We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way beyond 5 stars!! Stay there if you've got a chance...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Ranked #60 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Way beyond 5 stars!! Stay there if you've got a chance...”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I knew that Nefatari was the type of accommodation I was looking for after a 3-week research. I needed to find a suitable accommodation to stay over Silent Day. I traveled with my 3-year old son who needs to be occupied all the time. What I mean by suitable: Spa, Wireless, meals on Silent Day, swimming pool and transport to bring us there. We were totally and overly impressed by Mr Made, the co-owner and manager of Nefatari. Talk to him if you get to meet him.

Location:
It's not exactly in Ubud town center but with their on demand transport, what's there to worry. They do not provide a fixed-time shuttle but even better, anytime you wanna go to town, just let them know and the van will be ready waiting for you. When you want to return, just give them a call. When you stay for 2 days and more, they would even pick you up from airport...

Villa & Room:
Nefatari is like villas within a very big villa. So you are like staying in a house all to yourself. Hardly get to see other guest thought all the 9 villas were taken up. Very big and spacious, highly well-maintained and clean. When Ibu Wayang brought us to the villa and went over every detail of the villa, we went astonished by the villa. Ya, they took the step to bring you personally to the room and explain the location of various electrical switches to you. We booked the 2-bedroom villa. The pool was much bigger than we have expected. The kids totally love it. The was a dinning area next to the pool and we have such blessed family time together having our meals.

Food:
We were given free meals (even with tea break) on Silent Day. So basically we do not have to worry about breakfast, lunch, dinner and tea break. Oh ya, there are soda and snacks in the fridge and it's free and refillable. What special service but let's not take advantage too.... I think breakfast is also included in the rate for non-Silent Day. The spread is fantastic. Can you imagine having a very nice breakfast with the love ones by the side of the pool in your very own villa?? Try their Sate, I love it.

Spa:
The spa is alright only for me but the location of the Spa is wonderful. Have you been to the very artificial spa center where the landscape is created and with soothing spa music over the air? The spa rooms at Nefatari are built next a stream (a naturally existed one) and a tropical rainforest. While you are there, you can hear the flow of stream and chirping of birds and may even get to see some other squirrels. With that kind of ambiance, who needs spa music??

Last note:
They were featured in the AirAsia 360 magazine in Nov 2009 and since then their take up rate was high. So book early. Please book directly with Mr Made.
When you click on special packages, it will link to the travel agent's website with the word "Indo" which is a travel agent. So it's better than you just email Nefatari directly because I heard that those who booked through the agent had a lot of problem with the agent.

They still have the contract with a travel agent till Oct 2010, so they can't put their phone number on the website. If you need the phone and email, let me know, will pass it you.

Would love to go back there again.... Thank you Mr Made, Bu Wayang and Mr Agung....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    101
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
158
247
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

After reading so many excellent reviews on TripAdvisor our expectation were pretty high and Nefatari didn’t disappoint us. We stayed Mercure Kuta 3 nights prior to check in to Nafatari and it was real contrast with similar price we paid.

Although I was travelling with my 14 yo son, we took Nefatari’s 3 nights Honeymoon package as it seemed great value. The breakfast was generous and tasty, also very flexible with serving time (7 am till 1pm). Balinese massage was nothing special but no complaint either. The 4 course dinner in the Villa was scrumptious. Specially the main course which served with cubed baked potatoes and beef steak which was very juicy and tender with sweet chilli gravy.

We stayed one of their newer Villa called Marwar, it has a bigger swimming pool than most of other one bedroom villa. The room is spacious with variety of seats to sit on, good lighting throughout. The Alfresco area was great with 2 deck chairs, dining table and fridge stocked up with complimentary little snacks, soft drinks and water. They provide free afternoon tea (choice of tea, coffee or juice with daily sweet dish) First day just after check in we had Pisang Georang (Banana fritter) and next day we had a Balinese pancake filled with sweet coconut filling, both were yummy.

As many people mentioned, their on-demand transport services were excellent. They are always available around 10-15 min. You can pre-set your pick up time when you get dropped off or you can simply ask someone from restaurant or shop to call Nefatari, easy!

There are 9 Villas in total, but we hardly saw any other guest, only occasionally hear them over the fence. It is very private.

Out return flight was 10pm and when we enquired about the late check out they offered us to stay until 7pm if the villa is available or they can move us to other vacant villa at no extra cost. We ended up moved to other villa which was bit older but we were grateful for that.

I must point out that Nefatari is not a 5 star villa nor the 5 star price tag, but for what you pay for (~U$140 a night), it’s exceptional value for money in Bali.

We had great stay at Nefatari and we will be back there.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlfbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

When I booked the hotel, Nefatari hotels was on 21th position on tripadvisor. I was a bit worried, because other hotels with a better rating position had worse experiences. Also when checking the internet site, it was as confincing as other websites. but we all got proven wrong,we made the right decision to go there!!!!

After talking to the manager, who greeted us soo friendly, we found out that nefatari is much better known amongs the japanese and koreans. in korea its on their, tripadvisor like website, on position 7 and on the japanese sites even on 3rd position! they dont get a lot of european/western guests and that is why they dont have a better position on tripadvisor! makes sense to me ;-)

The hotel was great, its a hidden gem. We booked 2 villas. both were 2 bed villas. each villa is seperated from each another and really gives you privacy. You get your own pool which is being cleaned daily.

the incredible thing though is that you barely see anybody, but anytime you leave the villa for a short trip away (with the free shuttle service) and you come back, you will see you rooms being done.

excellent! discrete and professional.

the villas themselves had individual pools and fridge. AC, TV etc...anything that a hotel guest from the west would expect.

We also used the spa facilities which was great too! i felt asleep, coz it was so relaxing! and it is really nothing compared to european prices. we left also a small tip to each of the girls.

great thing is also the breakfast. you can order as much as you like from the a la carte menu!!! we loved it.

we should have stayed longer. that was the only mistake we found.

best regards to the manager and the lovely team. we will come again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felixflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We definately recommend any one, every one, to stay here in Nefatari. Staffs and service were way above average and location was good. Price was reasonable too!! Excellent. We can't wait to go back there again. Oh, and the breakfast was good! Delicious!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We would like to thank Made and his excellent staff for our memorable 5 night stay in the Mitir villa. The breakfast was great, and the room clean, romantic, and spacious.
The only slight downside was no broadband in the area, but this was easy to get in Ubud at many restaurants. Dial up was available at the hotel.

At first sight I thought it would be too far out of Ubud, not possible to walk or bike (narrow roads too dangerous), but in the end I never felt that way. The excellent pick up and drop off service was never more than a 15 min. wait from the time we called from wherever we were in Ubud. We booked thru their website,
http://www.nefatari-bali.com/index.html.
One of the best stays we've ever had.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankv42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at Nefatari from October 26 - 29 and I can honestly say it was my favourite part of our 11 day Bali trip. We were allocated Villa Jepun and opted for the honeymoon package which included an hour long massage per person, a romantic dinner in the villa as well as a gift of two sarongs. This villa surpassed all my expectations! It was huge, with its own private pool which was also bigger than I expected and kept clean at all times. It was so nice being able to swim at any time of the day or night and provided some much needed relief from the heat.
The service was outstanding - breakfast and afternoon tea were always delivered to our villa within 20 minutes of us ordering. The shuttle service was always available on demand and the drivers lovely young men who always provided good recommendations on restaurants. When we needed to be picked up we simply asked the restaurant to call the villa and they were there within 15 minutes. In my opinion it is too far to walk into Ubud, possibly 20 minutes but this is mainly due to the heat and it is something we never attempted purely because the shuttle service was so convenient. The staff there really are amazing and efficient.
The villas make you feel as if you are on your own in magical Ubud. There may have been other guest whilst we were there but we never saw or heard them and our only companions were the frogs we heard at night. It really is a romantic, restful haven and I would definitely return.
My only gripe was Villa Jepun didn't have air conditioning. It had a unit but this wasn't working so we only had the ceiling fan to keep us cool. Some nights it was ok but I woke up one night suffocating! Other than that, for the price, location and service - do not look anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

What a great place to stay! Quiet location close to Ubud in the middle of the rice paddies. The shuttles were really on demand and very little waiting. The rooms were clean and spacious, bathrooms in older villas could use some updating, but were very clean. Food and service in your villa was very resonable, efficient, relaxing, and private. The private pools were cleaned every morning and filtered, so no mozzies. Loved being able to relax in the pool after a hot day of touring Bali, it was refreshing and not too cold. The property was very private, secluded and just charming. The staff was probably the best part of the villas, beyond our expectations. If you need anything, just ask. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailuahonugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 198 in Ubud
1,012 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefatari Exclusive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefatari Exclusive Villas

Property: Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Address: Banjar Katiklantang-Desa Singekerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nefatari Exclusive Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefits: Daily full Breakfast served from : 7:00 - 13:00 pm Free Airport Transfer In-Out Welcome drink upon arrival Complimentary mini-bar in the room On-demand shuttle service to and from Ubud Fruit basket in the room upon arrival One complimentary dinner on the evening of your choice Bottle of French or Australian wine. Afternoon tea/coffe served wit a variety of pastries from : 13:00 - 19:00 pm Special wedding gift. Located amidst verdant rice paddies, NEFATARI consists of five villas, three single units and two family villas. The villas are constructed in traditional Balinese design using indigenous materials such as stone, teakwood, camphor wood and bamboo. Each villa is finished with a naturally insulating, fragrant Balinese "alang-alang" roof. Nefatari is approximately a 50-minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and is located in the upland area of Ubud, know worldwide as Bali's artistic and cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nefatari Exclusive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefatari Exclusive Villas Hotel Ubud
Nefatari Exclusive Hotel
Nefatari Exclusive Ubud
Nefatari Exclusive Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing