We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
Ranked #130 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was wonderful. My boyfriend and I visited Bali for a short trip (if you're in Bali, you should really just consider staying forever as it's so beautiful) and this was the first hotel in which we stayed. I arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport for about 250,000 rp and it made everything so much easier. Guzman (staff) picked us up in an air-conditioned van and was extremely polite and friendly. He even stopped at three different ATMs so we could find one where we could withdraw money.

Upon arriving, we were greeted with a welcome drink and a lot of smiles. The room size was decent, and the mosquito nets on the beds gave the whole room a really romantic vibe, which was great. The pool was probably my favorite part, as it is really beautiful and has a magnificent view of the rice paddies surrounding the hotel. You could even see one of the really big mountains in Bali from the pool. The hotel really has a beautiful property, and it's nice to go wander about if you don't mind the thousands of mosquitos ravaging your skin (but hey, that's usually the price you pay for a tropical paradise). Overall, the setting was absolutely perfect.

The hotel also offers a free shuttle service into central Ubud. We really wanted to go to the Monkey Forest and after spending the day there, I would really recommend it. It was one of the best times I've ever had. We also had lunch at the famous Ibu Oka, which serves an amazing suckling pig. I would definitely recommend that as well! After we were done wandering about in downtown Ubud, we called the hotel and they sent a shuttle to pick us up. It was so convenient.

The food at the hotel was pretty good. The breakfast was delightful, although light. I especially enjoyed the banana pancake. We also had dinner at the hotel and their traditional Balinese food is quite delicious. My boyfriend especially enjoyed the Nasi Goreng. The only thing that was something of a bummer was that the hotel wasn't serving alcohol the night we stayed there. That was a big letdown since we usually really enjoy a couple cocktails with our meal. It might only have been for that night but it was also impossible to really go out and get any drinks since the hotel was so far from everything. Also, the pool had a bar but there was nobody serving any drinks. I understand that it was low-season but it would've been great to enjoy a couple cocktails while enjoying the beautiful scenery. That was the only problem I had with this hotel because other than that, everything was absolutely perfect. I would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a wonderful stay, Bhanuswari staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    118
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
129
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mornington, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a disappointment. Although the setting is beautiful & serene nothing else was. Stayed in pool villa. Pool was the size of a bath & in the front of villa open to all & sundry walking by with no umbrella or outdoor seating. Not really a villa, it was a very small bedroom with ensuite attached & open front verandah with a dirty daybed . No light in villa except a bedside lamp which you couldn't read by so left bathroom light on which luckily we did as had to use bathroom in the middle of the night only to find bull ants swarming everywhere yes even in the toilet bowl & seat I mean everywhere. Spose to stay 5 days left after 2. Poor room amenities, no wi-fi in room, uninspiring menu,limited breakfast.Compared to elsewhere we have stayed for the cost, this is 2 star at best.

Room Tip: Dont pay xtra for a pool villa its a waste of money. If u are not happy with your room ask to see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I traveled to Ubud with high expectations of beauty and relaxation, and we were not disappointed. The scenery at the resort is beautiful, and our hut was set right beside the rice paddies. The staff was gracious, and helpful for our full 5 day stay, and even met us in the middle of the night with welcome drinks (our flight was really delayed). The spa was amazing, and we indulged in couple's massages at both the beginning and end of our stay. There isn't enough I could say about the value of Bhanuswari!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at the Bhanuswari for 3 days and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Bottom line: relaxing, beautiful, and comfortable. I would definitely return.

The staff were responsive, professional, helpful, and so friendly! Their hospitality made my stay a true pleasure. I booked a standard room, which provided excellent value. My unit was quiet (only nature sounds at night) and beautiful. My bed (a "king" = 2 twins pushed together) was comfortable, and the room had both a full mosquito net and an AC. Water bottles and fresh fruit were provided upon check-in, and replenished on my second night (much appreciated!). The bathroom is large, with a luxurious tub. Free wifi extends everywhere.

Other amenities: the pool and grounds are truly beautiful, and offer a very relaxing natural getaway. The restaurant food was pretty good. I only ate breakfast, and found it to be good but smaller than advertised in the menu. The spa is minimalist, but the services are wonderful. I had a full 2-hour treatment, which was a bargain (I highly recommend the massage and facial). Getting into Ubud is incredibly easy: the shuttle runs from 8 am-10:30 pm, and you can call to be picked up. I was also given a free airport pickup with my stay, which was wonderful.

Room Tip: The further you are from reception/restaurant, the quieter your room will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

At First, I had to book in Bhanuswari because I was comitted for a detox Program, but this hotel impressed me a lot, it is so rich in various issues: Big Reception, Clean and Decent Rooms, excellent Massagers, lovely pools, relaxing green view especially of rice fields.... Not to forget that everyone was smiling to me, anywhere and anytime I am there...

Room Tip: Big Reception, Clean and Decent Rooms, excellent Massagers, lovely pools, relaxing green view especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Bhanuswari before and we came back again as we still believe this is one of the better budget hotels in Ubud Bali. The friendly staffs, secluded location, 15 minutes south of Ubud, hygiene and reasonable tariffs contribute to a most pleasant stay. The regular shuttle will drop you off and pick you up in Ubud for free if you feel like visiting Ubud.

The first week of the New Year is celebrated in the hotel with a nice family orientated New Year’s Eve celebration, followed be several other activities like a fishing competition, bike ride and Bhanuswari birthday party on the 5th of January which all the guests can join in with the staff and their family in genuine Balinese spirit.

See you again Bhanuswari.

Room Tip: We love the units next the rice fields and the ones with the view of the rice fields. So Balinese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarcisio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penebel, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you want to go to Ubud center for dinner or just for sightseeing, the hotel provide shuttle service on your request. We slept there two nights only for my holiday. I appreciated the hotel driver had taken us to get a good restaurant in Ubud.

Room Tip: I recommend choosing a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SangGiri_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
2.9 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#113 of 198 in Ubud
183 reviews
12.4 mi away
Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#104 of 198 in Ubud
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agung Raka Resort & Villas
2.1 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#114 of 198 in Ubud
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanuswari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanuswari Resort & Spa

Property: Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Tengkulak | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#101 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bhanuswari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco / sustainable tourism / GLBT friendly welcome to tranquility! Bhanuswari Resort & Spa offers "natural Bali", providing exquisite peace in a lush tropical environment, away from traffic. For discerning travelers seeking both traditional and modern Bali, we offer a true sense of place, with a special spirit that is truly unique. Only a 10-minute drive from Ubud, "cultural capital of Bali", this property is surrounded by flowing water and gently terraced rice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bhanuswari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhanuswari Resort And Spa
Bhanuswari Hotel Ubud
Bhanuswari Resort Ubud
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing