We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night is just not enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nefatari Exclusive Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Ranked #64 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night is just not enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Went to Bali in Oct, initially we just plan to stay around Kuta area but after came across with so many excellent review in here, me and partner decided to give it a try to stay a night in Nefatari.

We were fetch by our driver to the villa, we actually fall in love with Ubud compare with Kuta because Ubud has more balinese experience for us. Upon arrival, we were a little bit surprise when the reception can even call out my partner's name, the first feeling of being home.
the Villa is quite hidden/outskirt i can say, it's not located in Ubud town. It's a 5~10 minutes driving distance from town, but you won't have any problem of travelling to town because you can always request for the all day long shuttle service, and they're quite efficient and polite i can say :-)

After checked in, we were brought to the villa name pucuk, heard that it is the smallest villa, but who cares when we have only 2 person. I actually don't expect much since it's the smallest villa, but when we got in, we were still quite stunned, the space, room, pool and size of everything else is just perfect to fit 2 of us. I saw some reviews that people doesn't recommend villa pucuk as it is the smallest villa, but i think if just for 2 person, it is still consider quite spacious. Hereby i attached some photos for ref.

The pool is small but clean, with 2 day bed and outdoor towels, before entering to the room, there's the lounge area with sofa and pillows. You can have your meals outdoor under the tiny hut just near the pool. Not to mention, villa pucuk received quite decent amount of sunlight during the afternoon around 2~5pm.

After some rest we head over to the reception area for shuttle service to the spa, the receptionist actually recommended Putri Bali spa to us and coincidence we already pre-book the same spa for that day, so the reception call up the spa to double confirm our booking with them and ask the spa to send someone and fetch us.

After the spa we called back to Nefatari for shuttle service back to villa, and they immediately send a driver to come and fetch us, thumb up for super efficient service. At last we plan to dine in the villa as we found out the price for food in Nefatari is quite cheap compare to some other restaurant outside. Around 280k Rupiah we had a full portion of Balinese Satay, some dumplings and a bottle of beer, it's very reasonable because normally you cant find such price when you dine in in resort/hotel/villa. And not to mentioned, the satay is nice! When we finished our dinner, it's around 10.30pm and we worried that the cats or ants might come if we don't clean up our table, so we called for room service. After a few minutes, without hesitation someone with smile on the face came and clean up. We were absolutely satisfied for this kind of service.

Although the room is not spotlessly clean, can still feel some dust at the corner area, but the outdoor bathroom is absolutely gorgeous, clean bathtub with open air shower, close enough to nature, and we like how they build up the bathroom. You'll definitely enjoy and have a relaxing bath there. The King size bed were form with 2 Single bed, although you cant really feel the gap in between but i wish they can replace it with a twin bed in the near future. Snacks and drinks were free flow from around 12 to 7pm, you wont feel hungry even you don't get out from the villa. Breakfast was nice, it's not like buffet style, but you can order from their breakfast menu with unlimited order. The banana pancake is tasty, im missing it until today! i love how they server their breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits and vege, everything is freshly made to serve.

The staff in Nefatari never fail to fullfil our request, they're so efficient and polite, you'll feel like your second home here. the pools tend to get a lot of floating leaves, incsects over night but the staff will come and clean it in the next morning even we don't request for it,they have 2 room service per day!

We enjoyed our stay there so much just throughout the one night stay, a little bit regret for just staying one night, that's why me and my partner have a deal of coming back after 1 year, for longer stay. Hopefully the price won't go sky high after 1 year because of all these excellent reviews.

Room Tip: Villa pucuk is small but get decent amount of sunlight. banana pancake for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YiJunLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    99
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
153
241
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed at Nefatari in October for 4 nights. We had a 2 bedroom villa. It didn't seem to have a villa name and I can't remember the villa number. We arranged to be picked up in Tanjung Benoa by the villa's transport which duly arrived and took us up to Gingakuerta on the last leg of our holiday.

On arrival, registration was prompt and we received our welcome drink. We quickly settled into our pool villa. Of course the first order of business was to get in the pool as quickly as possible. The pool was great and we spent a lot of time in and around it, as the dining area was beside it.

We ate breakfast at the villa each morning and you could also get afternoon tea delivered there. The room service menu was reasonably priced with the usual mix of Indonesian and western food.

A big plus is the shuttle service to and from the centre of Ubud - very handy. We did walk inot Ubud a few times and even with young (dawdling) kids it took us no longer than half an hour. the walk into town through Penestanan is well worth it with plenty of small artist galleries and warungs along the way.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Enjoy the company of the resident cats
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I booked this place because of 2 things - the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor + the affordable price for private pool villa. I stayed in ubud village resort 4 years ago for honeymoon and absolutely loved it, but it's a lot more pricey now. So Nefatari fits the bill when I saw that it is in Ubud (nice cool surrounding, not as noisy & messy as Kuta).
Agree with the other reviewers, that this place is not upmarket/luxurious, but rather down to earth and very close to nature. But this is great in its own way, not pretentious/stiff.
Ok, what do I love about this place?
The service is excellent, the staffs are really accomodating, since we travelled with our 2 year old daughter, our schedule is pretty much dependent on hers. I had to make last minute arrangement for tour guide and the receptionist patiently listen to my needs and helpfully make the calls and explain accordingly. We even got the receptionist and driver to help get takeaway from Naughty Nuri's when our were 'room-bound' since my daughter decided to extend her nap and my hb wanted to have the ribs so much
The outdoor bath is cosy, and really relaxing to soak in the warm bath listening to the nature. The swimming pool is good sized and not too cold even in the morning.
The complimentary, on-demand shuttle service is fantastic, we saved so much money n hassle from having to hail taxi and negotiate rates. Get a prepaid simcard so you can call anywhere to ask for the shuttle. What we usually do is ask the shopkeepers to tell the hotel where exactly we are for the pick up. We got the XL one, paid only rp36k for the simcard, some credit & 100MB data.
The spa is simple but nice, by the river. The massage is good, 1 hour feels way too short, they should offer 2 hours massage in the spa menu :-)
Breakfast is a good spread, we enjoyed the local food more than the western ones, our daughter love the breakfast rolls and finish 2 every day. The lunch menu items are limited, but of good value and tastes great too. I like how they serve lots of fruits n vegetables with the meal. I've always asked for meals in the villa so have no idea how's the restaurant like :-P
Anything I didn't like? Yeah, but no biggie sort of stuff, such as, the air smell of cow dung on the first day, it went away after the rain, but hey, that's part of being close to nature. We were in Cempaka villa and the bed is made of 2 twin beds combined, wished it's a king sized bed instead. And the villa is not spotlessly clean, can see some dust/spider web here n there, and the pool has dust floating on it, but all in all, it's a nice villa and would definitely consider going back although we are spoilt with options in Bali

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YunQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked the Nefatari Villas as it looked like a reasonable base close to town.
When we arrived we realized that we had under-estimated this little gem of a place.
From the quiet but excellent service to the roomy and comfortable classy villa with its large private pool, travertine flooring and open bathroom it was obvious that this was a special place to be.
Food was imaginative and enjoyable, the area was very quiet, the villa was scrupulously clean, and transport to town (7 minutes) was available all day at no charge (both ways).
In summary, our new favourite place in Ubud, at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binksy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed in the 1 bedroom pool villa Mitir in late October. My family could not stop raving about how much they loved this place! I think what makes this place so amazing is the staff! Everyone from the driver to the front desk personnel really look after you to make sure you have a good time. From the time they pick you up from the airport to the time you check out, no task is too big for the team at Nefatari. The staff has accomodated an in-villa dinner at last moment's request when it was already full. They agreed to come back into Ubud city center to take us to our dinner reservations. They provided an infant bed for my son with all the linens for babies.

One thing to note is that the spa is absolutely wonderful and reasonably priced. For about $10USD, you can get a great massage at their open air spa at Nefatari. The spa is in a naturally beautiful surrounding like the rest of the resort. The therapists are talented and I wish I got more than one massage there.

For breakfast, pick the nasi goreng (friend rice) or the mie goreng (friend noodles) at least once. They are the true Balinese breakfast items.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

I can not praise Nefatari and the beautiful staff there highly enough. They made our holiday experience OUTSTANDING! From their adorable private pool villas to their complimentary mini bar, afternoon teas and shuttle to and from Ubud, this place has thought of everything. The garden surrounds are magical, my only comment would be, that for the sake of the catfish, they could clean the fish pond which was swampishly green, but somehow it DID look fantastic amongst the garden setting!?!
As the location is a little way out of Ubud, (about a 20min walk I am told), it may not suit everyone, but I am awaiting a hip replacement and can not walk far at all and I still found it to be paradise (especially with the complimentary shuttle).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntrepidLambchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I merely give up this villa before I made my booking. My first impression it is very old after I had gone through all the pictures... in fact I was wrong when checked in.
Firstly I must highlight their excelent hospitality. They matched what i had requested. They have done what we suppoesed to. All the staffs are busy but manage to offer a good service.
Environment is quiet and peaceful. The room is clean and neat.
Food is fair but they did not ready any cultery set and coffee cup in the villa. They provide upon request which I think it is necessary to me.
Last but not least. The service of driver is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 辉 捞
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.9 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefatari Exclusive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefatari Exclusive Villas

Property: Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Address: Banjar Katiklantang-Desa Singekerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nefatari Exclusive Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefits: Daily full Breakfast served from : 7:00 - 13:00 pm Free Airport Transfer In-Out Welcome drink upon arrival Complimentary mini-bar in the room On-demand shuttle service to and from Ubud Fruit basket in the room upon arrival One complimentary dinner on the evening of your choice Bottle of French or Australian wine. Afternoon tea/coffe served wit a variety of pastries from : 13:00 - 19:00 pm Special wedding gift. Located amidst verdant rice paddies, NEFATARI consists of five villas, three single units and two family villas. The villas are constructed in traditional Balinese design using indigenous materials such as stone, teakwood, camphor wood and bamboo. Each villa is finished with a naturally insulating, fragrant Balinese "alang-alang" roof. Nefatari is approximately a 50-minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and is located in the upland area of Ubud, know worldwide as Bali's artistic and cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Nefatari Exclusive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefatari Exclusive Villas Hotel Ubud
Nefatari Exclusive Hotel
Nefatari Exclusive Ubud
Nefatari Exclusive Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing