We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectations . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I so wanted to be able to write a glowing review of this property, but unfortunately after staying there, it just wasn't up to the standard of other establishments.

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in a garden view villa after having stayed in Nusa Dua for 8 nights.

When we arrived, we were greated by name, checked in and given a cool drink and cold towel while looking over the resort, which is stunning I must say.

We were taken to our villa and given a tour and made to feel welcome. The villa has its own plunge pool, cabana and deck chairs. The room has a four-poster bed, tv with DVD player, writing desk, indoor shower, outdoor shower, separate toilet, and a beautiful outdoor spa bath.

On the surface, this all seems fantastic, however the resort is looking tired and not well-looked after. The decks were weather worn, the room had marks and wearing, and you could even see from the resort directory in the room, it had all the pages falling out and was water damaged. I thought maybe this was the case for just our villa, but even by the main pool, you can see that the decks are weather worn as well. Also, you can clearly see that the bed linen is worn and not the quality you would expect from a 5 star resort, and you could see huge yellow stains on the sleeping pillows on the bed which made us very hesitant to lay on them.

The restaurant was just ok, we did have dinner here one night but the food was average for the price you pay. There are much nicer restaurants in Ubud and other resorts that were far more enjoyable. Breakfast was fine, with fresh fruit, bakery items and a cooked breakfast.

The spa was good however, with much more reasonable prices than other resorts and good value for money.

But besides the tired aspect of this restaurant, the other main problem it has is bugs. We thought this may have been the general Ubud area, however, we spoke to another couple staying in a similar resort and they didn't have the problem we did. There are bugs everywhere around your villa, even huge black ants crawling across the tiles of the villa. At night there were so many mosquitos and spiders all hanging around the doors of the villa, and it was distressing that they may get into the room through the cracks and disturb our sleep.

The service at this resort though is fantastic, we just feel that maintenance, up-keep, and quality are something that this resort definitely needs to work on, as there are many resorts in Bali that are maintaining the above high standards and unfortunately for this resort, they are leaps and bounds ahead.

We feel that if we visited Ubud again, we would prefer to stay at the Samaya as this property seemed to maintain a high standard and quality far surpassing the Ubud Village and for only a small amount more per night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loddi990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Out of the way, but not off the beaten track; The Ubud Village Resort & Spa, their staff and gorgeous facilities and location took our breath away. Hendra Nartha and all the staff we encountered during our stay were so friendly and so very helpful.
The grounds are set amongst some local farms with beautiful gardens and landscaping and architecture. There is a real sense of beautiful Bali here. Our adjoining villas were just amazing, we felt very spoilt. I loved the outdoor bathroom and our private pool, the beds were awesome and very comfortable. The internet service in our rooms was good in the villas too. The main pool with swim up bar though was soooo relaxing and the food in the restaurant was delicious with a choice of western or Indonesian cuisines to choose from. The shuttle to Ubud itself was very valuable too, but it's such a great place to discover I'd recommend walking into town at least once to check out all the wonderful shops along the way. Ubud is such a lovely place to visit I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We booked 5 nights at this resort and on arrival, we were greeted with a breath-taking view and a warm welcome complete with drinks and cool towels whilst check-in was processed smoothly and swiftly. As we arrived before the check-in time, we went to the restaurant for some lunch and were told that we would be advised when our villa was ready. We were very excited to try out the main outdoor pool which looked stunning.

When we opened the front door to our villa, there was a nice framed personal welcoming note and we were given a brief tour. The size of the villa was impressive, lots of outdoor space - gazebos on both sides of the smallish pool and a dining area with a kitchen. The room was of equally comfortable size and they kindly made up the sofa into a little bed for our 4-year-old daughter. The outdoor shower and bath felt very luxurious but we were also grateful for the indoor shower - we never attempted to bathe/shower outside, reasons to follow.

Once we were left to discover the villa by ourselves, we made an unpleasant discovery of some soiled tissues behind the bed. We rang up housekeeping and they came swiftly to remove the offending items. The villa was hidden amongst trees and provided a lot of shade which also meant lots of creepy crawlies - not just ants and mosquitos - big orb spiders hanging by the gazebos, and a hornet's nest by the front door (which we were told were of the inoffensive type).

Our first night was sleepless. My husband and I couldn't stop itching. We waited until our daughter awoke before tearing off the sheets and mattress protector which was when we saw stains that turned my stomach. When we reported the problem to the front desk, we were told that they would send a team to do a thorough clean but before that, the lady told us that it was normal given that it was the rainy season and bugs might have fallen from the roof. All the bedding was changed but the subsequent evenings were no different. My daughter woke up the next morning and her face was covered in bites. I ended up sleeping practically fully dressed on top of the duvet and used a towel as blanket. The last time I did that was when I was staying at a cheap bed and breakfast.

There were ponds/basins by the outdoor washing facilities towards the back of the villa, with nice little pads for little frogs to jump on and off. This area hardly ever sees the sun so it was also a mosquito breeding ground. The indoor shower also had visitors as there was a grill at the top designed for ventilation I guess - a frog and a rather large vicious-looking spider. Granted we are city dwellers and probably not the most tolerant of creepy crawlies but we wonder if more could be done to try and control their habitat and that of the hotel guests? Or perhaps the resort should come with some sort of warning?

Truly, the food was disappointing, definitely not of 5-star standard. However, the service throughout the resort was very friendly and attentive and the hourly free shuttle which took us into the centre of Ubud via the Monkey Forest and back was greatly appreciated.

We checked out a day early.

Room Tip: Our villa was at the end of the property, hidden amongst the trees which meant it didn't get muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The resort is fantastic. Our private villa was above all expectations, staff was great, fish food at the restaurant (actually room service) was great, spa is heavenly.

The photos on the website reflect reality-

The only thing we did not like was out of the resort control I think, which is the bad internet service we experienced all around Bali

Room Tip: We stayed at villa 432 and worked our great. I think that's the best on that side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miklos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Fantastic stay for 2 nights at this hotel. Arrived late at night and were greeted by friendly staff waiting up for us and a refreshing drink. Stayed in a garden villa - beautiful private pool and outdoor loungebeds, outdoor bath and shower (as well as indoor shower). The main pool and grounds are breathtaking. Travelling with three friends we rarely saw anyone else around and it was extremely peaceful and relaxing.
A perfect hotel for relaxing in quiet, beautiful surroundings, but within close proximity to Ubud village (via the free shuttle bus, a taxi or walking).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjp1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights during our week long honeymoon in Bali... Wish we had stayed for more.. every single bit of out stay was perfectly taken care of.. right from the checkin process to our villa and the overall experience in Ubud. My wife n i checked in to Villa 222 on the 30th Nov'13 and checked out on the 2nd Dec'13.. So this is kind of a late review.. I was hoping to write this as soon as we returned but we got busy setting up our home.. Anyway here it goes.. We were welcomed by the hotel manager and served an amazing guava mocktail and taken to our room.. then began the surprises galore.. first, we were told we were upgraded to a rice paddy villa from the garden villa that we had originally booked.. ( always ask for surprises ;) keeps the wife happy when the resort obliges )... then we were taken to our villa and welcomed with a board with our name on it... ( seemed very exclusive :) ) then we were given a lovely traditional foot massage... the private pool in the villa was one of the main highlights... when we went inside the villa, the bath tub was decked with lovely roses and firangi paani flower petals.. we just did not feel like leaving the resort for sight seeing... every single detail was taken care of.. when we returned after a tiring day of sight seeing, we were even escorted to the hotel for dining on their golf cart buggy... the staff at the breakfast lobby and overall at the resort were very courteous, helpful and cheerful throughout... our rooms were made in our absence and the mosquito problems were taken care of even without us pointing them out... the evenings were very pleasant and they would always leave a bed time story card explaining traditional Balinese stories.. the town is just a few minutes away from the resort and the staff would give u a schedule of the shuttle service and pick up points.. while u are there, dont miss the traditional Balinese legong, barong, and kechak dances.. its the traditional heartland of Bali.. also try dinner at Ibu Rai... its the best food we have had throughout our stay at Bali... Overall.. our Bali experience was truly mesmerizing.. we would ever be longing to visit Ubud Village again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My fiance and I had four nights here in early January. The resort was fantastic. Particular thanks to Hendra and the other staff.

Positive aspects:
1. Complimentary collection from our hotel in Legian
2. The Villa and private pool was beautifully presented and clean
3. The resort shuttle bus to Ubud is great
4. The resort assisted us to hire a motorbike from a reputable business
5. Breakfast was fresh and I enjoyed having personal orders after having 10 days at a large buffet
6. The grounds and main pool are amazing - this place is so peaceful. We loved being out of the centre of Ubud, but we had our own motorbike for transport
7. We received a complimentary foot massage upon arrival which was excellent

Negative aspects:
1. The lunch and dinner in Angkul Angkul restaurant was average
2. The room cleaning was very random. This is very minor but one day we returned at 4pm and the room was still unmade. In a cheaper resort I would not even mention this.

Overall a great resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBuddies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 197 in Ubud
1,996 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.5 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ubud Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ubud Village Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ubud
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#25 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £136 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ubud Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the verdant hillsides of Ubud, Ubud Village Resort & Spa is a perfect Balinese hideaway for romantic couples, honeymooners and families alike. Overlooking an expanse of gorgeous terraced rice paddies, Ubud Village Resort and Spa has a relaxing atmosphere throughout which is further enhanced by excellent service and guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ubud Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ubud Village Resort And Spa
The Ubud Village Hotel Ubud
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing