We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wunderfull stay in the heart of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We very much liked the rooms, with the romantic patio and the sky-open bathroom. Breakfast was the best in Bali and all the staff of the hotel without exception was very friendly and helping. the room service did a great job to bring order in the room (vacation with children!). We booked the room at Ubud village Hotel with a discount due to the fact that the swimming pool was under restoration. But the hotel staff proposed us actively to use the swimming pool at the luxury resort of the same brand just 5 minutes from Ubud center, so that we never felt bad for using the very exclusive swimming pool set in rice fields as well as the garden of the resort. We would come back if we stay again in Ubud. The setting of the new swimming pool which is currently under construction, overlooking the valley, is beautifull. But ask also to see the resort south of Ubud. CW

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christophe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

Beautiful hotel, breakfast overviewing the rice fields...or in your villa
The room are lovely and big with 2 gazebos and private pool.
Shuttle going in 10 minutes in Ubud
Service very good
Villa with pool at a very good price.
190 usd per night with taxes and breakfast for 2.

Tip: don't try the indonesian wine, or just for fun.......gloup!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garcia33610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I have to admit I'm pretty surprised to see some of the critical reviews of this resort. We have just returned from a trip around Bali and stayed for three nights in this hotel- and it was bliss. Upon entering you feel like you've arrived in paradise, and for us, that didn't change.

The grounds are beautiful and very well cared for, the rice paddies the property looks onto are picture perfect, and the villas are stunning- we couldn't have asked for anything else. Big pool (for a private room- not a plunge pool), comfortable four-poster king size bed, amazing bathroom and gardens. The only thing they could add would be some screens to one or two of the sliding doors so you can open them up at night and let the air through. But thankfully the air con is super strong and provides refuge on hot Ubud afternoons.

We loved the location. It’s just a bit down the road from Monkey Forest, 10 minutes on the complimentary hourly shuttle bus, and it was perfect for us. This is a place you can relax in and enjoy the time away from the mayhem of Monkey Forest Road before diving back in for more. We kept missing the busses though (because we were in holiday mode- no time keeping!) and a taxi booked through the hotel is IDR50,000 so that is a cost that can add up.

One of the most impressive elements of this hotel is the staff. We arrived very early- 10am- and while we had our welcome drink the staff rushed to prepare our room for us, which was above and beyond what they needed to do. From the front desk, to the yoga instructor, the restaurant staff- every person we encountered was warm, friendly, professional and a pleasure to interact with. We made a real effort to learn Bahasa and Balinese while we were there, and there is no better way to get to know Indonesians. They love when you try to speak their language, and the staff were great fun to chat with. Plus it was my partner’s birthday while we were there, and they brought us a cake with candles, and tea light candles to put around our garden.

The only thing that is significantly expensive is room service, but this is often the case in high end hotels. We never ate dinner in the restaurant as we wanted to be out and about exploring, and there is some great food in Ubud- happy to give recommendations.The breakfast was really great and served overlooking the rice paddies on the top floor of the restaurant.

My partner and I are very well travelled, and for both of us this was a superb experience. I would recommend it highly, and we would love to return in the future. Thank you to the team who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogs_and_Mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We chose this resort for our wedding anniverary in October and we were delighted.The check in was very smooth and we recieved a cool drink and cold towel, we arrived early and our villa wasnt ready but they took us by golf buggy to the restuarant for lunch and cocktails. Words cant describe the villa it was perfect as the photos show.The food was ok but the views were tops.But the highlight of our trip was the friendly staff, sitting in the bar at night and talking with these beautifull people made our stay here wonderfull.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

When you arrive at The Ubud Village Resort you think you have arrived in Paradise but that illusion is soon shattered. It looks very beautiful but the standard of everything is like that of a hotel on the brink of going bankrupt.

This is the only hotel I have stayed in, that the coffee was even awful! The food was at best poor it was as if everything was pre-prepared , hoping to be ordered, even the poached eggs were out of the fridge. Breakfast had to be pre ordered the night before whether you were having it delivered or were eating in the restaurant which it seemed most people chose not to do.

The bar was like "pub with no beer" because even though they advertised there cocktails thy did not have the alcohol to actually make any of them !!!

They were also incredibly understaffed so you would see the same person who took you for a walk in the paddy fields ( also weak to say the least compared to other hotels we stayed at on Bali) clean your room, bring you lunch, in the bar.......

The spa which on the website offers a variety of massages and treatments does not offer all that it says ie: they only offer one massage. This is only clear once you get in and read the information on photocopied loose paper in your room with all the other stained, torn, wet, information about the resort

The ammenities though nicely presented were obviously watered down to get more out of them the bathfoam ran like water as did everything else.

We we were meant to stay for seven nights but left after two as we were so dissappointed with this Resort which was a shame but led us to other wonderful hotels which could show The Ubud Resort how it's done to save itself from going under.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnlyHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After 12 nights in Seminyak we arrived at paradise, eveything about this place is first class. The staff were the most helpful and friendly we have encountered on our journeys and the resort itself is a haven of escape from the worries of the world. We are already planning our return - a big thank you to all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterbEdgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

honeymooners, prepare yourself. this is a hotel for great romance.
A hotel with bali style and a traditional one. this hotel offers a romantic situation. kind of eerie but, if you are a man, be a knight in shining armor and protect your princess from this eerie sitiuation. Because, it will start your romance fire ^_^
The bathtub is an open space and it is very very very and i am tempted to say again, very very very romantic for a spouse. I dont have a word to describe the situation there. it is very eerie for girl to take a bath alone there ^_^
Again, it is a very romantic hotel. you should try there if you are going to Ubud and have a very tight budget.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felixard1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 200 in Ubud
2,006 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 200 in Ubud
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#28 of 200 in Ubud
662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 200 in Ubud
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ubud Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ubud Village Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ubud
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#27 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £137 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ubud Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the verdant hillsides of Ubud, Ubud Village Resort & Spa is a perfect Balinese hideaway for romantic couples, honeymooners and families alike. Overlooking an expanse of gorgeous terraced rice paddies, Ubud Village Resort and Spa has a relaxing atmosphere throughout which is further enhanced by excellent service and guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ubud Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ubud Village Hotel Ubud
The Ubud Village Resort And Spa
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing