a long story short - spend the little bit extra and get a deluxe room if you can - any of the rooms on the eastern side of the property adjacent the palace will satisfy most people I believe - unless you are truly accustomed to 4+ star accommodation.

The gardens/property : It is genuinely surprising just how nice the hotels grounds are in light of what you see from the road and even the impressions you may get based on what you see of the hotel lobby. It provides quite the sanctuary from the hustle and bustle that awaits if you step out on to the main road. I was definitely somewhat impressed with the gardens and sculptures. The pool is small but refreshing. Not sure if it the kind of pool you'd want to spend all day sitting by (if you are into that kind of thing....I'm not so I may be a poor judge), but great if you just wish to cool off or do some laps.

Staff : Friendly for the most part - other reviewers have made some negative references to a particular woman on the front desk. I am reasonably certain I know the lady to which they are referring and whilst I didn't have any issues with here myself, I can see how what they described may occur - she can quite abrupt but is very bubbly for the most part. I think it would be fair to say that the staff don't bend over backwards to go out of their way for you like in other hotels, but by the same token if you are not a particularly demanding guest then I don't see how you will have too many issues with them.

Breakfast : Soul destroying would be the most accurate description of this complimentary meal you receive as part of your room cost. In theory the breakfast sounds nice - you will have a choice of juice/coffee/toast/eggs any which way/banana pancakes/fruit salad - you will probably think it's OK on the first day. On the second day you will be less enthused and by the third you will probably be dreading it. I noted that the toast consistently had mould in it, not a great deal, but if you looked closely it was there alright - which whilst despite being understandable in the humid Bali climate, I never noticed this anywhere else I ate. My suggestion to those that are fussy over their breakfast (which I admit I am) is to go over the road to Casa Luna and spend $4-$5USD getting "real" coffee and a breakfast that doesn't send you into a deep depression. Another negative aspect of breakfast, is that this is the time you can expect an attempt to be sold a bike tour or spa visit by the staff. I found this intensely irritating but I would attempt to rationalise it by telling myself that they were no doubt simply trying to supplement their meagre incomes. But yes, despite trying to understand their motives, I hated it and would dread it each morning - yet another reason in case you needed one to go to the Casa Luna across the road for your morning meal.

Their website : Hasn't been touched for at least 18 months from what I gather. They quote 200k rupiah for transport to and from the airport but you can actually expect to pay 250k once you speak to them. The going rate at other hotels is circa 200k so they do charge a slight premium for this service relatively speaking.

Location : Great - provided you like.being right in the middle of things. which I must admit I didn't mind. It is on on Ubuds main road and a short walk to most of the popular eateries in Ubud. It is also very close to the Ubud markets (not a place to visit in my opinion...but that's another review..), banks, mini marts and within walking distance to neighbouring Campuhan.

Internet Access : Free wifi is available though you will struggle to receive it in your room - you will need to be in the breakfast area or lobby to enjoy it. Certainly better than not having it at all!!

So overall a bit of a mixed bag here with both positive and negative aspects to consider as a prospective guest. I would recommend this to friends (or you dear reader!) on the provision you were in one of the nicer rooms and if a very central location was a priority. I would just suggest that you request a deluxe room or any of the rooms on the eastern side of the property when you make your booking. The location is great, the staff are *OK* and the price is not outrageous for what you get overall. You could certainly do worse in my opinion, I know I have!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HarroReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

2 nights in nov 09, end of honeymoon

basic queen room, low season 70usd/night, with queen bed, aircon, mini fridge, no minibar. marble bathroom nice and big. basic breakfast included
the first room we got was very musty an had mould in the corner of the room so we asked to move. luckily it was low season so we had a choice to change room.

linen was basic, pillows and beds not very comfortable, curtains not light emiting so you wake with the sun. i had restless nights sleeping those 2 nights.

best thing about puri saraswati is the location close to ubud centre. walk to everywhere in ubud. the single pool is also clean and water is good quality for swimming.

staff friendly.

rooms are overpriced, if they were 20-30usd/night, it would be acceptable for the condition the accom is in. you pay for proximity to centre of ubud.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixyPo_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

A friend who lives in Ubud booked our first 2 nights here so we'd have a place to stay after a long trip and a late night arrival. She had stayed here years ago and was shocked by the price we were quoted: $80/nite. When she stopped by the next morning after we'd had a (lovely) breakfast, she was surprised it wasn't as luxurious as she had been led to believe and immediately sheperded us around the corner to Siti's Bungalows for a look around. Not only was Siti's quieter and more charming, it was about 1/4 the price. We were happy to move. OK so there wasn't shampoo in the bathroom with the property's name on it. Like that is worth $50? Get real. Saraswati did accept credit cards but our friend warned us they would likely add a service fee, typically 4%. This is not common practice in the U.S. or Europe but be warned that apparently it is in the few places in Bali which accept credit cards. This did not show up on the bill we were given at checkout and as it took one week to post to our account, by then we had left Ubud and were not able to complain to the property directly.

I agree with other comments about the staff pushing tours, dance tickets - first thing in the morning it was "Good Morning, tonight is the palace dance, would you like tickets?" Get used to it. Everyone in Bali is selling something.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegaMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#98 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#133 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#132 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#96 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#105 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Saraswati Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saraswati Bungalows

Property: Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Address: Main Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saraswati Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Saraswati Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Puri Saraswati Hotel
Puri Saraswati Ubud
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing