We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience, not close to centre Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa
Ranked #133 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

If you wanted to get away from everything and spend most of your time at the hotel, then this is probably the place for you. There are rice paddies surrounding the hotel. Its so well tucked away that our driver had a bit of trouble finding the hotel. You may also enjoy the very loud croaking frogs and insects in the night.

However if you wanted to explore Ubud, in my opinion this is the best location. Although there was a free hotel shuttle service to the centre of Ubud, the trip each way took around 15mins in non-congested traffic (which is unlikely in the day).

My partner and I stayed here for one night in the superior room. The website says the room "overlooks the infinity-edge salt-water pool as well as either the rice field terraces or the spring-fed stream and features 1 king-sized bed." We were looking onto a construction site where I think 2 new villas were being built. We had 2 twin beds pushed together instead of one king sized bed. The outdoor bathroom was big but too hot. We could see that Bhanuswari used to be great, but is now a little run down and requires some touching up. Our plug hole in our sink was blocked.

We had quite an unfortunate experience at Bhanuswari. When we got back from Ubud centre in the night, we plugged a phone charger into a socket. The fuse went and the whole room was left without electricity. Luckily we had showered before this happened. We called reception about it and they promised to send someone over immediately to deal with it. We waited for around 30 minutes in the dark without air-conditioning. It was around quarter past midnight, we were tired and gave up waiting and decided to sleep without air-conditioning.

We spoke to the manager the next morning. At first he didn't believe that we had called reception the night before for assistance. He insisted that he would have answered the phone and he had no recollection of us phoning. Then he offered to take $5 off our price. We thought this was ridiculous. We said if we wanted a non air-conditioned room, we would have gone somewhere else and paid much less. The manager kept saying he didn't want to argue with us but he didn't seem to be very reasonable by giving us a $5 discount. In the end, when we finally checked out, the manager reluctantly accepted our offer to pay the price of a standard room.

The breakfast was ok. We were a bit disappointed that we had to choose between either fruits and a fruit juice. All the other hotels we stayed at offered both fruits and fresh fruit juice. Furthermore the pineapples that were served were not ripe enough to eat.

Our friends wanted to have a massage at Bhanuswari before we left for the airport. However for some reason the spa was closed.

Overall it was very unfortunate that we did not have the best experience at Bhanuswari. The rural setting amongst the rice paddies would have been very enjoyable if we didn't encounter the above problems.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownbears2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

Despite hotel booking sites listing this as an Ubud hotel (Asiarooms even has a fantasy map showing it in the middle of Ubud), it is 6km away and not even in the same regency. The hotel does have a free car to shuttle you into town, but there's nothing within walking distance (even the local village shop is miles away). Apart from that, all the reviews here are spot on. It’s quiet with a nice restaurant overlooking the rice paddies, service is good and the well-appointed rooms are good value. But it ain’t the real Bali (unless you think Bali is one big resort full of hotels), and Ubud has a surplus of other nice hotels. We stayed at one in Ubud next to rice paddies with an even nicer rural aspect, only a five minute walk to the centre of town. But if you hire a car (like we did on the last day here), this place is a quiet alternative and a pretty good buy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thanksalotyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We started our 1st resort at 10pm. Its approx 10-15mins drive from Ubud Palace and located in a village. Checkin was a bliss, quick easy and a good refreshment drink (ginger with soda, and perhaps some peppermint leaves) was served within 1min of our arrival.

We book deluxe room, which is within 1min walk from the main building in a semi-detached house. We seem to be the only resort guest at the deluxe side for the night.

The 1st glance of the room, is WOW, the bed is hugh and the canopy adds such a good touch to it (the canopy have functional usage, being in village right at RICE fields, some nights you get insects in the room). The toilet is as big as the bedroom, with the centrepiece being the bathtub. And our princess happily soak in that tub everyday. Resort provide 2-way transfer to Ubud (any place in ubud) by demand. This is really a good add-on service provided. We have the luxury to take the village chief's ride on one day, and he told us about his inspiration for the resort and hope it can provide his village people a stable income.

Breakfast in the resort is really so-so. The pool is small but deep, and out of 3days when we are using it, we have exclusive usage.

High speed free Wifi available at their restaurant and its complimentary.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatshoptravel-etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The almost two week stay was relaxed, comfortable and very, very friendly. The team was an absolute pleasure to deal with. The location, because it's out of the main Ubud frenzy, was perfect. Near enough to get there quickly, far enough to be truly serene. Thank you, Nyoman, Wayan and the rest of the gang for making my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

After a hectic week in Jakarta, I escaped to this wonderful hotel in Bali for a weekend. As soon as I arrived at the airport, Wayan was waiting to give me a ride to the hotel. The hotel is about an hour away, but it gave me time to ask Wayan about Bali and things to do on my trip with limited time. He definitely gave me enough information for a month long trip, but told me about a an all day tour that would give me an option to see as much as possible in a day. I arrived at the hotel after dark. I checked in, signed up for a tour, and was offered a really nice tropical-ginger type drink. The hotel staff helped me take my bags to the room. The first thing I noticed were the ants... there is a gap between the door and the floor and ants are free to wander. I did a little stomping, turned off the lights and called it a night. The next morning, I went for the complimentary breakfast with the freshly blended fruit juice; no complaints there, the nasi goreng was pretty tasty. And the view of the rice paddy complimented the breakfast; if serene is what you are looking for, this place has it. The owner came up to take me on the all day tour, and gave me some really great insight on the different industries (silver, art, agritourism, etc...). Outdoor massage and the salt-water infinity pool were great.

All-in all aside from the little ant problem, this hotel is great for budget travelers that want to relax in a calm setting. The service is amazing, the scenery is great, and the flowers on the bed and turn down service are a great touch.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaTravels404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I absolutely loved this place 100%! It was so beautiful to be away from the main parts of town and loud touristy spots. Located 10 mins by car from Ubud town centre (the hotel offers pick up & drop off!) surrounded by rice padies and with a gorgeous garden of coconut and banana trees, beautiful butterflies and flora and fauna in general, the staff were so lovely and the serenity was simply gorgeous! Beautiful pool, great beds and showers, just so peaceful and relaxing! I highly reccommend staying here if you like peace and quiet with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetter2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#128 of 199 in Ubud
70 reviews
2.9 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#114 of 199 in Ubud
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#115 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
#129 of 199 in Ubud
241 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#106 of 199 in Ubud
94 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cendana Resort and Spa
Cendana Resort and Spa
#131 of 199 in Ubud
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanuswari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanuswari Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Tengkulak | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#105 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bhanuswari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco / sustainable tourism / GLBT friendly welcome to tranquility! Bhanuswari Resort & Spa offers "natural Bali", providing exquisite peace in a lush tropical environment, away from traffic. For discerning travelers seeking both traditional and modern Bali, we offer a true sense of place, with a special spirit that is truly unique. Only a 10-minute drive from Ubud, "cultural capital of Bali", this property is surrounded by flowing water and gently terraced rice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bhanuswari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhanuswari Resort And Spa
Bhanuswari Hotel Ubud
Bhanuswari Resort Ubud
Bhanuswari Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing