We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sit out the back to escape Main Street madness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gedong Sisi Warung

Gedong Sisi Warung
Ranked #183 of 720 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sit out the back to escape Main Street madness”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This doesn't look much from the street, but do yourself a favour and venture in. Walk right through to the back and find yourself overlooking a tropical paradise. And you lose the traffic noise.
Food is good quality and reasonably priced. It won't break the bank. The drinks a fabulous especially the non alcoholic ones.
Rest your legs for half an hour or so and enjoy the break. You'll be able to face the interminable cries of "taxi?" Refreshed :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanPopely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    100
    40
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty local food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I was with a friend for a dinner here. It is a nice place with attentive service and tasty dishes. The dishes were nice arranged and came very fast after the order. There is also a nice view in the back of the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Lei_Organa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing breakfast”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I along with our 8mth old son were in search of a restaurant for breakfast as our hotel breakfast is very simple. We came across this nice looking warung across from ubud market.

The staff friendly, amazing omelette coffee and mixed juice.

Would come again, maybe for banana pancakes next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Grec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Drinks cold”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were three couples and stopped at this restaurant for a light lunch. Food was tasty, service was good and the beer & wine cold. Couldn't have asked for more – in fact after sight seeing the next day we returned for a spot of quiet time to watch the world drift in to evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GedongSisiUbud, Owner at Gedong Sisi Warung, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear honorable guest,

on this great opportunity, on behalf of Gedong Sisi Team i would like to express my Gratitude to you, which already come a couples times to our warung and spend your valuable time to wrote us on tripadvisor

knowing your command regarding of our warung, it's just bring a positive energy for us to do more better and better to increase our service and quality in the future.

as you know, we are just open our business a couple month ago, of course there are so many thing that we need to increase, prepare and provide to full fill the costumer satisfaction.
your command, critical, advice are meaning everything for us, to increase our service and our sustainable business.

i live right behind the Gedong Sisi warung, as the local people we would like to introduce more local ability such as the warung building called "GEDONg" typical balinese house, the local staff with their local hospitality, and the foods and beverages fresh commodity supplied from reliable local farmer and reliable opposite market supplier.

once again thank you very much for visiting us and we are looking forwards to welcoming you back at Gedong Sisi and meet you personally, at your convenience times.


Best regards,

Ida Bagus Alit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxing vibe”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Group of 5 went for lunch during visit to Ubud. Food was excellent and was the service. Drinks were cold and tasty. Funky vibe with a good view of the road in Ubud. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank sawtersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GedongSisiUbud, Owner at Gedong Sisi Warung, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear honorable guest,

on this great opportunity i would like to express my gratitude to you, which already spending your valuable time to write us on tripadvisor.

as the very new in this restaurant business, (opened on october 2013) of course there's still a lot of thing that we need to increase in our warung. But knowing your respond it's just like a positive energy for us to do more better, better and better again to full fill the guest satisfaction, that why your command, suggestion and critical it's mean everything for us..to increase our future service and our sustainable business ..

for your information, my name is "Ida Bagus Alit" you may called me "Bagus" i live right behind the Gedong Sisi warung, as the local people, we would like to introduce more local ability..such as the warung building it's called "GEDONG" typical of balinese traditional house, the staf are from local community and not all of them has the tourism hospitality back ground, but we are and those people has a eager for learning. Here we introduce and train them regarding the tourism, the food's and beverage's fresh commodity, supplyed from local farmer and reliable opposite market supplyer.

once again, thank you very much for coming to our warung and wrote us on tripadvisor. which is mean everything for us.

we are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Gedong SIsi and meet you and your
group personaly at your convinience time.


Best regards,

Bagus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gedong Sisi Warung also viewed

 

Been to Gedong Sisi Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing