We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, peaceful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sayan Terrace Resort
Ranked #68 of 538 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Good choice if you want to stay in the Ubud area away from the crowds. Only downside is the unfinished building behind the hotel. For the rest, it's certainly a place we recommend. Go for room 105! And... I had the best nasi campur here ;-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huibert74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    51
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
106
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This is a review of some perfect walks that start at the Sayan Terrace Hotel and I would advise ONLY to do with a guide as:

a) its more fun if someone explains to you all the local plants, views and houses

b) the trail is at some points hazardous and also not easy to follow, you might get easily lost

Two general options:

A circuit around the river or following the river initially and the continue to the rice fields

Both walks are around 2-3 hrs at a leisurely pace and lead through some really beautiful areas with abundant local flora !

The guides will usually end the walk in their village where you can taste some organically grown teas and coffees and chocolate, they are also happy to drive you home to your hotel or villa

Did not meet a single other tourist on both walks, but amazing views and real jungle feel.

Make sure you bring adequate footwear, there are some steep and slippery passages and some sections are on small ridges, so you should be surefooted as well.

One guide who is especially good is usually resident at the Terrace Hotel, but can also be booked by phone:

Gusti Ngurah Arya
+62 81 337 364 144

2-3 hr guided tour will set you back around 300k IDR

Highly recommended for some inside into the valleys and the local communities

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank Isselerhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just spent a week at the Sayan Terrace Resort at the end of September and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quite and lack of crowds. If you enjoy hotel style rooms and big buffet restaurants, swim up bars and the like (which all come at an expensive price) then book elsewhere. Sayan Terrace is small resort with secluded one room and family style villas located about 5 kilometers or a little bit more from the centre of Ubud . The Garden Restaurant (about three tables in the open) is very limited but why eat there?. Every night we took a taxi into Ubud and ate at a different restaurant every night. We took advantage of the Resort's one free shuttle into Ubud each day and paid for taxi back (only 50,000 IRP). Ordering the free breakfast delivered to your room each morning and sitting on the balcony or porch of your accommodation and taking in the view was so relaxing. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The day we left we had to leave the resort at 6:00AM to go the airport and they arranged to deliver our breakfast to our villa at 5:30 in the morning. How's that for service!.
We will definitely consider staying at the Sayan Terrace Resort again on our next holiday to Bali

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Sayan Terrace hotel is amazing. This moderately priced hotel is situated right on the edge of the sayan valley with amazing views from your hotel room. The four seasons hotel is its next door neighbor however your her the same remarkable view at a fraction of the price. Outside of the city center however so peaceful and serene, great friendly staff. Just ask wayan to give you a private guided your of the rice paddies below next to the ayung river.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adoribol45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

AMAZING views over the sayan river valley
stayed in a 2 bed villa with our 2 children - only problem was it was actually 2 hotel rooms, on separate floors in a small villa style set up, no front door on the villa so no way of keeping the children safe but still be able to hear them if needed.
bathrooms looking tired
breakfasts limited and staff not at all attentive
pool slightly on cold side
extensive noisy building work next door

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a spacious villa with our own private balcony with fabulous views over the steep river gully and rice terraces. Although a few miles out of Ubud town, this makes it definitely worth the journey.

Kids loved the small pool which also overlooked the valley. Unfortunately at time of our visit the pool was overlooked by the building site and construction workers on the new 3-storey building going up right behind it, which also disturbed the peace of the valley with all the banging and clattering!

The service was friendly and attentive - the few small problems with the rooms were resolved readily and willingly. We ordered room service so we could eat and drink in the view. Food was fine, although I'd go for the Indonesian dishes rather than the Western ones. Nice touch: free pancakes and tea mid-afternoon on request.

We went for a walk down along the river valley - a little overgrown and we had to pay a villager to cross his rice paddy. He asked for a huge amount, but he soon dropped his price when we pulled out our camera we were willing to pay a small fee, not uncommon in Indonesia.

One word of warning: the hotel recommended a massage at Gadis next door, for which I suspect they were paid a cut. The massage did not live up to billing - the massage space was dark and seedy, the towels smelled musty, and there was no hint of essential oils/aromatherapy despite the description - not the Bali massage experience we expected for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with valley views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Keep staying there , when in Ubud ..amazing views ...very good value ..helpful and friendly staff.
It s an old place , big rooms and balcony ..charming ..would recommend the rooms fronting the valley , better view and brighter than the villas .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintinautibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ubud Heaven Sayan
Ubud Heaven Sayan
#92 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#36 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Loka Pala Villa
Loka Pala Villa
#96 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lily Lane Villas
Lily Lane Villas
#19 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayan Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayan Terrace Resort

Property: Sayan Terrace Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Sayan | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 538 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayan Terrace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sayan Terrace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayan Terrace Hotel Ubud
Sayan Terrace Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing