We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice villa and a touch with nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Ranked #72 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a 3 night stay and wished I could stay a bit longer. Villa was definitely private and separate from other villas. The pool was big and very clean though I had limited use of it due to the constant thunderstorms coming into the Ubud area. Other reviews mentioned the annoying rooster which crows early in the morning. Although I heard it, it did not wake me up from my sleep. However, it was quite annoying during throughout the day and I could hear it crowing in the afternoon. Probably the one reptile that kept me up the most is the the Gecko. They can somehow make their way into the room or at least very close to it, and start making loud sounds. A mosquito net is provided to keep insects away while you sleep.

The breakfast was quite good and offered a wide selection of Indonesian choices. One such breakfast item is Bubur Ayam, which is the equivalent of Chinese congee (porridge). Afternoon tea was also delicious.

My best summary of the room would be a mixture of standard room with a touch of nature. The bathroom stands out from other hotels in that you could actually enjoy a partial or complete outdoor shower experience with all the comforts of privacy. You may hear or see various insects inside the bathroom. The staff installs a mosquito coil to ward off any mosquitoes which appeared to be quite effective.

Two bottles of water were provided daily in the bathroom. The mini-bar, located outside of the room, is stocked with drinks and is free to consume. The wi-fi was quite slow and it took me awhile to get from one internet page to the next.

Hotel provides both local transportation to the Ubud area, and if necessary; can also arrange for a private driver to take you around Ubud as well as up to Kintamani. There is also a free airport transportation.

This hotel provides the right mix of a standard hotel and mother nature. I enjoyed my stay here and I hope to stay here again if I return to Ubud.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

This review is based on a 7 nights stay.

Location:
The hotel is about 10min drive from Ubud downtown

Services:
1) The staff were very nice and friendly

2) The massage at the Spa was nothing special but the view was amazing, you could say the view was more relaxing than the massage.

3) The breakfast was average but it was for free. You can order the breakfast and be delivered to your Villa.

4) The pool was big but freezing, we were not able to enjoy it.

5) They offered a free shuttle service to downtown Ubud, you can call them at anytime to drop/pick you up.

6) They offered shuttle service from/to the Airport for free.

Room:
1) The Villa that was offered to us was the two bedrooms Villa because the single bedroom Villas were fully occupied. So the second room was never used.

2) The Villa was completely private.

3) The design of the Villa and the rooms were authentic.

4) The bathroom had a shower and a big bathtub. The design of the bathroom is also nice, it was open-air bathroom.

5) The housekeeping always kept our room clean and tide, and the pool without leaves.

6) The AC was fantastic.

7) Few water drops were dropping from the ceiling at my face while sleeping which was annoying. It happened twice, one of them at a rainy day.

8) The Minibar had Coke-Cola Products and some local Soda products. Also, it had some local desserts. Everything is for free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We travelled in a group of 3 adults and 2 young children (5 yr old and 3 yr old).

What we liked:

1) the spacious 2-bedroom villa which was very clean and comfortable. mineral water bottles restocked daily in the fridge and in the bathroom. Rooms were serviced twice a day.

2) free wifi allowed us to reply some emails in the 4 nights we stayed, and check out the web for good places to eat/visit

3) yummy breakfast. limited number of main course but very good food and value. children loved the banana pancake and had them everyday for breakfast. they were cooked perfectly and not too sweet. the nasi goreng was tasty and bubur ayam very comforting hot food with generous amount of vegetables. there was also lunch and dinner available. we had bebek betutu (smoked duck) on our last night at nefatari and enjoyed the dinner and the duck very much, made even more delightful with the candles setting.

4) the driver and car that was available within minutes to bring us to anywhere we wish to go for meals and shopping. very convenient with children around and the occasional rainy weather. after the meal we could give the restaurant the nefatari namecard and the restaurant staff would call nefatari to send a car to fetch us. In our previous hotel in Ubud, the shuttle was only available at certain times and there was a quite a bit of waiting. So we really appreciated this thoughtful service by nefatari, also the airport shuttle was included free and very punctual.

5) the location was perfect as we planned to visit the rice fields during our visit. There were many rice fields right outside and around the hotel that we could walk into and enjoy the nature surroundings. The locals were friendly and did not mind us visiting their fields. It was peaceful and quiet in the villa in the day and night so the kids had good sleep even though there were birds to wake us up in the morning

The only thing that could bother me was a frog that entered our bathroom one night when it was raining quite heavily. But we managed to chase it away before it could enter the bedroom. We also encountered some flies, one or two dragonflies, one grasshopper and a few lizards and butterflies in the outdoor area of the villa (none inside the room). This was probably part and parcel of staying in a natural surrounding and educational for the kids.

Overall the stay at nefatari was very pleasant and we were very grateful to the hotel staff for the fantastic service and for making our holiday to Bali a joyful one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLL452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family villa.so spacious. beds very comfortable, I normally wake with a sore back but not here.
breakfast delicious , I requested fresh mangoes which were provided like everything else with courteous promptness.
Although not in walking distance, their shuttle service is on demand and I never waited more than 3 minutes after requesting transport at the reception.
Traditional bali accommodation , I love the courtyard shower, private yet with the feeling of being outside.
Thankyou nefartari staff
Highly recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Not looking forward to another chrome and glass noisy family-friendly soulless concrete chain hotel edifice? Nefatari Villas in Ubud could be just what you are looking for.
We arrived by transfer from a Seminyak resort to a quick check-in procedure on an extremely hot mid-afternoon. A villa my daughter and granddaughter were allotted was a 2-storey family unit. The pool and private walled grounds were huge by normal villa standards. To the rear of the property were some animals in a small area and the smell from there was too strong to make anyone want to spend much time outside.The ground floor was a large double bedroom which unfortunately had a strong smell of mould making it uninhabitable for them. The bedroom upstairs was large and airy without any mould or animal smells.
As age pensioners we were feeling the heat in our nice villa a short distance away and without any smells. The pool water was not cool enough to be refreshing and the request for a fan for the outside cabana was answered with the fact they had only one free-standing for the total complex which was currently in use. Even though it was permanently set to the minimum 16 deg. the airconditioning unit output was not able to lower the room temperature below 28 deg. during the day and no lower than 24 deg. during the night and 21 deg. at dawn. We knew it was dawn as the curtains on the large expanse windows on 2 full sides of the main room were in no way blockout material. We were able to have the fan on our second day and used it whenever we were in the outside pool cabana and directed to our bed during the night. A few visits from the maintenance people failed to change the performance of the aircon. Our yard area was surrounded by incredible largely hand-laid fitted random size rock walls as were all the villas I believe. The pool was large enough for some 3-a-side volley ball next day. The full-size outdoor fridge in the cabana was not cold as were the undrinkable complimentary drinks when we arrived. It appeared it had not been defrosted or turned on much before we arrived. At another resort in Jimbaran during our Bali stay a faulty large fridge was replaced and restocked while we were at breakfast without our knowledge! Outside bathroom was a nice touch. We asked the maintenance man to fix the shower rose as it was not spraying evenly...he hit it on his hand a few times which did little or nothing to change the water flow and seemed quite pleased with himself. We tolerated the shower for the rest of the 5 days where we there; however, we did notice the exact same outlet on the bath worked perfectly and would have been simple to swap - notwithstanding the faulty shower rose possibly only needed the nylon spray head to be either replaced or maybe just cleaned of calcium.
Breakfast in restaurant was very good...everything on the menu included in the package. Other dine in meals adequate; no western (steak, etc.) meals available without 24 hours notice which is perfectly understandable due to the number of eating places in Ubud that most guests might prefer to check out. With our first evening meal we ordered a bottle of the only white wine on the list - the drinkable local Halletts white at about $A20. Next day we rang for another bottle to be delivered to the room only to be told there was none left; however they did have a bottle of Hallett red!
Privacy was first class and the service was never too much trouble even if the end result was not what was hoped for on occasion.
Although this might read as a negative review we would not hesitate to recommend Nefatari Villas with their traditional Balinese architecture to honeymooners or young couples looking for a quiet spacious out-of-the-way resort - but within a few minutes' free shuttle on demand from Ubud town - which also is excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I just return from a 2-nights stay at Nefatari. I highly recommend this place. All those amazing review you read about in trip advisor are true. The airport pick-up was as promised and punctual. On arrival, our driver Mr Agung is very thoughtful in bringing a cooler to keep bottled water cold which is certainly refreshing after a long journey. Welcome ginger drink on arrival at the lobby was very refreshing too after about 1 hour journey in the car from Ngurah Rai airport to the villa itself.
We were given a quiet villa at the back with excellent interior and big space. the pool and bathroom were clean. For those travellers, clean towels and toiletries were provided, including a hairdryer which is very helpful for female traveller. The quality of food is also amazing. We had 2 different afternoon tea on our 2 nights stay: fried banana and cheese pancake with some fruits with tea/coffee/juice. Breakfast is from 7am - 1pm followed by afternoon tea from 1pm to 7pm. Transport is reliable and available between 7am to 11:30pm. Unlike other luxury villas/hotels who provide hourly shuttle to town, Nefatari offers transport anytime, anywhere within 30 min distance ie not only to town. They have got 4-5 cars for guests and drivers are always available when we need transport. Its location is in the middle of a village and rice field. There are some big villas around but it is still very secluded. You definitely need the driver+ car to go to town etc. Walking is possible but very dangerous as there is no assigned path for pedestrians. There are complementary drinks and snacks available in the room which are topped up daily. The service is also great. staffs are very friendly and helpful in giving advice on planning your trip and restaurant/spa recommendation. Check out time is 12 pm however they are very flexible with check out time if the there is still vacancy. They arranged another villa for us to rest while waiting for our next flight late at night so we ended up checking out at 18:30.

Down side: I would suggest going to a spa called "putri bali" which is advertised in the lobby rather than going for the spa in the villa. The in-house spa is not bad, the spa room is located next to a small stream which is very soothing but if you prefer a proper massage with acupressure then Putri Bali would be more suitable. Some reviews mentioned about insects and amphibians around the villas. Being Indonesians, this did not bother us. But for those who cannot tolerate gecko, ants, bees, flies, etc (none found in the room) then this place may not suit you. There are mosquito nets provided around the bed and staff went around the villas in the afternoon placing mosquito repellents. I was surprised I did not find any mosquitoes even in the outdoor bathroom.
Overall, I would rate this villa excellent. I certainly would come back again and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent only one night here, but immediately after arrival wished we had longer.

Nefatari has nine villas of varying sizes, some suitable for large families. All have private pools, open air living rooms, air condition and balinese style al-fresco bathrooms. Privacy is total.

This isn't a place of ostentatious luxury and overstatement, it's better than that, rather like being given the key to a rich uncle's villa. Decoration is tasteful and appropriate, everything is spotless (including under the bed), and if you're not unlucky enough to have a family with noisy children staying in the next villa, it's very peaceful and quiet.

But best of all are the wonderful people running this place. There is a genuine friendliness and warmth here that is a world away from the distant, studied politeness that results from training rather than personality.

It's a world away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Ubud. The food available to be served in the villas is very good, but when we decided to go to Ubud for dinner and asked at the reception for a taxi they wouldn't hear of it: we were driven into town, and picked up from the restaurant afterwards.

Just one example of the spirit of this place. To top it all off, we were allowed to check out as late as 17:00 (fortunately there were no other bookings for our villa that day) so we could relax all day before starting the long flight back to Europe.

Considering the quality of what you get Nefatari is very good value too.

For a stay in Ubud, look no further, but book early - they are understandably busy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Rouge Bali - Villas & Spa
3.7 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 199 in Ubud
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#37 of 199 in Ubud
421 reviews
3 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#91 of 199 in Ubud
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefatari Exclusive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefatari Exclusive Villas

Address: Banjar Katiklantang-Desa Singekerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £76 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nefatari Exclusive Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefits: Daily full Breakfast served from : 7:00 - 13:00 pm Free Airport Transfer In-Out Welcome drink upon arrival Complimentary mini-bar in the room On-demand shuttle service to and from Ubud Fruit basket in the room upon arrival One complimentary dinner on the evening of your choice Bottle of French or Australian wine. Afternoon tea/coffe served wit a variety of pastries from : 13:00 - 19:00 pm Special wedding gift. Located amidst verdant rice paddies, NEFATARI consists of five villas, three single units and two family villas. The villas are constructed in traditional Balinese design using indigenous materials such as stone, teakwood, camphor wood and bamboo. Each villa is finished with a naturally insulating, fragrant Balinese "alang-alang" roof. Nefatari is approximately a 50-minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and is located in the upland area of Ubud, know worldwide as Bali's artistic and cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nefatari Exclusive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefatari Exclusive Villas Hotel Ubud
Nefatari Exclusive Hotel
Nefatari Exclusive Ubud
Nefatari Exclusive Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing